We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly peaceful and beautiful-- Cavallo Point is great”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Incredibly peaceful and beautiful-- Cavallo Point is great”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The first thing we experienced at Cavallo Point was the beautiful location of the property and the wonderful architecture of the historical buildings. They really attract one's attention. The gentleman who greeted and directed us upon arrival was extremely pleasant and informative. Everyone we encountered in our 2-day stay at Christmas was exceptionally pleasant and well-informed. They truly do an exceptional job with their guests.

We had a 2-bedroom suite located on the 2nd floor of historic military Officers Quarters that were originally built in 1903, and recently renovated. A lot of the original details are still in place, and the interior has been modernized. Our spacious suite had 2 bedrooms and a living room in between, flat screen TV, fireplace, refrigerator, incredibly comfortable beds, separate shower and bath area, and comfortable seating. Our room overlooked the large meadow around which the historic buildings are located and from the front porch, there is a beautiful view of the city of San Francisco.

A walk to a wonderful viewpoint of the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Bay and the city of San Francisco was just minutes from our room. Many of the rooms at Cavallo Point have views of the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco.

We weren't able to have dinner at Murray Circle restaurant because it was sold out by the time we booked our room, but we did, however, have a wonderful breakfast there the next morning. We were extremely surprised and overjoyed to find an exhibit of original Imogen Cunningham photographs on display in the restaurant.

The spa is exceptionally fine, and has a menu of food and drinks as well.

Another surprise upon returning from a walk was the presence of deer grazing in the large meadow.

We definitely plan on returning and we have heard nothing but good about the newly built accommodations that sit above and behind the large and numerous historic buildings.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalnutCreek_CADoglvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    208
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
193
427
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belvedere, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Cavallo Point was chosen as the destination of our executive retreat and it surpassed all expectations. The property is very unique and is set at the base of the Golden Gate Bridge. The rooms were wonderful, I stayed in a Contemporary King Suite - the views were unbelievable. Our meeting was in a historic building and the set up, service and food and beverage were perfect for an all day meeting.

Farley's Bar and Murray Circle (restaurant) are fabulous. As a local, I already frequent them! The spa is spacious and relaxing and I had one of the best facials ever. I highly recommend this property for business or leisure. I found the staff to be extremely accommodating. They have a wonderful cooking school and I have already signed up for a weekend class.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2009

This is a very special place and should not be missed! I stayed at Cavallo Point Lodge this past weekend, in a Contemporary King Suite. Cavallo Point is unique and lovely, with a welcoming and courteous staff and an exquisite, yet very relaxed, atmosphere and accommodations. The suite was quiet and thoughtfully designed using bamboo and other natural materials, and had a lovely view of the Golden Gate Bridge from the patio and the windows, which filled the room and bathroom with soft natural light during the daytime. The furniture was very comfortable, and there was substantial closet space, a large-screen LCD TV, high-quality bath products, and a great double-sided fireplace. They allow pets and practice environmental sustainability, which is nice because the lodge is located within an actual national park. There were many services I was unfortunately unable to take advantage of due to time constraints, but I did visit the Farley Bar, which is a great place to spend an evening relaxing and enjoying a cocktail and appetizers. I can't wait to go back and see all that I missed and I know I will again feel right at home. This place has so much to offer and the setting is unlike any other - it was a truly blissful experience!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMS401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Nestled in a National Park setting, Cavallo Point is a magical place. It is away from the city, but San Francisco is visible from most rooms at the lodge. The service is excellent - and friendly. It is luxurious, unpretentious and beautiful.

I took my husband to Cavallo for two nights to celebrate his Birthday. We did not leave the site once, yet we were busy all the time relaxing at the Healing Arts Center, hiking on the trails, eating devine food, lounging in our extra comfortable room and taking in Golden Gate Bridge views from our balcony.

I recommend this stunning place for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathiebarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlingame, ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Hubby and I drove 45 min from our home on the Peninsula for the Ultimate Date Night package at Cavallo Point. Outstanding points about the hotel were the courtesy of all the employees, the stunning location, and the first class restaurant. The room, a historic king, was nice but nothing special. Everything else about the place was awesome. It is the perfect spot for a getaway within the Bay Area. For tourists, it is a very short walk to the Golden Gate Bridge, and a few miles to Sausalito, where you can take a ferry to SF.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Thank you for your generous hearts, and perfection, in every sense of the word. The employees you hire are filled with love, and are anxious to please, as well as being most efficient. Every employee values their guests, and communicated they love where they work (how unusual). Our comtemperary suite overlooked gorgeous landscape AND the Golden Gate Bridge. The air actually smelled healthy!! The decor, colors, bed, linens...actually every detail was exquisite!!! We will return soon, and send others as well. Blessings to all of you!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gammey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We had a great one-night getaway at Cavallo. Everything from the staff to the food to the tastefully done rooms was perfect. Cavallo is very green without being in your face about it. It's perfectly subtle, but also very well done. A perfect spot.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,019 reviews
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing