We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavallo Point
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Inn Above Tide(Sausalito)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Golden Gate(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Motel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Luna Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
686
225
74
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
225
74
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurray circlefarley barthe golden gate bridgefort bakerhistoric roomsmeditation poolmilitary basegolf cartfront porchcooking schoolrocking chairsking suitesan franciscoparade groundofficers quartersdiscovery museumcooking class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
818 - 823 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I love this place. The atmosphere exudes relaxed sophistication. Rooms are warm and inviting, the restaurant is great, and the setting is spectacular. They've done a beautiful job of working with, and not against, the climate - which can be chilly and foggy. (Lots of fireplaces throughout..and blankets on the veranda - where you'll find the best views of the SF skyline.) It's very cozy and romantic. Great walking/hiking at every turn. The vibe is understated and classy. We will return again and again. We've stayed in both the historic rooms and the newer - both are great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Newly "empty nested" with our daughter off to college we made our third trip to Cavalllo Point...this time just the two of us enjoying our birthdays which are only a week apart. From the picture perfect views to the meditation pool (3 times in 2 days...ahhhhhh) to a table for 2 on the porch at Farley's Bar for (almost) too many Frisco cocktails and the most inventive appetizers ever--our days and nights felt like we had found a secret, peaceful respite of beauty. This time we tried the historic lodging and loved it just as much as our previous visits to the contemporary--an easy stroll to the rocking chairs and the cocktails with the world class views. Be sure to stop by the Mercantile, unique clothing and books along with the fabulous Linda---a burst of sunshine and information behind the counter (and around the store!

Room Tip: Historic rooms have great views and and are close to the restaurant and spa. Your dog will love the room too.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calimom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments! We never tire of hearing such wonderful comments from all of our guests, and especially so from our regular visitors. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again for another getaway!

Best Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here to get away from our kids for a night. We took advantage of the 50% off "locals only" on Sunday evening deal. Arrived to contemporary King suite with a fabulous view of the Golden Gate Bridge...the weather cooperated that day. No fog. We relaxed on the porch at the Farley Bar before our dinner at the fabulous restaurant, Murray Circle. Service was great, lobster risotto to die for, and watched the couple next to us have a big old fight was sadly entertaining (we saw them made up at breakfast the next day so I guess it ended well). The deep bathtub was great, the complimentary handmade soaps very nice, as well. The location of this property is completely unique -- the history, the view and added to the fact that you don't have to leave the property in order to get some fabulous food makes it a hit for me.

Room Tip: the contemporary king suites have the best views, i think.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMama69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments regarding your recent stay at Cavallo Point Lodge.

We welcome and appreciate comments from all guests and and are always elated to hear when their stay has exceeded their expecations.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Came here for the Robert Foley/Switchback Ridge winemakers dinner. I didn't realize that this place existed. As others have said it's like stepping back in time. The historic houses have been resotred to their full glory but the rooms interior has all the modern amenities especially in the bath area, but without losing any of the historic charm. Rain head showers and frameless shower doors with a beautiful mosaic tiled floor accent the bath room. The historic king room was huge by anyone's standards. Sitting in a rocking chair or one of the Adirondack chairs with a glass of your favorite beverage while viewing the Golden Gate is sure to ease your worries or stress and transform you to another time. My first night, there were four deer crusing the meadow at dusk. I just melted right into my chair.

The restaurant is pricey. Breakfast or lunch for a single will cost you $25 with tip an a beverage. I was there for a special winemakers dinner so didn't get a chance to review the dinner menu. While most courses were exceptional the Wagu beef was one of the toughest pieces of meat I've ever had. There are newer suites up the hill but who can resist the charm of the of cottage style houses. I will return next year with my wife as it is truly a hidden gem.

One thing to beware of, there were ear plugs on the night stand. Being from So Cal I had to ask what they were for. When the fog rolls in I guess the noise from the fog horns can be quite prevalant. Light sleepers beware.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the lower king rooms with the enclosed porch facing the bay.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Who new that such a peaceful, beautiful, relaxing resort exists right next to the Golden Gate Bridge. Our first impression was that we were entering an old Southern-style village by the sea.
Our suite was in a historic home at Fort Baker that was restored to maintain the original details, but updated with all of the modern conveniences. It was large, luxurious, yet comfortable and quaint and included a fireplace in each room and sculpted ceilings. The spa was well equipped and a wonderful place to cleanse your mind and body. The art exhibit in the lodge was amazing and so was the clothing selection at the store. The staff and concierge were friendly and so helpful. They took great pride in making our stay memorable. What could be better than sitting in a rocking chair on your porch, looking at the spectacular view of the San Francisco Bay and the Golden Gate Bridge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsfsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your compliments. We so appreciate you sharing your experience on this post for it is very rewarding for everyone on staff to hear that we we're able to provide a unique and memorable experience for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews