We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't say enough GREAT things” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I can't say enough GREAT things”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We checked in here this past friday and I instantly fell in love. Our dog is welcome with a $75 pet fee. They gave us an awesome treat bag, big fluffy bed and bowls. Our dog has never slept in a dog bed but she did sleep in her dog bed at Cavallo Point. She also had a great time playing in the grassy area behind our room off leash. This hotel made me feel welcome and not like they were trying to milk me for every dime. Our room was awesome and had a mini-fridge with a brita that we kept refilling to have nice cold water plus we were able to keep our own wine chilled. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. I loved staying here but the only thing that has me concerned is I never saw a thermostat. I'm pretty sure there is no AC but being here in late Aug it never broke 60 so I don't know if that is a worry. Our room did have a nice fan over the bed. I think this place is an awesome value for the quality of the rooms, plus the dining onsite is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemsongal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    205
    64
    33
    20
See reviews for
189
423
29
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Just across the Golden Gate from the San Francisco, Cavallo Point feels much farther away. Away from hurrying throngs of people, endless waves of traffic, and all the stressful demands and encroachments of urban life. It’s a place of inspiring natural beauty, superbly restored historical buildings, quiet walking trails, meditative and culinary endeavors and activities, and “forever” views across the Bay and out to the Golden Gate.

When I first decided to stay there, I had a couple of initial contacts that caused a bit of trepidation. I’d called both the Lodge and their restaurant, Murray Circle. Both times the call was answered by someone who was obviously rushed and didn’t sound like they wanted to take the time to respond to my simple questions. I had a sinking feeling and thought “uh, oh--big city attitudes have invaded this place!” However, once we arrived at Cavallo Point and had our car whisked away by a valet, our entire experience was wonderfully relaxed and restorative. We had contacts with numerous staff at the lodge, restaurant, and the valet parking service, and each person was friendly and attentive. We truly felt well cared for.

We stayed in Room #1204 in the Henry House (Bldg. #523) just a short walk up the hill from the reception building. The Henry House was built in 1902, one of a number of houses used for non-commissioned officers’ quarters. It is one of the smaller lodging buildings and has 4 units in it. Ours was upstairs and since the room was one of the least expensive, I was very pleasantly surprised that we had a view of a portion of the Bay and a tower of the Golden Gate Bridge. That was a thrill! The Cavallo Point designers really did a magnificent and creative job at retaining the historical integrity of the houses and skillfully melding them with functional, contemporary amenities. Our room was bright, airy and spacious. The quiet yet powerful ceiling fan did an admirable job of keep the room at a comfortable temperature despite the record-breaking 98 degree temperature! Altho' we had our windows wide open at night to receive the cool breeze, all was tranquil and no disruptive noises were heard.

Our room contained a king bed, 2 leather arm chairs and matching ottoman in a contemporary style, a desk with wooden chair, very spacious walk-in closet, in-room safe, LG flat panel TV above the gas fireplace, mini-refrigerator, coffeemaker, 2 functional vintage radiator heaters, and openable windows (w/o screens that would interfere with the views). Walls had modern fine art photographic images (mostly black and white). The pillow-top mattress was too soft for me, but I imagine most people would have found it comfortable. There was no place to put the coffeemaker except the less-than-ample sink counter. A small table or stand for it would have been much better.

The bath with combination shower/tub was small, but functional. It was a bit awkward to have to walk from the bath which was at the top of the stairwell, into the main room in order to access a basin. The bath would also benefit greatly if it had a mirror. Water pressure and temperature delivered by the plumbing was flawless. Following green environmental practices, body wash, shampoo and conditioner were all in wall-mounted dispensers in the shower. A hairdryer was provided, but no shower cap (which I missed).

Murray Circle restaurant was reminiscent of a fine New England inn where one feels both unhurried and pampered. We ate all 3 meals there. Our dinner was excellent with each dish perfectly prepared and consisting of an artistic and skillful blending of fresh ingredients, sauces and seasonings. Only our breakfast choices were uninspiring and on the bland side. Service during all of our meals was timely and very congenial. The comfortable dining room where we had dinner and lunch is classically beautiful with great attention to historic architectural detail. Dining informally out on the porch for breakfast was such a delight and I think we could have sat there for hours drinking in the views over the Parade Ground and out to the charming red-roofed early 20th Century houses, the blue Bay water and the iconic towers of the Golden Gate Bridge.

A property map including hiking trails is available from the front desk in the reception building. Altho’ our stay was limited, we took time to walk the Drown Rd. trail accessed via the steps adjacent to the Chapel. The road/trail climbs up the hill for magnificent views over the entire Cavallo Point property, and out to the Bay and the Golden Gate. It also takes you thru a lovely stand of towering, stately, old eucalyptus trees. Also, take the stairs up to the Battery Yates--ruins of the WWII gunnery structures, which is accessed from the marina area of Horseshoe Cove. It’s a haunting and intriguing place to visit and photograph. It’s also possible to walk to the town of Sausalito (with ferry access to San Francisco), the Golden Gate pedestrian walkway and the Marin Headlands. If you have the time and energy, there’s no need at all to get into your car while you’re staying at Cavallo Point, a magical place which is truly a retreat, respite and place of renewal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

WE loved Cavallo Point - it is absolutely a beautiful resort - set in the Marin Headlines, we enjoyed our magnificent accomodations, we also enjoyed the staff led hikes. The landscape was exquisite .

The food at the resort was also delicious.

The spa was relaxing

A very special treat - we hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opinioned_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

I was planning on booking a birthday "spa getaway" for myself and friend. Since I'm based in Boston, I had to rely on web reviews for options in the Bay Area. The great reviews of Cavallo Point Lodge & Spa were a huge help and they are spot-on. This place is PHENOMENAL! From the breathtaking view as you drive down from Sausalito or Highway 101, to the casual, relaxed elegance of the accommodations, to the calming but outstanding service, you cannot go wrong at Cavallo Point.

The spa services are primarily based on massage, body treatments, and facials. If you want a "full service" (mani/pedi/hair color, etc.) this is not your place. They put an emphasis on healing and relaxing treatments, and they do it superbly well. My aesthetician, Gayle, did a wonderful job treating my summer-stressed skin! The relaxation pool/area outdoors is bliss!

The reception staff, service staff, and Murray Circle restaurant team are amazing. If I had one criticism, it's that I recommend an "upper level" room if you choose the contemporary buildings. Anyone who is a light sleeper might hear a guest with a heavy footfall, so keep that in mind. However, everything else is simply sublime!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southendgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

This was our second stay at Cavallo Point - a wonderful experience once again. Stayed in a contemporary room this time and loved the view! Dinner at the restaurant was delicious, the service excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lei430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

One of best resort I have staid at in a long time with fantastic staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weftech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We just got back from staying at Cavallo Point. It exceeded our expectations. The location is breathtaking, service is wonderful and no detail is left unturned. We stayed in one of the modern rooms and they were very, very clean, and well appointed. The staff at the hotel was always very nice and they had free tea and coffee every morning in the lobby along with croissants and muffins. Beautiful little art gallery and spa. We will definitely come and stay again.
The only think I think it could use is perhaps another type of cafe/restaurant. The bar room "small plates" were really great, but a nice offering of sandwiches and such would be a nice addition, especially traveling with kids.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newmexico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,808 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing