We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local get-a-away”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local get-a-away”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I particularly enjoy staying in a hotel with a bit of historical significance. We have stayed in the historic portion of Cavallo Point several times and thoroughly enjoy its location, nestled under the Marin side of the Golden Gate Bridge, and the ambiance. We haven't booked specific spa services but the general use of the spa has been included with the room. It has a lovely co-ed outdoor heated "soaking" pool big enough for floating in and accommodates multiple groups of users without feeling like you are intruding.
One evening the hotel gave us a courtesy van ride to downtown Sausalito and picked us up, which eliminated the hassle of parking and worrying about having a designated driver, even though it is close. We have enjoyed dining in the onsite restaurant and especially enjoyed the wine pairing and tasting menu for a special occasion. Breakfast for a group seemed a bit pricey by the time you added juice, hot beverages, etc. to each persons selection. The porches of the individual buildings provide relaxing outdoor spots and hanging out with friends as does the main building. If traveling with another party or group call to explain your needs as the buildings lend themselves nicely to booking multiple rooms. The hotel is situated for a very fun bike ride to or from SF. If you don't want to ride both ways you can ride into Sausalito, take the ferry, and then ride back along the Embarcadero and through the Marina. It is downhill from the bridge to the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotInModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, Guest Relations Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Cavallo Point as your local getaway destination. I will share your generous review and compliments with the Healing Arts Center, Murray Circle staff and our management team.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends at Cavallo Point very soon.
Best Regards,

Elizabeth Goodwin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    209
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
195
431
29
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

色々なホテルや旅館に泊まりましたがここほどひどいホテルはありません。

まず、ソノマなど北側からのフリーウエイのアクセスは要注意。
ホテルのDirectionに書いてあるExitはかなりわかりづらくて、一旦ミスするとGGBを渡らなくてはいけなくなり戻ってくるのに30分以上かかります。遠回りでもひとつ手前のExitを出た方がいいです。

最悪なことは、ホテルに頼んでおいたマッサージの予約が入っていなかったことです。
最初スパのスタッフは私達が勘違いしている体でしたが、ホテルからのE-mailを見せてやっと信じて言いわけを始めました。忘れたのは予約係でスパの責任ではないとか、謝罪より言いわけばかりでした。

ホテルは広い敷地にポツンポツンといくつかロッジが建っているんですが、フロントでくれた地図がまたわかりづらい。一番近いパーキングから私達の部屋がある建物までかなりの距離の坂道、気温15度、台風並みの強風が吹く中歩きました。8月ですがダウンコートを着ている人も何人かいたくらい。

部屋に着いてみると、ベルに頼んだスーツケースのうちのひとつがありません。
疲れている中また離れたパーキングまで戻り、重いスーツケースを持って坂道を登りました。
部屋は広くてデザインもまあまあですが、GGBは霧でほとんど見えないですし(View付きの高い部屋なのに)、シーツなどもチープ、トイレはしっかり掃除していなくてシミがありました。

トラブルの連続で疲れ切っていたので、レストランの予約をキャンセルしてルームサービスにしましたが
そこでもミスがありました。頼んでいた飲み物を忘れて、アメリカンドッグは中は生で外は丸焦げ。
私達の部屋は2406でしたが1階で上階からの騒音は本当にひどかったです。
それに、Foghorn!30分に1回くらいなら情緒がある程度で済むでしょうが、真夜中まで何時間も3分おきにボンボン鳴っていたらうるさいだけです。

チェックアウト時に多少の配慮はありましたが、全額普通に払ってでも快適な方が全然いいです。
二度と泊まりませんしお勧めもしませんが、晴れていれば景色だけは最高なのでちょっとドライブの途中で寄ってみるくらいならいいかもしれません。

- Front staff forgot to make our reservation of massage at spa!
- Bellman didn't bring one of our suitcases to our room. So, we had to go back all the way to a self parking far away under strong wind and cold weather.
- There were couple stains in toilet. poor housekeeping
- No view of GGB from our room, even though we paid extra for the room with GGB view , actually street view (avoid room 2406).
- Room service forgot to bring my drink, and the corndog was undercooked. outside was black and so dry, and inside was like raw.
- noise from upstairs was so big and annoying. our room was 2406
- foghorn was every 3 minutes from evening to midnight, and so loud
- be careful to the people coming from northside, sausalito exit from 101 can be easily missed. Once missed, you have to go across the GGB, and it takes more than 30 min to come back in busy season
- some credit made, but not enough for too much troubles

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank kmmltya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, Guest Relations Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest, I appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at Cavallo Point. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It is our priority to deliver excellent service and I will share your comments with the management team for further review and improvements. Cavallo Point is a unique property with historic and contemporary lodging and many of the rooms offer breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge. We hope that you will consider returning to Cavallo Point to enjoy the distinctive amenities of the resort. Best regards, Elizabeth Goodwin Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Cavallo Point is the reason my family comes to Northern California each summer. It is relaxing and elegant without being pretentious. Meals are Murray Circle are a must. Can't wait to go back next summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MthrMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, Guest Relations Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of Cavallo Point. I appreciate your comments and will share your compliments about the restaurant with the management team. We are looking forward to welcoming your family back next summer! Best regards, Elizabeth Goodwin Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I've had the opportunity to stay at Cavallo Point twice in the last few months. Both times, my room was in the new part of the facility up the hill from the Registration and Restaurant buildings. The view from the room is breathtaking. Looking out from the balcony/patio outside my room I had a straight view of the Golden Gate Bridge. On my first stay, I saw two flocks of deer while driving in, and was awakened the next morning by a coyote crying just outside of the building in which I was staying, all just a few miles outside of downtown Sausalito. The rooms were enormous, having a sitting area to one side, fireplace, large screen TV, and a patio/balcony outside (Balcony upstairs and a patio downstairs.) The building I was in both times is a four-plex with two rooms up and two rooms down. The new section has a number of these buildings. I've never stayed in the older section, so I cannot comment on those accommodations. The older section are the original buildings of the old military fort. The Farley Bar seems to be a nightlife scene, as it has been packed on both my visits. The only negative that I have for the facility is that, in some respects, it is too spread out. They do not allow patrons to drive to their rooms, so your choices are to walk or have the staff drive you to your room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer section are very large. Whole facility is so spread out that it is extremely quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhOgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, Guest Relations Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of Cavallo Point! I appreciate your positive feedback about the contemporary accommodations. Guests have the option of self-parking their cars. We offer complimentary valet parking as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Elizabeth Goodwin Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongducheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is a great unique property that feels far different from your typical corporately owned hotel. It is a remodeled Army Base and has a great location with views of the bridge, bay, and city. We stayed in a modern room which had tons of space, a great bed, and wonderfully large patio to sit out on. However if you can't walk you may want to consider a historic room which are much further down the hill. Parking is quite a ways from the room and should be taken into consideration if you have mobility issues. However with our room on the outskirts of the property we had deer come right down to our building one night which was awesome. The staff was extremely friendly. We had desert and drinks in the bar one night which was great but very high priced in my opinion, two deserts and to drinks and we were over $60 dollars, that was our only inconvenience during our stay. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickenlips79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, Guest Relations Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and compliments about the staff and accommodations at Cavallo Point. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best regards, Elizabeth Goodwin Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san luis obispo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We own Inns and thus maybe more demanding than others,and still more forgiving. If you love historic non cookie cutter resorts cavallo point maybe for you ,we liked it!
It is not a lot things if you used to high end hotels 4 seasons etc.. Might not be your style .It was Army base at foot of Golden Gate Bridge ,so views of city and bridge are amazing.We chose the Historic for both location ( lower less stairs than hillside modern) and because seemed a lot more authentic and was.
Pros
Staff front desk and bell staff excellent
Emmett ast front desk mgr upgraded us on checkin ( because reservation mistake and because it was our anniversary ,Sara on checkout asked if if we had good stay ,I said mostly good on purpose to see what she would do ,and she immediately asked what problem was and could she make it right .i explained and gave her suggestion but wasn't expecting or asking for discount but she waived resort fee when I got copy of my emailed bill,and said she would talk to dining room supervisor. That's great customer service ...
The room ,we were upgraded to two bedroom historic suite off parade grounds ,and didn't experience any dust allergy problems previous reviewer had .it was extremely well done renovation ,maybe shower was bit small ,but parlor ,porch size was excellent..( note this normally $800 rack rate vs 480 upgrade)

We stayed on breakfast n bed package ..looked like good deal room service breakfast ran about $55.00 inc
tip day .So that appears to be nice savings ..room service came promptly ,orders taken professionally ,food was okay nothing noteworthy but because of above better than a lot downtown hotels ,where something usually goes wrong .there is a 20% gratuity added , but that's expected but no other service fee added.

Resort fee ... yes there is $25 .oo resort fee ,there is spa and small out door pool and fitness room ,so mini resort? But still lower than most hotels..fair if you believe resort fees are fair .

Spa we both had excellent treatments at the Spa ( which is crown jewel of the hotel ) Spa is quite nice mini destination in itself ,based on some locals we talked to ,is being used by wealthy of Sausalito as private club .
Excellent maybe best we have ever used at hotel except At enchantment resort .
Cooking school we attended and for 85.00 each was fun night and dinner ,would recommend !

Location ,views are great ,close Sausalito for escape and were told excellent hiking ,next time we probably would use hotel as base and go into city or drive Marin ,this time we wanted to crash .
Fun extra ..
Like sister hotel Post Ranch they have fleet Lexus that they use for bellman carts ,and fun part they loan out sedans for guest use ..they seem to have three or four and go fast ,we " borrowed one " for trip into Sausalito,
You can't keep overnight ,but def fun wine country drive .( my guess they screen you bit )

Okay negatives and just few ..
Dogs ( I know I love the too) ,there is a large number of dog owners who believe that their babies should go everywhere . since Cavallo point started very slow they
Turned to easy fix and catered to doggie crowd .Alot hotels limit size ,they seem to have market on hosting
Largest "mini horse " variety you can imagine ,Great Danes, labs ,rocks they all here .All wanting to sniff you,sit in your lap and in my case eat off my plate on wonderful dining room terrace .
First morning big black lab joined me for breakfast drooled on my table but I got my breakfast out way in time ,owner yelled he won't bite just friendly , next day beautiful blond four legged retreiver) came up and ate my pancake ,since I was done it wasn't disaster ,owner lady appeared ,never stopped talking to her friend who
Was also being tugged away .by equally large dog, both left without word ,ladies next to me and I had to laugh . No staff was around I did mention it to mgr who was apologic but I was done ..from there on had room service ,ha

If you want peace and quiet and spa day ,or need just base to see sights ,this excellent facility ,or if you have VERY large dog and no manners .

Still because staff we might give it another try ..

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cahotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, Guest Relations Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Cavallo Point. I will share your compliments about the Healing Arts Center, Front Desk and Bell staff with the management team. I will follow-up with the Director of Outlets to ensure that the pet policy is enforced. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Elizabeth Goodwin Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Cavallo Point is a unique place to stay. The hotel was a military fort and the homes that you stay in were the officers quarters. If you get a room with a view, you can see the skyline of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge. We stayed on the third (top) floor and had the floor to ourselves, it seems there were three or four hotel rooms below us but we didn't hear anything. Our room had an espresso machine, delicious free snacks, a small refrigerator with a free bottle of wine, filtered water and juice. The hotel serves delicious food and drinks, is casual, welcomes dogs and children (I saw more dogs than children), and has a children's museum on the property. They also have a beautiful spa, my daughter had a massage and said it was one of the best she had and the ambiance was soothing and spiritual. I went on a lot of long walks around the property and walked underneath the Golden Gate Bridge and down to a marina. I recommend this hotel for people who want to see San Francisco, families who want to enjoy the museum and couples who want to have a romantic getaway. I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: The houses all face in an arc around the property but a few were in the back. If you want a view, m...
See more room tips
Green Features: Definitely environmentally friendly. I think that is something this hotel is known for.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathykatz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalloGM, Guest Relations Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of Cavallo Point. I appreciate your feedback about your stay and will share your compliments about the Healing Arts Center with the management team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon. Best regards, Elizabeth Goodwin Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,364 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing