We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location near San Francisco”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Location!! Sitting at the base of the Golden gate bridge is this outstanding hotel. The restuarant serves delicious food while the spa will leave you feeling so relaxed. We stayed in one of the well appointed historic suites. You would never know how close you are to the city as the property is so well secluded and quiet. The grounds allow you to walk right down to the water to look out into the bay area. We enjoyed our first night here so much that we we changed our travel plans so that we could spend a second night before returning home. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

Where else do you find a magnificent setting, rich with military history, sensitive restoration of 100-year old soldiers' quarters into comfortable green and sustainable accomodations, a vast playground in the Golden Gate National Park, friendly and professional staff, delicious food, plentiful lounging areas inside and out with stunning views of the bridge and San Francisco skyline, a museum, spa, and more? The peaceful setting is perfect for relaxing, exploring, or taking the convenient ferry to San Francisco. Two days weren't enough to see everything. We loved the Cavallo Point Lodge and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieM_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We couldn’t have been more impressed with the accommodations – and the location was stunning. It’s just across the Golden Gate Bridge with wonderful vistas of the bridge and SF. Staff was prepared and professional. We stayed in the traditional restored buildings and only saw the new buildings from below their setting. The bar and restaurant were great. If you need more space for an extended stay then this place will fit the bill with room to spare. We didn’t hear the foghorns over our four night stay. This location is minutes from anywhere you may want to go – Sausalito – Muir Woods – Downtown SF. It’s a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tap_in_par
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Cavallo Point is amazing...and if you haven't visited, you must.

The property is stunning (at the base of the Golden Gate Bridge) and the staff were some of the friendliest I have ever come across. I don't think I was ever told no.

We were here for the fourth of july weekend and had great views of the SF fireworks from the nearby battery.

The rooms are gorgeous; the food in the restaurant is great....and there is even a free hike, which is a must. The whole property is top-notch without being stuffy. And the spa is stunning.

My advice....book a room at Cavallo Point next time you are headed to SF. It is a great getaway. I don't think I will be able to stay in the city ever again, with the oasis of calm that is Cavallo Point nearby.

On a side note..for a dinner off-site, try Poggio in Sausalito (5 min drive away). It was great food in a great environment.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prdomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Just stayed at Cavallo Point Lodge in Sausalito and had one of the best experiences ever! We totally loved this resort. First of all, the setting is absolutely magnificent. Right at the base of the Golden Gate Bridge. And you are right in the middle of the Marin Headlands. We stayed in the new rooms up on the hill. Our view was just magnificent. Our room was absolutely lovely. And we were so happy to stay in a "green" hotel. The ceiling fans really helped and it was so great to have the fireplace as well. The bathroom was so well thought out. The soaking tub was blissful. We brought our dog with us (lots of people do). Upon checking in, he got a goody bag and they sent up a doggy bed and bowls once we were settled in the room. The staff is so friendly and accommodating in every way. We didn't want to leave! We loved hiking into Sausalito in the Headlands. We just didn't have time to use the spa...but that will be the next trip. Dinner at Murray Circle was a treat. And drinks and dinner at Farley's Bar was great as well. Sitting and having breakfast out on the patio and drinks at sunset near the fire pit were all perfect. We can't wait to go back again!

Thank markdmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Great location and view, nice room (contemporary golden gate view) but not very private. Garden staff worked in front of windows when we were in room.
For this price I expect complementary continental breakfast - there were only a few pain au chocolate and old coffee in the lobby. Parking was $20/day - that also seemed excessive. Refrigerator in room didn't work. Resturant and wine list were good.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We just returned from the most relaxing weekend at Cavallo Point Lodge. I can't say enough about it. The views are spectacular. The historic rooms are exquisite. The food is delicious and VERY reasonably priced. However, the biggest surprise was the cooking school. I am NOT a cook, but I had a phenomenal time and learned techniques that I actually will use!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodiesinBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,512 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £349 - £707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing