We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property with a great view”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Cavallo Point is a converted army base from the 1900's. The remaining buildings are from about 1919 but have been updated while keeping the many of the original elements that lend them charm. You can choose to stay in the officers quarters or in the new buildings. The new buildings that are well designed, comfortable and take full advantage of the spectacular view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Our bed was super comfortable and the room has tons of closet space and a large, well appointed bathroom. I really enjoyed staying there and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Golden Gate view. It is well worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the feedback! I will share your compliments with the management team and we hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point soon. Best regards,
Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
There are newer reviews for Cavallo Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Large group of business folk from all corners of the globe enjoyed exemplary service here.
What a setting- the Golden Gate Bridge seemingly at the bottom of your garden, picture perfect vistas from Waltons style porches with rocking chairs. Climb the stairs (no lifts) to your huge suite and enjoy colonial style furnishings, spotless surroundings and a huge comfy bed. Top notch in room snacks and decent tea bags.
Fabulous huge shower. Good toiletries. Walk in wardrobe and iron, board and plenty of hangers.
We were here for 4 days in a large business group, also enjoying decent conference facilities and extensive grounds to stroll in. Views of the Golden Gate Bridge like these are priceless.
Minor gripes- why does the bar close at 11pm?!
Spa isn't up to much. No decent swimming pool. A shame as that would make this place pretty much 10/10
Only 30 mins average into San Francisco, stay out of the city and relax in style.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Dweezil28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and I will share your comments with the management team. We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What is not to like about Cavallo Point Lodge? It has the best view in the world of a first class city (after all I live in the Bay Area so am prejudiced), is right next to the iconic GG Bridge, has historical period buildings from an old army fort, a cooking school, yoga in the morning/evening, amazing dinning with creative sophisticated local cuisine, and a spa where you can get pampered.

If you plan to visit San Francisco this is a must see place. Even if you do not stay at Cavallo Point Resort which I recommend you do, at least go there for a drink.

I actually like the Farley Bar better than the restaurant. It is informal really comfortable with two fireplaces to relax in front of while you enjoy fine wines and an amazing selection of appetizers as well as small and large plates. My favorites: try the Midnight Moon Quinoa Mac and Cheese with the Stack House 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon in front of the fire while the summer fog just starts coming over the hills outside.

Take a stroll around the grounds going up to the old battery installations along San Francisco Bay with amazing views of the city, Alcatraz Island, the Bay Bridge, and of course, the Golden Gate. Go at sunset for the magical time. Enjoy!!

Enjoy.

Room Tip: I like charm and older places so I stay in the 'historic' house suites, which used to be hou...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the review! I will share your feedback with the management team and we hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend at Cavallo Point and we can't wait to go back with our children! The service was wonderful, although we were a little inconvenienced by not being able to self park our car...(we stayed in the newly remodeled buildings). The room service and Murray Circle restaurant were scrumptious and much better than the typical hotel restaurant! Ask for the room with a Golden Gate view- Beautiful view for morning coffee and later in the evenings!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPA_Mommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review! We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point soon and look forward to having your children stay with us. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cavallo Point is located across the golden gate bridge from San Francisco. The lodge is a combination of history meets contemporary. We stayed in a contemporary room that had a view of the golden gate bridge. It was great to go to sleep looking at the bridge and to wake up doing so as well.

You can walk to the golden gate bridge (takes about 20 minutes) and then across and back. There are numerous hiking trails around the lodge. It is a 5 minute car ride to Sausalito which has some wonderful views/ restaurants. Muir beach and Stinson beach are along route 1 approximately 25 minutes away.

It is a 5 minute ride or a 2 mile walk into Sausalito to catch the ferry. The ferry runs multiple times a day into San Francisco. You can get off at Pier 39 (fisherman's wharf) and make your way around SanFran -- then head back to the quietness of the lodge.

There is a meditation pool (heated outdoor pool) and whirlpools. The fitness center was great and no charge to use it. (Treadmills, elipticals, spin bikes, recumbent bikes, weights). There is free yoga each morning. There is a 'get to know you" wine tasting, cooking classes, etc.

And to top all this off - the staff is amazing. They are not intrusive -- but ever ready to take care of your needs. If you want a shuttle into San Francisco or a ride over to the ferry - etc.

Pampered perfection! Wonderful people! Great views!

I will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Contemporary room with a great view of golden gate -- the room is amazing -- large garden tub -- fir...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback! I appreciate your compliments and will share them with the management team. We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A two day stay was wonderful. Hidden by itself along the North shore near Golden Gate Bridge. Staff was extremely pleasant & accomodating. We lucked out weather-wise (mid June). No fog at all on the GG bridge, San Francisco skyline was clear for most of the day. The historic room very lush, large and comfortable. Valet parking incl & they have shuttles thru out day to Sausalito (2 miles), SF & other points of interest. Not a bus (that I saw) all were Lexus SUV's. Tried dining room for 1 dinner & 1 brkfst. We were there midweek so not as busy as weekend might be. Both had excellent food & exc service. Lots of interesting flora & fauna, picture postcard scene. I scored a little lower on value as it is pricey, but I think worth it, but everyone has their own idea of $"value"

Room Tip: Some rooms may have better view of SF. We were in middle and that seemed to be good. We could see...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmclTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the feedback. I will share your comments with the management team and we hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I really enjoyed my time at Cavallo Point. The guest rooms were well appointed, the bed was comfortable, the reception was fantastic. Best part was ship fog horns and waking up to the Golden Gate Bridge peaking though the fog.

I didn't try the food or beverage outlets here we had a late arrival and early departure. There is great hiking nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon. Best regards, Euan Taylor General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,494 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
3,282 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £367 - £742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing