We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving at Cavallo Point” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving at Cavallo Point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Second stay at this property and it was just as enjoyable as the first time. We stayed in a historic room versus modern, and were very comfortable with 2 adults, a teenager and toddler. We ate a couple of times at Murray Circle, and had an excellent experience with both breakfast and dinner. The staff was always friendly and helpful! I absolutely love the history of the property, and the LOCATION is just wonderful -- we enjoyed the temperate November weather and views of the Golden Gate so much! My daughter who is two + had a fun filled day at the Bay Area Museum while the boys hiked the headlands. The only problem, we had to leave.

Green Features: They take a very conscientious effort at being green --
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcooper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for you choosing to spend your Thanksgiving Holiday!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point in the future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    205
    64
    33
    20
See reviews for
189
423
29
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a wonderful place to relax, eat great food and take your dogs for a stay. The staff are ultra helpful and friendly. The trails and view of the GG bridge are breathtaking. Murray Circle food is a great foodie experience. Farley Bar is fun place too.

Room Tip: All the ones we have stayed (old and new types) were lovely. We really like the ones with the view o...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel goes the extra miles to be green and I really appreciate that. Recycling containers in the room are great. Many other things they do to be green as well.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post - we appreciate your kind words!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I took my husband here for his birthday. The rooms are so quiet and feel so rural. The staff was A+. The spa treatments were superior and the spa itself is very impressive. All the details are luxury.

Room Tip: the contemporary rooms with bridge view are to die for.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling and the like are very advanced. The spa especially is very focused on the environment.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that your husband's birthday stay went well!

Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Wonderful relaxing three days at Cavallo Point! We had read all of the great reviews and were not disappointed with our stay. We stayed in a contemporary king room with a stunning view of the Golden Gate Bridge! The room and all services from bell service to front desk to restaurant were outstanding. We hiked around the property and enjoyed a relaxing afternoon at the spa. We will definitely return to Cavallo Point.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the contemporary rooms with heated floors, fireplace, large bathroom and beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaEDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments-I will be certain to share them with our staff!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

My (now) husband and I chose Cavallo Point to get married and then spend the night. What a GREAT joy. Amazing more Bay Area folks don't know about this place, but it is a real treasure!

SPA - we loved it...spent a few hours pre-wedding relaxing
ROOM - Lovely...remodeled old building and they did a great job. The bathroom/shower was very nice.
VIEW - you cannot go wrong here...the Bay Area/Golden Gate Bridge is to be seen...lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to share your special day with us-congratulations!

We hope to welcome you and your husband back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We were here to celebrate our birthdays and everything was perfect. The service is friendly and professional. The rooms are great and the view of the Golden Gate Bridge is outstanding. Had the tasting menu at dinner and it was delicious and beautifully presented. We will definitely come back to celebrate special occasions. They even gave us a box if wonderful Belgian chocolates for our birthday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthdays at Cavallo Point!

It's wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay and we hope to welcome you back for many more special occasions!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

At a recommendation from a friend, I chose Cavallo Point Lodge as the location for a much needed three day retreat. I had a fantastic time. Everyone at the lodge was very friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable, clean, and a serene setting. The spa was amazing. All the services I got were great, I enjoyed relaxing in the meditation pool, and all areas of the spa were clean. Highlights for me included

- enjoying lunch on the outdoor bench seating with the December sun keeping me plenty warm, a chilled glass of white wine, delicious food, and peace and quiet. Note: this was a mid week stay. So not sure if it would have been so peaceful on the weekend.

- hiking around the property and enjoying the great view of the Golden Gate bridge and the City.

- my time in the spa, especially the guided meditation with Shirley.

Room Tip: The modern king room is beautiful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your retreat with us. Please do come visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#19 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,813 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing