We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday getaway!”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday getaway!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Wonderful relaxing three days at Cavallo Point! We had read all of the great reviews and were not disappointed with our stay. We stayed in a contemporary king room with a stunning view of the Golden Gate Bridge! The room and all services from bell service to front desk to restaurant were outstanding. We hiked around the property and enjoyed a relaxing afternoon at the spa. We will definitely return to Cavallo Point.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the contemporary rooms with heated floors, fireplace, large bathroom and beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaEDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments-I will be certain to share them with our staff!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    211
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
197
431
29
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My (now) husband and I chose Cavallo Point to get married and then spend the night. What a GREAT joy. Amazing more Bay Area folks don't know about this place, but it is a real treasure!

SPA - we loved it...spent a few hours pre-wedding relaxing
ROOM - Lovely...remodeled old building and they did a great job. The bathroom/shower was very nice.
VIEW - you cannot go wrong here...the Bay Area/Golden Gate Bridge is to be seen...lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to share your special day with us-congratulations!

We hope to welcome you and your husband back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We were here to celebrate our birthdays and everything was perfect. The service is friendly and professional. The rooms are great and the view of the Golden Gate Bridge is outstanding. Had the tasting menu at dinner and it was delicious and beautifully presented. We will definitely come back to celebrate special occasions. They even gave us a box if wonderful Belgian chocolates for our birthday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthdays at Cavallo Point!

It's wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay and we hope to welcome you back for many more special occasions!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

At a recommendation from a friend, I chose Cavallo Point Lodge as the location for a much needed three day retreat. I had a fantastic time. Everyone at the lodge was very friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable, clean, and a serene setting. The spa was amazing. All the services I got were great, I enjoyed relaxing in the meditation pool, and all areas of the spa were clean. Highlights for me included

- enjoying lunch on the outdoor bench seating with the December sun keeping me plenty warm, a chilled glass of white wine, delicious food, and peace and quiet. Note: this was a mid week stay. So not sure if it would have been so peaceful on the weekend.

- hiking around the property and enjoying the great view of the Golden Gate bridge and the City.

- my time in the spa, especially the guided meditation with Shirley.

Room Tip: The modern king room is beautiful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your retreat with us. Please do come visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We arrived almost six hours ahead of the hotel check-in time, expecting just to be able to leave our luggage there, but the hotel had our room ready for use straight away which was such a bonus. This was done without us even asking, and this helpful and friendly welcome set the tone for our entire stay. They went out of their way to help us plan our excursions, and negotiate Sausalito, ferry & getting around SF. On our departure, the hotel deposited us at the pick up point for the bus to the airport (they recommended this form of transport as much cheaper than the taxi ride).
This place is a real find, an absolute gem, and we will certainly stay again when in SF.

Room Tip: Try the 'historic' buildings, preferably closest to reception, as could involve quite a walk...
See more room tips
Green Features: We valued the eco-friendly policy of the hotel, which is why we wouldn't complain about lack of air-conditioning (it was December however). We also saw a lot of electric vehicles in use, looked like charge points for guests with electric vehicles were available as well.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIES93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We appreciate compliments and will share them with our team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

There is no better place to stay than the Cavallo. So quiet and relaxing and just 5 minutes away from SF Hotspots and Sausalito Dining and Shopping.
Beautiful view of the Golden Gate Bridge and amazing view of San Francisco, especially night time city lights view.
You often see deer grazing on the lawn in the evenings.
Restaurant and Bar are excellent and the staff is friendly, warm, and wonderful. I don't think there is a spirit or liquor that the bar does not have on hand.
The restaurant makes deserts that I have not seen anywhere else and excellent appetizers that you can order at the bar. The Classic French mussels are excellent (with tomato would be better!), shishito peppers, bone marrow, oysters, duck, too much to list.
They have a gym with several new elliptical machines, treadmills, free weights, and machine weights.
Full spa that I have never used, but it must be nice since everything else is so perfect.
Good for couples or family. They have a marine educational place and coast guard station that you can walk to that is great for children. There is also a bar on the water where they sometimes have live music.
Everything here is a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for, this place will make your SF Vacation PERFECT; and they often run specials that make for a good value, just check their website or ask them when you call.

Room Tip: Historic King rooms on the first floor are nice and roomy. 2nd floor rooms are a bit smaller. They...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was told that they need to keep everything environmentally friendly, green, energy efficient, etc because they are on national park land or something like that. The have blue recycling trash bins in each room and a Britta filter pitched in the refrigerator so there is no plastic bottle waist.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post-we sincerely appreciate your compliments!

Please do and come visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilot Hill, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a truly fabulous resort. We were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday, and it was the special weekend we were looking for. The staff treat you as though it really is important to them that you have a wonderful time, and we were addressed by name throughout our stay. The park at Rodeo Beach and the old bunkers and lighthouse were great to explore. We had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge from our beautiful contemporary room, and I'm certain any room at this resort would be wonderful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 816Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your husband's birthday at Cavallo Point!

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
294 reviews
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,181 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing