We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Marin , Look no further ! Simply beautiful.”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“In Marin , Look no further ! Simply beautiful.”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed twice at this hotel and by far there is nothing to compare when wanting to stay away from the city but yet accessible to everthing. If we ever want to visit San fransciso or any neighboring town here is where we will stay.

The views, the service, the location is one of its kind. Located on park ground over looking GG bridge.

Within the facilities is the Bay Discovery Museum, which is the children museum for tots. My kids simply enjoyed it.

Second we took a cooking class in the cooking school that was not education but alot of hands-on fun.

We tried both historic and contemporary rooms and both were good though the contemporary had better views.

A note: Tax is higher in this hotel because of the park fees and parking is also expensive and its not easy to just walk out of the hotel to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    215
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
203
432
29
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My wife and I decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary in San Francisco but because we we wanted to see the bay from our room and planned to visit Muir Woods and some museums in the Presidio, we chose Cavallo Point.   What a great decision!!!   We stayed three glorious nights in one of their contemporary rooms with a Golden Gate view.  We had just stayed at Bodega Bay Lodge and Meadowood in Napa so we had already stayed in some killer resorts.   Cavallo Point was the best of the three.   Elegant but relaxed.  First class aervice but not at all stuffy.

When we arrived, I was not happy to be told that we could not park our car next to our room.  Instead, we had to valet park ($20/day) and then have their bell staff take our luggage and us to our room in a golf cart.   We were in a hurry to change clothes to make a dinner reservation so I didn't want to wait for all of our luggage (we had a lot) to arrive.  The concierge Nancy noticed that I was unhappy and took control of the situation.  She got two bell staff to take all of our bags and us to our room immediately and arranged for the staff to pick us up at room at take us to our car at the time I requested.  It was very impressive how quickly everyone responded.  From that point on, every staff member we encountered was polite, friendly, addressed us by name, and was constantly trying to anticipate and address our needs.   

Our room was incredible!   Not only was it "green" but it was comtemporary, beautiful and very functional.  The view was simply breathtaking!  How many places can you stare at the Golden Gate Bridge every time you look out the window?!   Our only complaint about our room was that they need a heater in the bathroom - it was rather chilly whenever we got out of the shower/bath.  

The location is perfect if you plan to visit Sausalito, Muir Woods, Sonoma or the museums in the Presidio.   And it is SO peaceful.  

Finally, the food, wine list, pricing and service at Murray Circle were all outstanding.  We eat at great restaurants a lot and we loved our meals there.   I would go there again over most of the nicest San Francisco restaurants.

I really cannot say enough good things about Cavallo Point.  For us, it was the perfect place to spend three nights.  We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We live in the area....but had never thought of staying so close to home. Decided to and spend the day exploring and using the phenomanal spa and yoga retreat. This is a fabulous place. If you are coming to san francisco or need a spot to stay between sfo and Napa...try cavallo point. Locals get a discount...so if you live in bay area! Yipeee!...and pets welcome!

Room Tip: I think the locals discount is sunday night...but it applies to rooms and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for kind comments. We are always so pleased to received positive feedback from guests and appreciate you posting your accolades on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haledon, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

...this hotel does not overwhelm you upon your drive into the complex. The courtyard (or what some may call a Parade due to its size) is simply a mass of grass. However, as you approach the main building, you start seeing people enjoying lunch on the restaurants front porch, the valets are actually "excited" to see you and the desk and conceirge staff will do anything to make your first impression memorable.

The rooms can be "small", but they are "home-like." While not recommended, you feel like opening up the sash and taking a bottle of chardonnay and book out onto the roof to enjoy the crisp air that is so pleasingly "redwood." Walk the grounds for a bit and you start to see the makings of a "camp" moreso than a hotel.

This was a last minute booking due to an error in my Wine Country plans that shifted to San Fran. What a great mistake.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Cavallo is the perfect spot for a weekend away from the kids. It's close enough to San Francisco but far enough to feel like we were really getting away from the hustle and bustle. Our room in one of the original buildings was beautiful and spacious, the massages were soothing and relaxing and the food was delicious. We asked the sommelier for a wine recommendation at dinner and he steered us to an Italian barolo that was superb and reasonably priced. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisDaCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I visited Cavallo Point for a week-end and it is the perfect place to relax and unwind, just 20 minutes drive from SF.

Its position in the Golden Gate Park gives you straight away the sense of space and nature of National Parks such as the Yosemite or Sequoia.

The hotel has different lodges; rooms are big, spacious clean, with fireplace and with excellent view on the Golden Gate.

The Spa is valuable; it has an outdoor swimming pool and sauna and jacuzzi for womend and men. Staff is very availabel and the lounge room with fireplace allows you to relax.

Staff is nice and service quite good; sometimes it takes too long for the reception to answer but overall it is a very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titoi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is our second visit to the property for our anniversary. We love the history of the place (Fort Baker), the location (Near SF and Marin), the vibe (nature, hiking, good food), and the views (SF skyline, Golden Gate, Angel Island, Tiburon). The restaurant on site is solid with lot's of additional great choices over the bridge or in Sausalito. The exercise facility could use a bit more in the way of weight equipment for me, but there are lot's of treadmills and bikes...strange for a place where there are plenty of places to jog and hike.

Room Tip: Definitely go for one of the historic rooms (former officers bungalows). 3 nights for 2 promotions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
296 reviews
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
3,205 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing