We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location with views of Golden Gate Bridge from your room!!”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with views of Golden Gate Bridge from your room!!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The grounds of this hotel are so beautiful. I wish we would have had more time to run around and enjoy it. They also have a happy hour which was fun in the evening.

We stayed in the new rooms which were nice, but were disappointed there was no balcony in the rooms with two beds.

The city of Sausalito is fun and it was nice to run around there instead of the big city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHOBH_Wannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post-we appreciate you feedback and compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point very soon!


Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    209
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
195
431
29
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Wells, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After one hour and a half delay to be allowed in room after 3:00 PM check in,sofa bed was not made up and a massage table was left for additional bed! By 8:30 pm housekeeping arrived to set things right and the terribly stained mattress for the roll out bed/divan was uncovered. Finally got mattress pad to cover it. Next day housekeeping didn't arrive until 4:30 PM and we had to request they clean the kitchen. Telephone service to correct things resulted in "put on hold" several times. Restaurant and food service excellent. Fabulous historic location. Service by head bell man made our stay enjoyable even with the frustrating experiences with housekeeping management. Advertised shuttle service does not operate on Monday/Tuesday.

Room Tip: Carefully study available rooms for location, bedrooms and space. Contemporary rooms architecture d...
See more room tips
Green Features: fine. Water saving toilets excellent. Handicap grab bars needed in shower and bathtubs.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Housekeeping. Please rest assured that this is not a common experience-I will be certain to review your comments further with my team.

We also appreciate your compliments for our bell/valet team and the service at the restaurant.

If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I felt like I was in a different world...Worry free and very relaxed! The staff at Cavallo Point did an amazing job! Very warm and welcomed feeling from the moment that I arrived all the way through till the end of my stay...The food was so good! I came back feeling very relaxed and rejuvenated...I will definitely go back...

The location is great and the view from my room was so beautiful!

Green Features: When it comes to being Environmentally friendly: this place is definitely up to speed!
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff and service. We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

When I walked into my room and looked out the window, I was blown away. There was the Golden Gate Bridge! I was in the newer building and next time would like to try one of the older buildings as they are beyond charming. The food was really good. My Nespresso Coffee maker didn't work (They have a line they have apparently made for hotels, last two hotel rooms I have had in NICE hotels, they haven't worked.) so they brought a cup of coffee to my room. Nice touch. All of the employees were very sweet and friendly. The location is amazing. I would stay here again just for the grounds, views, and nice staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Bridge. Great welcome basket in my room with perfect snacks. The choco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalbuMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post! Please come visit us again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Believe it or not, it does get hot in Sausalito. The room had to be 95 degrees when we checked in. To make matters worse, the BDay party next door took all of the patio furniture, so we had no place to sit while the room cooled (it never did). We spent the night at a Holiday Inn Express and felt much smarter. Management said they would comp the room, so we shall see.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with your expecations and would like to address your concerns.

In support of our LEED Gold Certification, air-conditioning is not considered a benefit to our green and sustainable program. We usually find that Sausalito is only warm enough to require air-conditioning a week or so out of the year.

We do, however, recommend that guests either use the fans provided in the rooms or open the windows for the abundant fresh air from the National Park.

If there is anything further I can assist with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The spa was wonderful, the location relaxing, the food delicious. Although this is only 30 minutes from our house and we only did a one night stay, we truly felt like we "got away". Planning our return trip already.

Room Tip: The "modern" rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbrice67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post! We appreciate you choosing us as your hotel of choice for your anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your return stay!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We ended up staying at Cavallo Point Lodge because none of the mainstrwam hotels were available and once tjere didn't want to leave. Our stay was absolute perfection, from the moment the bellman opened the car door intil they wished us well. You can't find a more beautiful setting, the rooms were ample and well appointed, the food superb (sufcicient options) and the gift shop was filled with local designer gems. We were frankly surprised how quiet the space was, while so close to the freeway and downtown Sausalito. Great spot to get away and rejuvinate and reconnect. Skip staying in San Francisco on your next visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely post! I'm ecstatic to hear that you had a lovely stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next getaway!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,092 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing