We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavallo Point is the place to stay in the Bay area if you want to relax, be inspired, enjoy nature and eat great food.”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Nestled in a National Park setting, Cavallo Point is a magical place. It is away from the city, but San Francisco is visible from most rooms at the lodge. The service is excellent - and friendly. It is luxurious, unpretentious and beautiful.

I took my husband to Cavallo for two nights to celebrate his Birthday. We did not leave the site once, yet we were busy all the time relaxing at the Healing Arts Center, hiking on the trails, eating devine food, lounging in our extra comfortable room and taking in Golden Gate Bridge views from our balcony.

I recommend this stunning place for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathiebarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

Hubby and I drove 45 min from our home on the Peninsula for the Ultimate Date Night package at Cavallo Point. Outstanding points about the hotel were the courtesy of all the employees, the stunning location, and the first class restaurant. The room, a historic king, was nice but nothing special. Everything else about the place was awesome. It is the perfect spot for a getaway within the Bay Area. For tourists, it is a very short walk to the Golden Gate Bridge, and a few miles to Sausalito, where you can take a ferry to SF.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Thank you for your generous hearts, and perfection, in every sense of the word. The employees you hire are filled with love, and are anxious to please, as well as being most efficient. Every employee values their guests, and communicated they love where they work (how unusual). Our comtemperary suite overlooked gorgeous landscape AND the Golden Gate Bridge. The air actually smelled healthy!! The decor, colors, bed, linens...actually every detail was exquisite!!! We will return soon, and send others as well. Blessings to all of you!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gammey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We had a great one-night getaway at Cavallo. Everything from the staff to the food to the tastefully done rooms was perfect. Cavallo is very green without being in your face about it. It's perfectly subtle, but also very well done. A perfect spot.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

My husband and I just returned from a trip to San Fran/Napa. We unfortunately only spent 2 nights at Cavallo Point. We were so missing it while staying in Napa as Cavallo Point set a high standard.

The location is so unique and the rooms were wonderful. We stayed in a contemporary room. The rooms are spacious with all the amenities. We loved the fireplace and sitting area. My favorite was the window nook reading area where I spent my early mornings reading a book.

We had a wonderful view of the bay, unfortunately our view of the bridge was blocked by a huge tree (the one time I have wanted to chop a tree down).

We spent an afternoon on the porch of the restaurants where we enjoyed an awesome beer, Hopf, and the best hamburger we have ever had!

I would recommend this location to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 92ncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed two nights in room 1904, situated on the top floor of a contemporary building above and behind other similar buildings and above the former headquarters building and parade grounds. Unit is well appointed having all the amenities spelled out on their web site.
When we arrived to check in we were told our room was not yet available so we went up the hill above the GG bridge to the former gun emplacements to watch the Blue Angels flying their practice runs for the Fleet Week show that Saturday. Finally received a call that our room was ready. Checked in, learned of the $20 per night parking charge, etc. and hopped in a golf cart for our ride to the unit. For guests staying in the contemporary rooms, one either walks or rides in a golf cart to the unit as no cars are allowed since there is no parking near the units. Once I learned of the lack of parking by our building and the convenience of having the valet people provide transportation to/from the room, I felt it was an OK charge.
We had a narrow view of the GG bridge above/between the buildings in front of us but if one were on the first floor of our building, there would be little or no view. The unit had a deck with two chairs so one could enjoy the fresh air and 'view' over a glass of wine (bring your own) from the small refrigerator. Unit is good size with LCD TV, Boze radio system with Ipod hook-up, plenty of lighting, and a fireplace which we enjoyed during the cool evenings. Photos are attached with this review. The only negative about the unit was the bathroom fan would turn on at all hours (apparently programed but no instructions to allow changing the times). The robes and slippers provided were a nice touch. The bed with a Duvet provided us with a sound night's sleep making it difficult to want to get out of bed in the AM.
A late afternoon glass of wine on the front porch of the Murray Circle Restaurant/Farley Bar building was very pleasant as we watched the 'Blues' flying their practive runs. Bar staff was personable and efficient, the wine expensive and the bar menu unique. Ever heard of a Petrale sole stick? I had one and thoroughly enjoyed it. Valet staff was friendly and efficient upon arrival and during our stay. When we called to check out, apparently the front desk didn't tell the Valet of our departure, so we walked down to the reception to check out. Most reception staff friendly and accommodating but one or two could use some customer service training. Morning coffee and muffins are available by reception each morning for guests to enjoy.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank overthehill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My significant other and I traveled to Cavallo Point from San Jose for our 5th anniversary. I was so excited because we found it on the internet and then at work about a month before I saw it written up in Sunset magazine. I could hardly wait. What a delight. Although I grew u in the Bay Area I had never been to Sausiltio. We arrived at the hotel to check it out- impressed immediately. We asked for an early check in which didn't really happen but that was ok b/c we ended up spending much time eating and drinking our way through town. It was beautiful and the people were so so friendly and made up feel like we walked on water. Later we sat in the whirlpool, unfortunately not as hot as a hot tub and we couldn't bring our champagne in, but it was fun. Then we moved on to dinner at the restaurant on site. We had bought a package deal which included a four course tasting menu- we upgraded to an eight course for practically nothing. OMG, probably the best meal I have ever had and the service was spectacular. We are going back soon The smells and views are so great as well. Please go and enjoy this little resort like hotel! Next time we will participate in some of their organized activities (walks, cooking classes, yoga)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaimeSanJose_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,556 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
560 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
475 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £340 - £628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing