We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOG HORNES”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The place was great but, the fog horns kept us awake all but 2 hours thru the night. Fog and San Francisco go hand and hand so I guess this was a fair statement. I guess because of just this one problem I would not recommend this place. Sleep is important on vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belvugrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

A wonderful, unique place. The historic character of the buildings and parklike setting give this place a rustic and casual feel, while the service, cuisine and spa amenities give it an air of luxury as well. All guests have unfettered access to the spa amenities including a heated pool, with great views of the Marin hills. And the resort's views of the bridge and skyline are unmatched. Perfect place to relax within minutes of San Francisco and Sausalito, and an easy drive to wine country.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanAtlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This place far exceeded our expectations. We are very conscious about our travel and its impact on the environment, so we decided to try out this LEED AP certified lodge. The Cavallo Lodge is on the pricey side but so worth it. The details that went into the construction of this place is phenomenal. Service was fantastic, rooms are outstanding, and food was excellent. We were fortunate enough to stay in the king's suite with the bridge view...WOW! The room left me speechless. We only wish we had stayed longer to enjoy more of the amenities such as the spa and cooking school. I will definately be back and will recommend this place to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miablee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Everyone knows this place is beautifully located. It's a can't miss property but what it has in beauty, it lacks in service. While everyone is friendly enough, the customer service and management is NOT accommodating. Even the reservationist was robotic and couldn't answer the most basic questions about the rooms or the property.

World class location. Poor service. Get it together!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank OURTREEHOUSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We checked in here this past friday and I instantly fell in love. Our dog is welcome with a $75 pet fee. They gave us an awesome treat bag, big fluffy bed and bowls. Our dog has never slept in a dog bed but she did sleep in her dog bed at Cavallo Point. She also had a great time playing in the grassy area behind our room off leash. This hotel made me feel welcome and not like they were trying to milk me for every dime. Our room was awesome and had a mini-fridge with a brita that we kept refilling to have nice cold water plus we were able to keep our own wine chilled. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. I loved staying here but the only thing that has me concerned is I never saw a thermostat. I'm pretty sure there is no AC but being here in late Aug it never broke 60 so I don't know if that is a worry. Our room did have a nice fan over the bed. I think this place is an awesome value for the quality of the rooms, plus the dining onsite is awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemsongal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Just across the Golden Gate from the San Francisco, Cavallo Point feels much farther away. Away from hurrying throngs of people, endless waves of traffic, and all the stressful demands and encroachments of urban life. It’s a place of inspiring natural beauty, superbly restored historical buildings, quiet walking trails, meditative and culinary endeavors and activities, and “forever” views across the Bay and out to the Golden Gate.

When I first decided to stay there, I had a couple of initial contacts that caused a bit of trepidation. I’d called both the Lodge and their restaurant, Murray Circle. Both times the call was answered by someone who was obviously rushed and didn’t sound like they wanted to take the time to respond to my simple questions. I had a sinking feeling and thought “uh, oh--big city attitudes have invaded this place!” However, once we arrived at Cavallo Point and had our car whisked away by a valet, our entire experience was wonderfully relaxed and restorative. We had contacts with numerous staff at the lodge, restaurant, and the valet parking service, and each person was friendly and attentive. We truly felt well cared for.

We stayed in Room #1204 in the Henry House (Bldg. #523) just a short walk up the hill from the reception building. The Henry House was built in 1902, one of a number of houses used for non-commissioned officers’ quarters. It is one of the smaller lodging buildings and has 4 units in it. Ours was upstairs and since the room was one of the least expensive, I was very pleasantly surprised that we had a view of a portion of the Bay and a tower of the Golden Gate Bridge. That was a thrill! The Cavallo Point designers really did a magnificent and creative job at retaining the historical integrity of the houses and skillfully melding them with functional, contemporary amenities. Our room was bright, airy and spacious. The quiet yet powerful ceiling fan did an admirable job of keep the room at a comfortable temperature despite the record-breaking 98 degree temperature! Altho' we had our windows wide open at night to receive the cool breeze, all was tranquil and no disruptive noises were heard.

Our room contained a king bed, 2 leather arm chairs and matching ottoman in a contemporary style, a desk with wooden chair, very spacious walk-in closet, in-room safe, LG flat panel TV above the gas fireplace, mini-refrigerator, coffeemaker, 2 functional vintage radiator heaters, and openable windows (w/o screens that would interfere with the views). Walls had modern fine art photographic images (mostly black and white). The pillow-top mattress was too soft for me, but I imagine most people would have found it comfortable. There was no place to put the coffeemaker except the less-than-ample sink counter. A small table or stand for it would have been much better.

The bath with combination shower/tub was small, but functional. It was a bit awkward to have to walk from the bath which was at the top of the stairwell, into the main room in order to access a basin. The bath would also benefit greatly if it had a mirror. Water pressure and temperature delivered by the plumbing was flawless. Following green environmental practices, body wash, shampoo and conditioner were all in wall-mounted dispensers in the shower. A hairdryer was provided, but no shower cap (which I missed).

Murray Circle restaurant was reminiscent of a fine New England inn where one feels both unhurried and pampered. We ate all 3 meals there. Our dinner was excellent with each dish perfectly prepared and consisting of an artistic and skillful blending of fresh ingredients, sauces and seasonings. Only our breakfast choices were uninspiring and on the bland side. Service during all of our meals was timely and very congenial. The comfortable dining room where we had dinner and lunch is classically beautiful with great attention to historic architectural detail. Dining informally out on the porch for breakfast was such a delight and I think we could have sat there for hours drinking in the views over the Parade Ground and out to the charming red-roofed early 20th Century houses, the blue Bay water and the iconic towers of the Golden Gate Bridge.

A property map including hiking trails is available from the front desk in the reception building. Altho’ our stay was limited, we took time to walk the Drown Rd. trail accessed via the steps adjacent to the Chapel. The road/trail climbs up the hill for magnificent views over the entire Cavallo Point property, and out to the Bay and the Golden Gate. It also takes you thru a lovely stand of towering, stately, old eucalyptus trees. Also, take the stairs up to the Battery Yates--ruins of the WWII gunnery structures, which is accessed from the marina area of Horseshoe Cove. It’s a haunting and intriguing place to visit and photograph. It’s also possible to walk to the town of Sausalito (with ferry access to San Francisco), the Golden Gate pedestrian walkway and the Marin Headlands. If you have the time and energy, there’s no need at all to get into your car while you’re staying at Cavallo Point, a magical place which is truly a retreat, respite and place of renewal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

WE loved Cavallo Point - it is absolutely a beautiful resort - set in the Marin Headlines, we enjoyed our magnificent accomodations, we also enjoyed the staff led hikes. The landscape was exquisite .

The food at the resort was also delicious.

The spa was relaxing

A very special treat - we hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opinioned_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,589 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
477 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: £351 - £610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing