We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On your deck you feel like you can touch the Bay and SFO skyline”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax County Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“On your deck you feel like you can touch the Bay and SFO skyline”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

No doubt about it, this is THE ONLY place in Sausalito, accomodation wise that is DIRECTLY ON the water. Get a room with a deck and you can sit out there day and night and watch the boats, the liners, the sea planes, the view of San Francisco.

It is NOT cheap, but then nothing good in life is. Don't be expecting ornate rooms or a fancy restaurant or large lobby. This is a cool small Inn. More like a B & B.

Tiny lobby, small breakfast room/den, small parking area and rooms range in size and view depending on price.

IT is perfect for couples that want to CHILL out, walk around town, take a boat ride, take the ferry to San Francisco and come back at night to a calm place.

I would definitely advise NOT taking the cheaper rooms if you really want a deck and great view. IF you are not water buffs or could care less about the view, save your money and don't bother staying here.

There is no real bar, no dining room for dinner, no swimming pool, no concierge floor, no loud groups, not much noise and usually not any children.

We go to Sausalito at least once a year for a night or two, and we have waited YEARS for an Inn like this to come to this tiny town. Yes, at times we wish we could have dinner here or call room service at 2am but that's life.

We have tried quite a few of the rooms and if you can afford it, definitely take a room with a deck and fireplace. Except for July and August, the fireplace is nice at night.

It takes a certain type of person or couple to appreciate this place, the Fairmont, the Ritz Carlton, the Four Seasons, it is not.

The big attraction is you are staying in a cool small town, where you walk to things,looking at one of the most photographed views in the USA, the skyline and waterfront of San Francisco, and your deck is right on the Bay.

Room Tip: The higher priced (best rooms) book up way ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelgoodfoodjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    98
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
70
548
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

From the moment you arrive, every courtesy is extended to you and making your visit relaxing and enjoyable. The accommodation is superb and with a glass fronted balcony overlooking the Bay, Alcatraz and San Francisco its difficult the think of a more delightful location. Rooms are not huge but design is everything and the choice of finishes is exemplary. Breakfast is great - a good selection of high quality items. Walk to the ferry next to the hotel and make an easy and enjoyable trip right into the heart of San Francisco. We were visiting for the second time from the UK - must be good to make around a 6000 mile trip!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateHarrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2011

All i can say is i read a lot of reviews before we picked Inn Above Tide and it was fantastic. We had bad weather, but who cares when you have such a fantastic room. We loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandiegoreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed at the Inn for three night before we left for Calistoga. We can't say enough great things about this place! Our room was spacious and clean, we were in room 201 which was an outside room so we also had two french doors that overlooked the street , a king size bed that was so comfortable,a fireplace, and bathroom to die for ! We had a private deck with chairs & a table and fantastic views of San Fran & Alcatraz . The staff was terrific, David was a doll & couldn't assist you enough! The wine & cheese at 5:00 was nice & the breakfast was great, fresh fruit, scones, quiche, toast...etc. We loved this place, the location was great with nice restuarants and shops within walking distance...We would certainly stay here again! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnnandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The Inn Above Tide is located in a wonderful little town just north of the Golden Gate Bridge. Each room sits directly above the bay with uninterrupted views to Alcatraz and back to San Francisco (they even provide binoculars). The rooms are very modern, with luxury amenities. We were lucky enough to have a Queen Deluxe (room 208) with a deck at the end of the room, a fireplace and a great big bath.
The wine and cheese hour (complimentary) comes as part of your nights stay as does a continental breakfast which you can have delivered to your room.
I would highly recommend The Inn Above Tide as an alternative to staying in the center of San Francisco, especially if you have a car. It's in a great spot, in a lovely town however is close enough to the city itself.
The employees were also lovely, thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderlusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

This might have been the priciest hotel in Sausalito, not sure? However, it is the only hotel on the water on the San Fran Bay and the view is spectacular. The room was very small with very little storage space for your clothes. It was well appointed with plush bedding, stereo for your ipod, gorgeous bathroom, etc. The deck was small but the view made up for it. Can't say enough about the staff. They just couldn't do enough for you. Everyday they had a continental breakfast set out downstairs and a wine and cheese set up in the afternoon. We travel a lot and this will be high on my list of places I have visited and stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islasusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This was my 3rd time staying here. I stayed with my husband for our wedding anniversary. I live in Marin, but I wanted to do something special, but still close to home. We reserved the 'Tidal Suite', it was beyond fantastic! I had an in house massage, which was great, I was able to lay and relax, listening to the waves, the sun was setting and I was able to watch it as I was having my massage. Then we had Spencer go out and pick up our dinner from a local restaurant. He also helped us get the fireplace going. We had a great night, the staff were wonderful, the room was wonderful, the morning breakfast was great. They have the BEST orange juice! I can't wait till I get another reason to pamper myself at The Inn Above Tide! Thanks to everyone there, that made our stay special.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailama23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
955 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Property: The Inn Above Tide
Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing