We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 2411- Heaven”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 October 2011

19th anniversary in a contemporary room with a one touch fireplace, a view of the golden gate bridge, spa robes & slippers, sumptuous mattress, what more could we ask for? Yes, wine that we picked up in Sonoma! Sausalito is a 15 min drive over the Golden Gate Bridge into SanFrancisco. A LOT of attention to detail here. The room was spotless & swanky. Have a night cap at Farleys bar, sitting outside by the fire...take a complimentary vinyasa yoga class, or use the spa to unwind- also complimentary are the steam, sauna & heated pool. Our rate was discounted- stay 3 pay for 2- great deal for such an exquisite place. The service was impeccable. Sausalito is just lovely...the flavor of Italy. Cheers!

Room Tip: room 2411- great view of GGBridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megzigtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary post. You have captured all of our fine points perfectly and we are so appreciative that you have decided to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Happy Anniversary and we hope to welcome you back for many more celebratory occasions!

Best Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

A wonderful place that is perfect for the hiker, biker and those who just want to relax in great scenery. The spa is lovely and there are a lot of things to use that are included in the room rate. The views are unsurpassed and sitting on the porch in a rocking chair and looking out at San Francisco and the Golden Gate bridge is a great way to spend the afternoon. Be sure to ask for a view room and enjoy the fireplace. Also lots of good food in Sausalito and we had forgotten how delightful Sausalito is. A great get away!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnycrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

YES, stay here. It's not swanky, it's not ultra modern or Four Seasons elegant and is priced accordingly. It's really cool though-- sort of like a trip back to a simpler time when people sat out on the front porch, drank lemonade and visited with their neighbors. LOCATION: You really couldn't ask for better. We left the Water's Edge in Tiburon (noisy, small rooms)to come here. You're literally less than 10 minutes to the other side of the Golden Gate Bridge to go to restaurants/shopping on Chestnut Street or the Presidio. You're 5 minutes away from downtown Sausalito. You're looking at one of the world's most beautiful views (GG Bridge, the city behind it, the Marin Headlands, Tiburon, etc). It is a converted military base so has a clean, orderly layout with a broad grass plaza in the center of the horseshoe shaped buildings. You look out of the old fashioned leaded pane windows to see the plaza in the foreground and the SF Bay and city in the background. ROOMS: We loved them for their simplicity. It felt like you're looking behind the curtain of time to when officers actually lived here. Old fashioned door knobs and radiators, bathrooms yet everything had been modernized enough so that it all worked perfectly. Plain decor (not particularly attractive) and furniture, and somehow that added to the sense of adventure. STAFF: Fabulous. You guys get it. This is what hospitality is supposed to feel like. A special thanks to the ultra friendly bell staff and their zippy golf carts-- you guys are awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I love this place. The atmosphere exudes relaxed sophistication. Rooms are warm and inviting, the restaurant is great, and the setting is spectacular. They've done a beautiful job of working with, and not against, the climate - which can be chilly and foggy. (Lots of fireplaces throughout..and blankets on the veranda - where you'll find the best views of the SF skyline.) It's very cozy and romantic. Great walking/hiking at every turn. The vibe is understated and classy. We will return again and again. We've stayed in both the historic rooms and the newer - both are great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Newly "empty nested" with our daughter off to college we made our third trip to Cavalllo Point...this time just the two of us enjoying our birthdays which are only a week apart. From the picture perfect views to the meditation pool (3 times in 2 days...ahhhhhh) to a table for 2 on the porch at Farley's Bar for (almost) too many Frisco cocktails and the most inventive appetizers ever--our days and nights felt like we had found a secret, peaceful respite of beauty. This time we tried the historic lodging and loved it just as much as our previous visits to the contemporary--an easy stroll to the rocking chairs and the cocktails with the world class views. Be sure to stop by the Mercantile, unique clothing and books along with the fabulous Linda---a burst of sunshine and information behind the counter (and around the store!

Room Tip: Historic rooms have great views and and are close to the restaurant and spa. Your dog will love the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calimom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments! We never tire of hearing such wonderful comments from all of our guests, and especially so from our regular visitors. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again for another getaway!

Best Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here to get away from our kids for a night. We took advantage of the 50% off "locals only" on Sunday evening deal. Arrived to contemporary King suite with a fabulous view of the Golden Gate Bridge...the weather cooperated that day. No fog. We relaxed on the porch at the Farley Bar before our dinner at the fabulous restaurant, Murray Circle. Service was great, lobster risotto to die for, and watched the couple next to us have a big old fight was sadly entertaining (we saw them made up at breakfast the next day so I guess it ended well). The deep bathtub was great, the complimentary handmade soaps very nice, as well. The location of this property is completely unique -- the history, the view and added to the fact that you don't have to leave the property in order to get some fabulous food makes it a hit for me.

Room Tip: the contemporary king suites have the best views, i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMama69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments regarding your recent stay at Cavallo Point Lodge.

We welcome and appreciate comments from all guests and and are always elated to hear when their stay has exceeded their expecations.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Came here for the Robert Foley/Switchback Ridge winemakers dinner. I didn't realize that this place existed. As others have said it's like stepping back in time. The historic houses have been resotred to their full glory but the rooms interior has all the modern amenities especially in the bath area, but without losing any of the historic charm. Rain head showers and frameless shower doors with a beautiful mosaic tiled floor accent the bath room. The historic king room was huge by anyone's standards. Sitting in a rocking chair or one of the Adirondack chairs with a glass of your favorite beverage while viewing the Golden Gate is sure to ease your worries or stress and transform you to another time. My first night, there were four deer crusing the meadow at dusk. I just melted right into my chair.

The restaurant is pricey. Breakfast or lunch for a single will cost you $25 with tip an a beverage. I was there for a special winemakers dinner so didn't get a chance to review the dinner menu. While most courses were exceptional the Wagu beef was one of the toughest pieces of meat I've ever had. There are newer suites up the hill but who can resist the charm of the of cottage style houses. I will return next year with my wife as it is truly a hidden gem.

One thing to beware of, there were ear plugs on the night stand. Being from So Cal I had to ask what they were for. When the fog rolls in I guess the noise from the fog horns can be quite prevalant. Light sleepers beware.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the lower king rooms with the enclosed porch facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,512 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £349 - £707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing