We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and great facilities”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I was here for a business meeting for three days. When I arrived it instantly obvious that this was going to be a very different experience to most normal hotels.

Approaching the checkin building you are struck by the beauty of the location and the layout of the hotel buildings. The natural bowl that Fort Bakker resides in just goes to maximise the views. Turning around to see the imposing sight of the Golden Gate Bridge is awsome.

Every morning I was able to rise early and go for a walk, either above the hotel grounds in the hills that overlook it, along the seafront to the old fort or up under the bridge and into the hills that overlook it. I have taken over 300 photo's on this trip!!

The hotel staff are wonderfully friendly and a credit to the hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I will be certain to share your comments and feedback with the staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
There are newer reviews for Cavallo Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

If you're looking for a quick getaway in the Bay Area, or a great place to stay while exploring Northern California, Cavallo Point is a good choice. It is perfectly located at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge (you can even access the foot path that crosses the bridge. It is easy to reach San Francisco, Mill Valley, Sausalito and Tiburon. We choose to park the car and stay put. We enjoyed relaxing in the meditation pool before getting a facial. We walked down to dinner from our room and had a perfectly wonderful meal at Murray Circle. The people are helpful and the grounds have something for everyone, even dogs, are welcomed as well.

Room Tip: We prefer the modern rooms. They are higher up in the property and we enjoy the view from the rooms...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review!

Please do come visit us again at Cavallo point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a unique dining experience, Cavallo Point offers a perfect spot. Sit on the deep veranda for the afternoon sun and order from the bar menu. A glass of wine or a beer with a plate of their pomme frites and an item or two from the tasty menu and you're set. You'll be looking out over the parade grounds of this old Army post, across the green lawn to the water and the upper part of the Golden Gate Bridge as it rises above the hill. Great service, food, and setting make Cavallo Point a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cloudyskiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Lodge and the restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This has been an ideal place to hangout with a best friend or loved one. The views are breathtaking, the food and wines fabulous, nature walks including the one across the GG Bridge to San Francisco or into Sausalito! Everyone is service-oriented. The spa is gorgeous and serene. Can't wait to go back soon.

Room Tip: There is the historic section where former Army barracks and buildings have been remodeled. The Cont...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissOleMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your lovely post!

We hope to welcome you back very soon to Cavallo Point.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

. . . this is a fine place to stay for a change from downtown San Francisco. We were attending a conference and it was a joy to find ourselves staying somewhere a little different from the usual large corporate joints that often come our way. Sited below the Sausalito end of the iconic Golden Gate Bridge, it was breathtaking to pull back the curtains in the morning and see this great swooping expanse of engineering beyond the trees - sometimes swathed in fog or peeking through the sea mist. Which brings me to the ear plugs. You'll find them in the drawer by your bed because, should the weather close in, the mighty San Fran foghorns blare long and loud into the night.

The hotel is created from the remnants of an old army base - surprisingly elegantly arranged round a grassy expanse, inland above a small marina. We tried two of the rooms. The first in one of the older and, in theory, more attractive buildings on the circus. It was hopelessly drab, furnished in dismal shades of brown, and smelt of dogs. The hotel prides itself on being dog-friendly and this room had certainly seen its fair share of pooch residents. We asked to be moved which was accomplished with good grace. We found ourselves behind the main buildings - architecturally less attractive but elevated so better views, and much more modern and far, far better designed. Apart from the bath that is, which required the addition of a step to make it possible to clamber in - most odd. Room service was good. A fleet of golf carts supplied the transport, if required, and the restaurant was excellent. The conference facilities seemed excellent, too, and I didn't feel that we were an overwhelming presence for the other guests. It was well arranged. Marin County is full of interest - majestic Pacific coast line, deep forests, endless walking trails and the delightful as ever Sausalito so lots to see and do. And, of course, a quick flip over the bay to the main attraction if you can't live without inhaling big city air.

Room Tip: Go for one of the more modern rooms, higher on the site, and make sure that the 'eau de chien...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post-we sincerely appreciate your feedback.

We have many guests who prefer the historics and an equal amount of guests who also find our contemporary accomodations appealing.

In regards to your concerns, please rest assured that our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and inspected daily. For guests who are particularly sensitive to pets, please ask for a hypoallengic room at the time of booking. These rooms are kept 100% pet free at all times and are available in all room categories.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Sent my daughter for a weekend respite, called to order some items for her room, and a second time to make payment arrangements. Both times the phone service and follow up surpassed my expectations. She arrived to have the same level of service and support with a badly hurt knee. They brought her ice and put her in a room with less stairs!

We will be visiting that area quite often with her move and cant wait to experience it in person. Delighted customers!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klruct123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

I'm ecstatic to hear that your daughter enjoyed her stay and hope that we were able to contribute to making her recovery as pleasant as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Lodge in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here for three nights in a "historic with sitting area" room , and it was great. The renovation to the historic buildings really does the setting justice.

Extra touches: chocolates one night, lavender sachet another, and pillow spray on the third night were all part of the turn-down service. Very nice! I also enjoyed the nespresso coffeemaker in the room- made getting up early to attend a conference that much easier.

The downsides: Parking/valet is a little aggressive here on the weekend, when lots of people come and hang out on the porches and in the restaurants, on the lawn with their dogs, etc.- day visitors and a limited parking availability make having a car on the weekends a bit of a hassle. Not the biggest deal, though!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownielinzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments!

We also appreciate your comments concerning valet and parking and will share them with our management team.

We hope to welcome you back for another visit very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,494 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
3,284 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £367 - £742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing