We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENCE!”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We live in San Francisco and decided to take a last minute trip for Valentine's Day - We came to the right place! We were referred by the Inn at the Presidio, their other property in San Francisco as we normally stay there for a quick getaway. We wanted to be adventurous and go out of the city for this trip, so we called the Lodge.

From the reservation process to our departure, every moment was wonderful. Timothy recommended an exceptional florist to grab some roses and rose pedals and they had them all spread around the room when we later arrived. We didn't know what was better, the decorations or the spectacular view of the Golden Gate bridge stoically perched in the background of our window. We were speechless!

We then took advantage of the beautiful surrounding area to hike and have a beautiful picnic with San Francisco across the bay and Alcatraz as our backdrop. We hiked all the way to the city and enjoyed Lappert's Ice Cream! My favorite Ice cream from Hawaii! :)))

When we returned, there was wine out in the lobby and needless to say, after a long hike we were very happy to discover this! :) Timothy also recommended a wonderful restaurant in Tiburon that was fantastic.

The room was beautiful and modern, as we chose the contemporary accommodations. Everything was well laid out and the specialized details and amenities were enjoyed.

Thank you again for the wonderful trip!!!

Room Tip: If you like a more modern feel, choose the contemporary rooms as they are very new and BEAUTIFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Valentine's Day trip with us!

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point for many more special occasions.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

This is a hidden gem - an old Army Fort site next to the Golden Gate Bridge - northeast side. Some of the old historic buildings have been converted into nice large comfortable lodging units. They have also added some new contemporary units, which is where we stayed. The room was large and comfortable with a view of the bridge. However, the tall bath tub is a bit challenging for short people and the bed was not comfortable (too hard). The Lodge grounds are in a natural scenic setting with big trees, grass and some wild life - 3 deers visited us in the early evening. There are exceptional views of the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco and the Bay throughout the property. There are also some very nice hiking trails very close and Sausalito is 5 minutes away by car. The Spa is calming and the tea bar is wonderful. All services on the property were excellent. The rates are expensive - look for specials. BEST- Watch the sunset on San Francisco.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We appreciate your feedback and I will be certain to share your compliments and concerns with my management team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This hotel is just incredible. It's basically at the north side of the Golden Gate Bridge. So yes, you can take photos of the bridge very closely with less tourists! The surrounding is very green and beautiful. It's only about 8 min away to Sausalito town centre by a car (beautiful little town!).

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room is large, modern and clean. The spa is lovely too. The swimming pool, tho.. could have been better, it's small and has got no views. Shame considering how big the hotel is.

Stayed here for 1 night... wish it was longer!

Room Tip: there are rooms with the Golden Gate Bridge view... more expensive but you will enjoy it (if it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nasigoreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Lodge with the TripAdvisor Community.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had an over the top fabulous stay at Cavallo point. Our only regret is that we did not stay there sooner. There is no comparison to going there for a day for spa treatments versus staying the night. Currently, most of my wife's clients stay at the Mandarin Oriental or St Regis in San Francisco, before going on a trip. Cavallo would be a great alternative experience. So many things make your property special. We took every hike possible from there, took yoga classes from both teachers , had 3 spa treatments ; all were outstanding. Shaw does a fabulous job running the spa. Every time my wife arrives at a hotel she has a massage before she meet clients and most times they are good not great, but every therapist she has experienced at Cavallo has been excellent. The gift shop is the so well put together featuring great taste and quality. Leigh Vogen is a fantastic buyer,
We have never enjoyed shopping in a gift shop so much. We ate in both restaurants and had Sunday brunch and all were excellent. The staff at the hotel is wonderful and so friendly....from the entire front desk to Robin in reservations to the valets and
everyone at all of the restaurants. We never wanted to leave our room which was a great testament to the warmth and comfort provided in each room not to mention the excellent beds and Views. The times we ordered room service, it was delivered promptly and with a big smile, We had just returned from 2 weeks in St Barths and and we were more sad to leave Cavallo Point then our beautiful hotel there!!!! We had a fantastic stay and are sending very positive feedback to my wife's company, as she works for a top travel company, and will tell her entire client base and friends about it. Cavallo Point is a spectacular Sanctuary . We left feeling so rested and at peace. It is great to know we have something so special in our backyard. Thank you all from the bottom of our hearts. It was an unforgettable stay.
Amber & David

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your complimentary post!

We are ecstatic to hear that you had enjoyed your experience at the resort and will be certain to share your accolades with the teams mentioned.

If there is ever anything I can assist with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Thank you again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you and your referred guests to the Lodge in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Cavallo Point is a wonderful destination if staying on the North End of the Golden Gate Bridge. There are both Historic lodgings (original,historic classy) and modern very well appointed rooms available. Each room is charmming in it's own way. Being from Monterey, we are used to living in a beautful surroundings, this is perfect. There are views on the property which include either expansive grassy grounds, old growth forest, The San Francisco Bay and of course the fantastic Golden Gate Bridge. You can walk to the shore line and stand under the North end of the Golden Gate Bridge or walk further up the trails where many visitors will be on the bike trails. You may find people fishing on one side of the dock and there is a small harbor on the opposite end. There were several long-style-outrigger-boats and paddlers having fun in the water. Walk a little further and you will find the abandoned concrete bunkers which once lodged cannons that protected the harbor and Bay entrance. The overall view from the restaurant / bar and front decks are awesome, there are several rocking chairs on the front patio decks for you to relax on - All services are great, first class all the way, ask for Jeff. Overall fun and rewarding.

Room Tip: All are great. We have stayed in the modern rooms and kind-of really like the ocean facing Historic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxC93940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We will be certain to share your compliments with Jeff and the rest of our staff.

Please come back to visit us at Cavallo Point again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This hideaway resort is a great get-away for anyone within driving distance. First class spa treatments and serene facility. The head and shoulder massage was worth the trip. Several really nice hiking trails for the novice or experienced hiker. First day, we hiked over the Golden Gate Bridge; it was an approximate 5-1/2 milenhike round trip. Murray Circle restaurant won't dissapoint you either. Breakfast and dinner more than satisfied us foodies. We stayed in room 1202 which is close to registration area, Spa, view of the Golden Gate Bridge and the city of San Francisco. Beware there are stairs to climb, since the room is on the second floor.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review!

Please come back to visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

The rooms themselves are a bit retro, with the feel of a ski lodge or very upscale summer camp. But totally comfortable, and with the amenities you'll need. So lovely to walk the trails and grounds, but there are golf carts to haul you and your luggage. Yoga and fitness options too, and lots of people were riding bikes or kayaking. We loved the breakfast, but most of all, the incomparable views of the Golden Gate, complete with rolling fog.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRSvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,589 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
477 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: £356 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing