We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best surprise!”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ogdensburg, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best surprise!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked this the night before and had no idea where we were going. Fabulous surprise!
The room was comfortable and amenities luxurious. We had wonderful food on the porch with a entertaining waiter and great service. The spa pool is a delight for reading, soaking and relaxing. Make time to take one of the historic walking tours-it is worth it.
But the best experience was, every morning the Golden Gate bridge welcomed us the the new day.

Room Tip: We had one of the new rooms with a full view of the bridge. If you have trouble with stairs make sur...
See more room tips
Green Features: No extra trash is generated by the room amenities-very nice.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    215
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
203
432
29
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights with a package that included breakfast. At check in we were given the choice of either an original or new room, and shown each by one of the bellmen. The tour was unrushed and comprehensive—and to us choosing was easy: the new room. The hotel is a partly refurbished military base and the older rooms reflect their age. The one we visited was large, but musty and the rooms, although they had character, were cramped and not to our taste. The new units were added after conversion and are very spacious with a large sitting area and gas fireplace. Remarkably quiet, the unit we had enjoyed a slight view of the Golden Gate Bridge and we enjoyed watching the fog slip over the hills from our cozy and comfortable king size bed. The soaking tub was the most comfortable I’ve ever experienced, deep and spacious. Breakfast was delicious and on the second morning served by a waiter named Jose who was exceptionally attentive, checking with the kitchen and obtaining fresh squeezed grapefruit juice, and sincerely asking after the entire meal. It was a wonderful end to a lovely two days. Thanks, Jose

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleRidge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for post. We sincerely appreciate your compliments for our room, amenities, and in particular, our server, Jose-we will be certain to share your comments with him.

Please do come visit us again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a delightful treat to see the skyline of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge while staying in a renovated 1903 house. This resort is a wonderful example of repurposing buildings with care and making the entire place "green". The contemporary section is nestled into the hillside and blends into its surroundings. Staff is friendly and offers extra help/suggestions. Food for the meeting I was attending was well presented and tasty. Dining room experience was ok. As a dog owner, I was pleased to see that dogs are welcome, accommodated, and add to the warm character of the property. Like tea? Visit the tea bar and relax! Did not have time to try the spa. Will save that for next time!

Green Features: Resort is solidly green. Had disposable pens to use in our meeting room. Food sources were local.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post. I'm very pleased to hear that your had enjoyed your stay during your group event.

We hope that you will be able to stop by and experience our lovely Healing Arts Center and Spa during your next visit!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. It's tucked away at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge. The property is unique, this is not a typical hospitality experience but it's a good one. The contemporary rooms are gorgeous. Our standard room was like a suite. The finishes are very nice. The staff is friendly. They really made us feel welcomed. Had lunch at the Farley Bar, one of the best meals I've had in SF to date. I would come back just have a meal here. Our waiter was a tad strange, kept telling uninteresting stories about himself but when he wasn't talking the experience was fantastic! Dinner at Murray Circle, perfection. The service was equally great. Beautiful too. A special occasion venue for sure! $$$$ but worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for you compliments-we sincerely appreciate your post!

I will be certain to share your feedback with our managment team and staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband attended a conference at Cavallo Point Resort, a former military base called Fort Baker. We attended two days early due to it's location. San Francisco was a ferry ride across the Bay, and the resort was nestled in the charming waterfront town of Saulsalito. We stayed in the renovated contemporary section, and would do so again. The room was incredible with a fabulous view of Golden Gate Bridge from windows, or terrace. A killer fireplace in the center of the room. The restaurant was exceptional, and included a cooking school. The staff was impeccable all around.

Room Tip: We stayed in the renovated contemporary section, and would do so again.
See more room tips
Green Features: Organic, sustainable products. Fab winding windows for cool breezes.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS_JD_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments-we are ecstatic to hear that you had enjoyed your stay.

Please visit us again very soon!

Best regards,
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The grounds of this hotel are so beautiful. I wish we would have had more time to run around and enjoy it. They also have a happy hour which was fun in the evening.

We stayed in the new rooms which were nice, but were disappointed there was no balcony in the rooms with two beds.

The city of Sausalito is fun and it was nice to run around there instead of the big city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHOBH_Wannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post-we appreciate you feedback and compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point very soon!


Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Wells, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After one hour and a half delay to be allowed in room after 3:00 PM check in,sofa bed was not made up and a massage table was left for additional bed! By 8:30 pm housekeeping arrived to set things right and the terribly stained mattress for the roll out bed/divan was uncovered. Finally got mattress pad to cover it. Next day housekeeping didn't arrive until 4:30 PM and we had to request they clean the kitchen. Telephone service to correct things resulted in "put on hold" several times. Restaurant and food service excellent. Fabulous historic location. Service by head bell man made our stay enjoyable even with the frustrating experiences with housekeeping management. Advertised shuttle service does not operate on Monday/Tuesday.

Room Tip: Carefully study available rooms for location, bedrooms and space. Contemporary rooms architecture d...
See more room tips
Green Features: fine. Water saving toilets excellent. Handicap grab bars needed in shower and bathtubs.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Housekeeping. Please rest assured that this is not a common experience-I will be certain to review your comments further with my team.

We also appreciate your compliments for our bell/valet team and the service at the restaurant.

If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
296 reviews
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,206 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing