We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavallo Point
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Inn Above Tide(Sausalito)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Golden Gate(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Motel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Luna Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
686
225
74
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
225
74
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurray circlefarley barthe golden gate bridgefort bakerhistoric roomsmeditation poolmilitary basegolf cartfront porchcooking schoolrocking chairsking suitesan franciscoparade groundofficers quartersdiscovery museumcooking class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
928 - 933 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We were able to book a very last minute (same day) one night stay in room #2002 (Contemporary King Jr. Suite with Golden Gate view) through Perfect Escapes at a discounted price. Received free breakfast for two at the restaurant (anything on the menu-they even paid the tip which I fully expected we would be responsible for).

The parking is kind of weird in that the complex, while spread out, is not really that large. We had to pay $20/night for parking, follow a very nice guy in a cart to a lot who then transferred us and our minimal luggage to the cart to be transported a few hundred feet to the room. If we'd known where the room was we would have walked. The resort staff offer to come pick you up and take you anywhere on the complex at any time for any reason. Nice feature if needed, but we enjoy walking.

We did try to go to the bar/restaurant for dinner around 8pm-no luck-restaurant was booked until 10pm. Could have sat outside the bar, but a little too chilly for my taste, particularly after the short walk over the bluffs to view the battery. Really needed warming up after that.

Ended up ordering room service-food was excellent. Portions are small, but more than enough food. Shared duck and 3 cuts of beef-very tender and very tasty!

The room was very clean-double-sided fireplace, huge bathroom with soaking tub, walk-in shower, double sinks. Beautiful view of the bridge from the porch. Would stay in an upper room next time as sound proofing was not what it should have been for the price of the room. We could hear every footstep from the room above.

Very close to Sausalito with ferry access to San Fransisco (Pier 1 or Pier 41-Fisherman's Wharf), some folks walked/bicycled to the town, though this would be more of a hike than a leisurely walk. Would have liked to stay at the Inn above Tide right in Sausalito, but could not get a room last minute.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

If you like feeling connected to your surroundings, local history and to stay near a world class city, Cavallo Point fits the bill nicely. Each day during our stay, my wife and I found something new to be amazed or interested in at Cavallo Point. It was either deer playfully wandering through the grounds, a new hiking trail through the Marin Headlands, an unique aspect of the Old Fort Baker, or a detail from the staff or room itself. Our entire stay was amazing, and the staff was overly enthusiastic to talk about and show off the amazing property on which Cavallo Point rests. Albeit, the rooms are pricey, but I would say worthy of that price considering the effort and detail put into creating the ultimate in sophisticated travel. The hotel is full of amenities and things to do, which were all great and worthwhile. Again, the prices were steep, but after splurging on our honeymoon, it is easy to see where the extra money goes. Do not let the reviews of the restaurant merge with reviews of the hotel. (Although we thought the food and service was amazing at Murray Circle.) After reading previous reviews that criticized the service at this hotel, I assure you they are much better now. Each employee seemed to be delighted to help us and assure that we were enjoying ourselves at their hotel...I felt that the employees were proud to work there. After visiting, I was proud to have been there! It's a unique spot and well worth a stay for anyone remotely interested in Bay area nature and culture. Even if just for a short stay, I assure you it is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

There is one main issue with Cavallo Point Hotel at Sausalito San Francisco, and that is the lack of attention to detail and the enthusiastic but not very slick service across all aspects of the hotel. Overall the hotel ends up providing a stay that is "fine" but not special. This is such a pity as the location is special and historic (an old army base at the base of the Golden gate bridge in a national park) and has stunning views of both the bridge and across the bay to the city of San Francisco.

The place is slightly surreal and odd, as it is a concerted army base and the old buildings and barracks have been converted into rooms. They are set in a large horseshoe shape around some open ground, with newer (what they call contemporary) buildings built up on the hill. The new buildings look nothing like the old and do not follow the same colours and so looks like a hotel in 2 parts.

The bar (Farley’s) and the Michelin star restaurant are attractive and busy. The food is good. And this seems to be the most successful part of the venture.

There is a good spa, but very expensive and so most people seemed to use it to hang out and use the small heated pool. There is a few buildings down a good sized fitness room with good range of cardio equipment and small weights section.

Our room (we had a king) in the contemporary buildings with good view of the bridge. The decor was quite Swedish like and fine, but not spectacular. It was large though and the bed was comfortable. There was a huge flat screen TV with good range of channels. The bathroom was large.

But overall service was mixed and for example:
- although the hotel was very empty we were put in a room (knowing we had travelled from London) that was next to a suite lounge where a party was booked.
- there were 5 empty beer bottles on our veranda that never were cleaned away, and a dead bird after the 1st day that also did not get cleaned
- no service at all one day
- our key had only been programmed for part of our stay
- they would bring all courses ordered at once And so on.

So just lack of detail. People were enthusiastic and nice, but not so efficient.

I would not recommend this place to friends, as although nice to be just outside the city and quick to get in, it was not special enough for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bembridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

If you are looking for a scenic glass of wine, this is the perfect spot, as the wines are delicious. If you are looking for a warm place out of the fog, don't bother -- the outdoor heat lamps and blankets aren't that effective; better to bring your own hat and parka.
Looking for a normal-sized meal? You won't get that either. $180 dollars and many hours of slow service later, we walked away with hunger pains and zoomed home for a normal meal.
Ideal for: rich people, those not affected by the economic crisis, romantics
Not ideal for: families, people on a budget, people who don't want to starve

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlekatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed several nights in the newer rooms at Cavallo Point and the accommodations were superb.

Cavallo Point has the most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. Waking up to views of the Golden Gate was a real treat. The room was beyond spacious and comfortable. We had no issues with heating (a beautiful fireplace) or cooling (a ceiling fan and windows). I would gladly copy the entire room as my personal studio apartment, that's how great it was.

The location of Cavallo Point offers a pleasant respite to the hectic pace of the city while maintaining a distance close enough that returning back to the city is just a brief ride away.

The restaurant food was delicious (portions are small though).

I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starshine2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews