We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful special weekend!”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a truly fabulous resort. We were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday, and it was the special weekend we were looking for. The staff treat you as though it really is important to them that you have a wonderful time, and we were addressed by name throughout our stay. The park at Rodeo Beach and the old bunkers and lighthouse were great to explore. We had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge from our beautiful contemporary room, and I'm certain any room at this resort would be wonderful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 816Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your husband's birthday at Cavallo Point!

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have stayed here a few times. This last time was a girls spa weekend but it was also perfect for romantic getaway with my husband. I have even come with kids and they liked it. Splurge and reserve a view room. I prefer the contemporary lodging with the Golden Gate Bridge view. The spa is heavenly. Good hiking is nearby. You are a bit remote and will need to leave the property (a bit of a drive) for restaurants other than their own. All staff was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is relaxed and casual. Cavallo Point is an excellent alternative to staying in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davismamamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind post!

Please do come visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I've stayed here twice in the last year for business functions and both times, the resort did not disappoint. The scenery is stunning, the service is attentive, and the accommodations are quite unique. I've stayed once in a more historical unit and once in a more modern one - both are very nice. The grounds are well maintained and while some may think the rooms are located too far away from the main center and restaurants, I found it quite nice to be further away and get a little walk in, on the grounds. There's a great bar and you can strike up a conversation w/ other guests quite easily. The food at the restaurant is delicious, however, the service is suspect at times - ranging from slow to even a few servers who are hard to comprehend (language wise). Even though I'm local to the Bay Area, this felt like a true getaway and destination conference.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful post!

We hope to welcome you back very soon for your next conference.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband surprised me with a stay here for our anniversary. Because he mentioned it was our anniversary when he made the reservations, the hotel went above and beyond with every interaction. Maybe they do this even when guests aren't celebrating an anniversary, but we were made to feel "special". Our room was a king suite with views of the Golden Gate Bridge from the windows and deck. The hotel, while near the Golden Gate Bridge, feels a world away. It is very serene and quiet here. We live in Marin County, so a stay here is so quick but so wonderful!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. We had one of the newer, contemporary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreekamericanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

I'm so pleased to hear that your anniversary stay was memorable.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I love staying here. It is very beautiful and relaxing. My first experience with Cavallo Point was sitting on the porch having a long leisurely lunch on a beautiful Fall day with the Golden Gate Bridge in full view. The food is very good, and so is the service. The next time I was in a modern room on the hill. The room was fabulous, and I loved the large soaking tub since it was pouring rain outside. The dinner at Murray Circle restaurant was excellent.
Third time we stayed in a historic room, very nice as well. It was a little smaller and didn't have a soaker tub, but the separate sitting and sleeping areas were nice. The proximity to the main lodge and spa were nice.
Overall, this is a very pleasant place to stay with beautiful surroundings, great food, and nice staff. The little extras like fruit and snacks in the room, wine and cheese in the lobby, guided hikes, and coffee and tea in the lobby are nice touches.

Room Tip: Historic rooms are very nice, and close. Modern rooms are up the hill, but very spacious, and love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likecomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you your support and wonderful post!

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is our 4th or 5th stay at Cavallo. We love it because it's so close to home and going for a one night stay is easy. Once there you can relax. Enjoy the views, hike, eat great food and drink good wine. Getting to nearby San Francisco, Mill Valley or Napa is an easy drive as well. Our dog especially loves the resort as it is very dog friendly.

Room Tip: we had 2204. It is upstairs. Room is quite large and comfortable. There are rooms with better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post-please do come and visit us again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

From a less than expected stay last June to a fabulous stay this weekend, the GM and his staff made every possible effort to ensure that we left with nothing but the best experience. It is very clear that staff are impeccably trained in noting that the guests come first and were incredibly gracious and accommodating of every request. Acknowledgement of my birthday with a hand signed card both in the room and at the table for dinner was wonderful. We can't wait to go back and highly, highly recommend this resort for all types of travelers. Thank you staff at Cavallo Point - particularly Christine H for taking great care of us with excellent communication and ease of scheduling and Emmett for the superb service and hospitality.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Loom34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely compliments!

It's our pleasure to ensure that you had a lovely visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,589 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
477 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: £356 - £607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing