We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Views, Excellent Amenities”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had already booked a hotel for our anniversary trip to the Bay Area when I happened upon the site for Inn Above Tide. Even though their online reservations showed no availability for the time of our trip, I sent an e-mail stating how much I wanted to stay on the water in Sausalito and their beautiful Inn looked like a dream location. The next day, I received a response that there was an opening for exactly the room we wanted with not just one balcony, but two. We were ecstatic that the staff at Inn Above Tide made our anniversary trip even more special. On arrival we were even more pleased when we found a chilled bottle of wine, a rose, and note for our anniversary.

I normally am not that excited about hotels since we tend to stay in select B&Bs and sometimes nice hotels. But this Inn was exquisite for our anniversary trip. The ambiance upon entering is that of a small, European boutique hotel with excellent, friendly front desk service. There is a parking fee of approximately $18 daily for parking in a lot across from the hotel. But our rental car was valeted quickly every day for our trek to Sonoma, Muir Woods and Monterey and Carmel.

There is a small but pleasant dining area on the main level with views of the bay where an expanded Continental breakfast including fresh fruit, quiche, pastries, boiled eggs, bagels, cerals, hot tea, coffee, juice, is available every morning if you choose not to have it delivered to your room. There is also a complimentary wine and cheese reception from 5 to 7 pm in the evening. There are spa services available and the concierge is readily available to arrange tickets to events and restaurant reservations.

The 29 rooms and suites are small and intimate, but fully packed with every amenity imaginable, including their wonderful McRoskey Airflex beds handmade in the Bay area, beautifully appointed baths with Bvlgari bath products, plush robes and slippers (the slippers you can take home with you), remote fireplaces and flat screen tvs with over 800 movies available to check out at the front desk, a safe and honor bar, turn down service with chocolates, fresh gardenia flower in the bathroom every day, not to mention the extraordinary views from the balcony of Bay, Angel Island and San Francisco.

Inn Above Tide is within walking distance of everything wonderful in Sausalito -- the ferry is just outside the front door, along with some wonderful restaurants, Angelinos for great Italian and Scomas for waterfront dining and seafood. Sausalito galleries and shopping or strolling along the marina of the Sausalito Yacht Club is still within a mile of Inn Above Tide.

Even though Inn Above Tide was more expensive lodging than we were planning for this trip, Inn Above Tide was worth every penny and will remain at the top of my list of favorite low key, but posh and comfortable Inns with subperb service, and the one of the few that I want to make return visits any time I am in the Bay Area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaustin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

This place is top notch. As soon as you walk in you smell the Bvlgari White that permeates through the Inn and see the bay. Absolutely picture perfect views from every room of my city by the bay. The bed in breakfast is fresh and flavorful. There are so many great restaurants near by. Our favorite is Horizons; formerly The Trident. A very international area with tourists from all over the globe. Cute shops. But the Inn itself is super fantastic!!!

Room Tip: You can't miss unless you want a balcony. All rooms have ocean views although some have no balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanjayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My pickiest girlfriend recommended this hotel and so did all the reviewers of Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed! Lovely room with fireplace and excellent view of San Francisco. It's not a cheap hotel but it provides a wonderful vibe, great location right next to ferry and restaurants, free bikes, great valet service, delicious breakfast and helpful/friendly staff. Small and intimate and you feel like you are a million miles away from San Francisco. I would definitely return here and would stay for much longer than 3 days next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodlandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Need to adjust your price listing up, but, at whatever price, it is the best. The views over the bay are incomparable, the amenities luxurious, and the staff friendly and helpful. you are right next door to the Ferry landing, so getting to SF is a breeze. Location in "downtown" Sausalito is in walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: All the room are lovely, but it is worth it to get the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We just returned from five days at one of the best places we've ever stayed - The Inn Above Tide in Sausalito. This trip was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and we couldn't have made a better choice.

First, there is the location, literally right ON the water. We stayed in Room 101, first floor, first room. The view from our patio covered all of San Francisco, Alcatraz, the Bay Bridge, and more. STUNNING! You'll want to spend a lot of time there. We recommend you bring a warm sweater or jacket. Even in August the morning and evening fog and wind make it
chilly. Of course, you can enjoy the view from inside, sitting by your wood-burning
fireplace.

Regarding location, the hotel is centrally located to shopping and restaurants in town.

Second, the service is outstanding. Every hotel employee we encountered was friendly, helpful, and efficient. Roman, at the front desk, was especially helpful, and all the Valera were so great we didn't care about the parking fee.

The complimentary breakfast and evening wine and cheese were far better than what you generally receive. Breakfast included quiche, quality pastries, wonderful fruit, hard boiled eggs - healthy and delicious. The wine was decent quality and the cheese included Brie,
blue cheese, and smoked Gouda. You may choose to have breakfast delivered to you room for a small fee, or eat in the comfortable Day Room.

The only complaint we had was the minimal storage for a 5 day stay. It would have been fine for a weekend, but with only an armoire (no dresser with drawers), we had to keep
many things in our suitcase. Not an insurmountable problem, but a minor irritation.

If you are considering a visit to Marin County, we could not recommend The Inn Above Tide more highly!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TustinTraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Another visit to the Inn and we have yet to have any problems. The location (on San Francisco Bay) is ideal and breakfast in the morning, wine/cheese in the evening and internet access are included. The nearby parking lot has changed its rules, but the Inn still provides substantial discounts. If your plan is to explore the North Bay region, this is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at the inn above tide for 2 nights on our California road trip. This hotel was simply fabulous. We have no quibbles about the entire set up. From the minute we arrived every member of staff was helpful and smiling, changing money into smaller bills was not a problem, and the valet parking worked perfectly. The room itself was on the second floor and the balcony overlooked the bay, with the bay bridge and the SF skyline to the right and angel island directly in front. The sun came up above the island, which we could view from laying in bed. We had breakfast, which is complimentary, bought to our room for a cost of $3. there was 2 bottles of complimentary water in the room, which was refreshed the following day and when we checked out the receptionist gave us 2 bottles for the journey. The location is perfect for the shops and restaurants, even the ferry to SF is only 2minutes away. The view of the ferries when they came in or left does not deter from the view across the bay at all. In fact the ferries, yachts, canoeists and seals gives you something else to look at! Overall this stop on our journeys was one we will never forget

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guitar_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
1,007 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,367 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,174 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £192 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing