We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Elegance”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I love this place. The atmosphere exudes relaxed sophistication. Rooms are warm and inviting, the restaurant is great, and the setting is spectacular. They've done a beautiful job of working with, and not against, the climate - which can be chilly and foggy. (Lots of fireplaces throughout..and blankets on the veranda - where you'll find the best views of the SF skyline.) It's very cozy and romantic. Great walking/hiking at every turn. The vibe is understated and classy. We will return again and again. We've stayed in both the historic rooms and the newer - both are great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

Newly "empty nested" with our daughter off to college we made our third trip to Cavalllo Point...this time just the two of us enjoying our birthdays which are only a week apart. From the picture perfect views to the meditation pool (3 times in 2 days...ahhhhhh) to a table for 2 on the porch at Farley's Bar for (almost) too many Frisco cocktails and the most inventive appetizers ever--our days and nights felt like we had found a secret, peaceful respite of beauty. This time we tried the historic lodging and loved it just as much as our previous visits to the contemporary--an easy stroll to the rocking chairs and the cocktails with the world class views. Be sure to stop by the Mercantile, unique clothing and books along with the fabulous Linda---a burst of sunshine and information behind the counter (and around the store!

Room Tip: Historic rooms have great views and and are close to the restaurant and spa. Your dog will love the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calimom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments! We never tire of hearing such wonderful comments from all of our guests, and especially so from our regular visitors. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again for another getaway!

Best Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here to get away from our kids for a night. We took advantage of the 50% off "locals only" on Sunday evening deal. Arrived to contemporary King suite with a fabulous view of the Golden Gate Bridge...the weather cooperated that day. No fog. We relaxed on the porch at the Farley Bar before our dinner at the fabulous restaurant, Murray Circle. Service was great, lobster risotto to die for, and watched the couple next to us have a big old fight was sadly entertaining (we saw them made up at breakfast the next day so I guess it ended well). The deep bathtub was great, the complimentary handmade soaps very nice, as well. The location of this property is completely unique -- the history, the view and added to the fact that you don't have to leave the property in order to get some fabulous food makes it a hit for me.

Room Tip: the contemporary king suites have the best views, i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMama69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments regarding your recent stay at Cavallo Point Lodge.

We welcome and appreciate comments from all guests and and are always elated to hear when their stay has exceeded their expecations.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Came here for the Robert Foley/Switchback Ridge winemakers dinner. I didn't realize that this place existed. As others have said it's like stepping back in time. The historic houses have been resotred to their full glory but the rooms interior has all the modern amenities especially in the bath area, but without losing any of the historic charm. Rain head showers and frameless shower doors with a beautiful mosaic tiled floor accent the bath room. The historic king room was huge by anyone's standards. Sitting in a rocking chair or one of the Adirondack chairs with a glass of your favorite beverage while viewing the Golden Gate is sure to ease your worries or stress and transform you to another time. My first night, there were four deer crusing the meadow at dusk. I just melted right into my chair.

The restaurant is pricey. Breakfast or lunch for a single will cost you $25 with tip an a beverage. I was there for a special winemakers dinner so didn't get a chance to review the dinner menu. While most courses were exceptional the Wagu beef was one of the toughest pieces of meat I've ever had. There are newer suites up the hill but who can resist the charm of the of cottage style houses. I will return next year with my wife as it is truly a hidden gem.

One thing to beware of, there were ear plugs on the night stand. Being from So Cal I had to ask what they were for. When the fog rolls in I guess the noise from the fog horns can be quite prevalant. Light sleepers beware.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the lower king rooms with the enclosed porch facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Who new that such a peaceful, beautiful, relaxing resort exists right next to the Golden Gate Bridge. Our first impression was that we were entering an old Southern-style village by the sea.
Our suite was in a historic home at Fort Baker that was restored to maintain the original details, but updated with all of the modern conveniences. It was large, luxurious, yet comfortable and quaint and included a fireplace in each room and sculpted ceilings. The spa was well equipped and a wonderful place to cleanse your mind and body. The art exhibit in the lodge was amazing and so was the clothing selection at the store. The staff and concierge were friendly and so helpful. They took great pride in making our stay memorable. What could be better than sitting in a rocking chair on your porch, looking at the spectacular view of the San Francisco Bay and the Golden Gate Bridge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsfsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your compliments. We so appreciate you sharing your experience on this post for it is very rewarding for everyone on staff to hear that we we're able to provide a unique and memorable experience for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Cavallo Point Resort located at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge in Sausalito, CA is steeped in the history of our country. It occupies the site of the former Presidio- the Fort Baker Army instalation that served as the language school for our services, including the intelligence services, until it closure some years ago. What replaced it is a luxury resort and spa, a great restaurant, and an awsome view of the Golden Gate Bridge. We stayed in one of the new Junior Suites, and I would recommend that accomodation to anyone. The restaurant was terrific, the service exceptional, and the ambience warm and friendly.

Room Tip: If you can affor a junior suite, you might choose one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jsnadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Right across the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point Resort take you so far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The views will make you exhale... The upstairs Historic room felt cramped so the girls at the front desk were kind enough to move us to a ground floor spacious handicaped room. The spa was fantastic! You don't have to get a treatment to enjoy the heated pool and streamroom. The Michelin rated Murray Circle Resturant was disappointing. Enjoy the view and have a cocktail.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hotelsnob_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,590 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
477 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: £356 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing