We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection- deserves a 10!”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My adult daughter stated here one night. Upon driving up- we were greeted by the nicest guys at parking area.
They truly cared about the customers and visited even though we didn't need valet.
They offered great tips- even offered to loan us a business Lexus for our trip into town that Eve.
Checked in, and decided
We'd really hoped to book the historical room-
No the modern... No problem says Ashley! She
Arranges the most amazing room-
Old commanders quarters on top floor facing the water and golden gate. You see photos- unreal suite with every detail considered. Fruit, chocolate and nuts in basket, teas, coffees, bri and wine, n bubbly fruit drinks in refrigerator, all complementary. The room was amazing and peaceful.
We didn't want to leave at all.
It is low key ,
Dog friendly w weather bowls everywhere . The large grounds were great for families and games. You can sit in one of the many rocking or lawn chairs and soak in the beauty.
Services was impeccable.
Evening turn down and shade closure .
The bar was outstanding!
Restaurant stunning
Spa services outstanding- we did head and soul. Very relaxing experience. Upon check out there was commentary wine and yummy cheese.
Oh how we want to be back there ...!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommaforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review! I will share your compliments with the management team and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

By accident we arrived at this hotel on biking the Golden Gate route to Sausalito. Even more surprised we were to being welcomed by friend who co-incidentally were having drinks there.

So we really enjoyed the wines and the fingerfood while sitting in the late sun.

Our next time in SFO we will also check out the hotel facilities

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review! I will share your compliments with the management team. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you visit San Francisco. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I went to Cavallo Pt for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I think it would be hard to fail completely, service wise, as the location is so truly spectacular, and one is put into a happy place immediately upon arrival. The room was quite nice, and off of our balcony we had a stunning view of the GGBridge, breathtaking. We stayed in a contemporary room, nice enough.
Service could use a bit of fine tuning. The staff are mostly very young, and in my opinion, not professional to the caliber of such a high end and expensive resort. At the front desk, the woman who checked us out made an error with the bill, and while explaining what she had done, confused herself and us as well. The waiter we had for dinner know absolutely nothing about the wines we ordered, and so recommended we s/w the sommelier. Great. This took 15 minutes, however, and it was long enough for our waiter to forget the full order, so he had to come back to refresh his memory. Made sense he wanted to wait to put our order in until we'd settled on a wine, but the execution was poor. Then, when we called the valet for our bags, it took 1 hour, and 3 calls to get someone up. 3 calls yielded speaking with 3 different people. Last person who helped with the bags was the aforementioned front desk staff person, who, after getting tongue tied with the billing error, then dropped the ball on the transition of the luggage to the car. We then had to wait 30 min for the car. Final screw up was that the car valet, upon our arrival, had switched out our tags (gave me a new one 20 min after we arrived) but never replaced the tag on the keys they had. This led to multiple valets asking "which car is yours". Last, I woke up early to take advantage of the "daily yoga class"-no such luck, the teacher had a family emergency. This news came about 10 minutes into the class time, and after 2 trips to the FDesk for inquiry. Apparently, class had been cancelled the day prior as well, for a diff reason.

Not what you'd expect for the reputation and the money. We didn't take spa treatments, but did go into the spa, and it's lovely.

My recommendation would be to drink in the views from all the awesome hikes on Mt. Tam, then maybe have a massage at the spa and drinks and light fare at the restaurant (food was good, and a reasonable value as well), then go spend your overnight money in SF or further into the private nooks and crannies of West Marin. That's my plan next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LInda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting Cavallo Point as your resort of choice to celebrate your anniversary. I appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the management team for further review and improvement. We hope to welcome you back very soon! Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We returned to Cavallo Point for the second year in a row to celebrate my husband's birthday. He had enjoyed it so much last year that he requested we go back - and bring friends this time.

Cavallo Point still had plenty of charm but unfortunately it seemed to have slipped since our last visit. The valet was not present when we arrived so we circled for a while trying to find parking in the packed lot. I had mentioned it was my husband's birthday weekend but there was no acknowledgement of the occasion or the fact that we were returning guests. When we arrived at the room, the snacks had not been replaced from the previous occupants and were obviously half gone (you could still see the indentations where the other fruit in the box had once been).

As before, the spa area was wonderfully relaxing. I also took a yoga class that I enjoyed and the guys had a good time at a cooking class. But, when you spend as much as you do for a place like this, you expect more of the small details to be looked after. I hope the service steps back up because this is such a perfect retreat location for locals like us!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shau-Ru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting Cavallo Point as your resort of choice to celebrate your husband's birthday. I appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the management team for further review and improvements. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

"New build "accommodation was an excellent time for the two of us. Service was impeccable. Staff delightful. Helpful. And little things were a surprise:
Snacks in room
Tasting of wine and proseco prior to meal
Coffee/biscuit/bacon cheesy scones near lobby
Spa
Meditation pool to die for after a long day of travel
Massage w Sean was
Heaven (altho we paid for that)

All in all, a memory to last.
Restaurant has eclectic foods to tantalize the taste buds. Yum! Chocolate flight of desserts a must but share it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keepersmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting Cavallo Point as your resort of choice to celebrate your birthday! I appreciate your feedback and will share your compliments with the management team. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We used to live in San Francisco, and have gone back often, but this time we finally decided to get the vantage point from across the bridge and stay at Cavallo Point Lodge. As a refurbished military base next to the Golden Gate Bridge, we expected it to have a great view, but be a little funky, perhaps even inconvenient to our city activities. Instead we found it the perfect haven, absolutely special in every way, from the restaurant to the spa (amazing therapists!) to how easy it was to get into the city or be a million miles away. We woke to birds in the morning, hiked and biked the Marin headlands trails and loved sitting on the porch at Farley's people watching during a casual dinner. The service was superb and the historic portions were not funky, just lovely. Bravo to all! One tiny quibble - wish there were parking nearer the modern units, we did quite a bit of traversing the property to get anywhere. That could be avoided by staying in one of the historic rooms with parking at your door. Thanks for a memorable stay - we will be back soon!

Room Tip: The modern suites were spacious and had great views. Ask for a second floor one, away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback! I will share your compliments with the management team. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The view can't get any better: Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Skyline, the Bay. Beautiful hillsides covered in poppies and cypress trees. Just spectacular. The hotel is just OK. the room in the modern buildings is clean and unfussy but not anything special. It lacked any charm or sense of place. The dining room feels old and worn down. The breakfast menu was fine. The meeting space was just uncomfortable and not terribly functional. Come for the scenery not the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your comments and will share them with the management team for further review and improvements. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,512 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £349 - £709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing