We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet and stunning!”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sweet and stunning!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is not the kind of place we would normally stay - choosing luxurious hotels is more our kind of thing. However we took a chance and I am so glad we did.

As soon as the taxi pulled up outside I was hooked! It is located outside of San Fran, in a town called Sausalito. This town is stunning and quaint, with lots of lovely shops, cafes and restaurants, but it is worth noting, it is a 20min cab ride / ferry ride into the centre of San Fran. We didn't mind this, as it was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle and really feel like you are away from it all at the end of the day. Plus the ferry is right next door so it is very easy to use (and they are pretty frequent).

We had a room with a balcony. It was too cold to sit out (it was february after all!) but the view was lovely - we even saw sea lions twice! We could also see Alcatraz and the golden gate bridge.

Whilst a bit on the small side, the room was furnished well, with a fire place and very comfy bed. We also had a great basket of food goodies to choose from (at an extra cost) which was a nice take on a traditional mini bar. The bathroom was fab with a wonderful power shower and HUGE bath.

Breakfast was included, and you can choose to eat in the room downstairs or have it delivered to your room. We didn't do either as we were up early most mornings, and the room downstairs was deathly silent and felt a bit like a library! (it was out of season and mid week, so it was very quiet).

The service we had during our 3 night stay was wonderful - they couldn't do enough for us on the reception desk, and the hotel offered lots of nice little extra touches (umbrellas at the doorway, bicycles to borrow, fab bath products etc).

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to feel like you have really got away from it all and wanting a nice cosy place to stay. Value for money was excellent. The only down sides were the size of the bedroom (they do offer larger rooms so you may want to look into that) and the noise from the ferry next door. We are early risers anyway so it wasn't an issue for us, but if you like to lay in you may need to think twice! If you also want to be at the heart of San Fran, then this also isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: Look into the larger rooms and also go for the balcony. All rooms have great views but the balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    97
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
544
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had a really lovely stay at the Inn Above Tide this past weekend. When the weather is nice (which it was), you just can't beat the view from your room overlooking the bay and SF. The service is exceptional and the rooms are beautiful and clean. We would recommend staying on the third floor (top floor) as it seemed to be the most private (we could look down on the second floor patio but no one could see us). Breakfast was delicious as was the wine and cheese hour in the evening. The location is in the heart of Sausalito and minutes away from great hikes in muir woods/mt. tam. We are SF locals, and were thrilled with our very local getaway. The Inn offers a 20% locals discount Sun - Thurs.

One thing to keep in mind (and we were not aware of this), but apparently once in a while there is a herring run where ships are a bit too close to the hotel with their nets trying to catch the herring. It was a bit loud (since you are right on the water with your little balcony, it seems like they are literally in your room) and threw us off a little but still the overall stay was quite wonderful.

The $18 valet parking is well worth it.

Room Tip: Top floor or a bigger room with private patio. Definitely get the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hopping
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Waterfront rooms with balconies, very attentive service (personal, not too formal or stuffy, but professional), perfect Sausalito location - overall a great balance for a SF visit or a local escape.

Unlike our normal, more exploratory trips, the purpose of our stay was to enjoy the room, the hotel and remain very local. This is a great place for that. They make it easy to stay in and watch movies with their free DVD collection in the lobby, and a whopping $3 room delivery charge for an unusually good breakfast (you just check off the things you want - the granola with yogurt and fruit is good - croissants were good too - fresh coffee - but nothing hot like eggs or pancakes ... fine for us). The free afternoon wine and cheese was great too. There was a little living room area and we even chatted with some other guests. Very nice.

We had some fog with the fireplace and the water... wow ... just gorgeous.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalconsigliari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The Inn Above Tide is a small gem hidden next to the ferry pier in Sausalito. Rooms are overlooking the bay. The view from the balcony alone is worth the cost. From the balcony one can see Alcatraz, the panorama of San Francisco, the bay bridge, the Angel Island, and an incredible sun rise each morning. The hotel offers a very generous continental breakfast included in the price and afternoon wine and cheese. The hotel is located in the heart of Sausalito in close proximity to all restaurants and shopping as well as public transport into San Francisco and other areas. This is an incredibly romantic hotel, some rooms have fire places. Everything in the room is of best quality. Rooms are equipped with a dvd player, sound system, and alarm clock radio where an ipod can be connected. The ambiance and quality of this place is so amazing that I can't imagine anyone not wanting to stay here over and over.

Room Tip: balcony and fireplace are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra_Polka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This hotel does not disappoint when it comes to the view. I have stayed here on 3-4 different occasions and each room has a spectacular view of SF, Alcatraz and the bay. If you like the hustle and bustle of the city then this place may not be for you since it is a smaller little town. I think Sausalito prides itself on NOT having that big city feeling. As does this hotel. They give you a feeling of a more personalized stay. The rooms are a bit small but as like most people on vacation, we did not spend much time in the room. When we were in the room we found it relaxing and comfortable. They also have bicycles for you to ride around the area during your stay which was a nice little bonus.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I absolutely adore this hotel....we found this hideaway located right on San Francisco Bay which is located in Marin County, right on the other side of the Golden Gate Bridge on the north side. It is a small boutique hotel catering to your needs starting with the lovely soft music paying throughout the suite upon entering. The views are spectacular of SF and the nearby Angel Island (you can take a ferry over there to go hiking) or take the ferry which picks you up right outside this little gem.
The pillows are overstuffed goose down and the linens beautiful. Simply divine to relax, take in the view and very romantic. While a bit on the pricey side, good value for the money solely for the location. No restaurant here for dinner but there are several in the area, walking distance and even a bit north on the 101 freeway in Corte Madera or even in San Rafael. But you will need a car to get to some of them. The hotel does have a wonderful continental breakfast set up in the morning as you luxuriate over our coffee and muffins looking at the view...very small hotel but if it is a special occasion just let them know before hand. There are many hotels in this area, but if you are going to SF, without a doubt, check this sparkly gem of a hotel out....trust me, you'll really think that you discovered heaven. Absolutely gorgeous!!

Room Tip: Look at booking a dinner yourself either at Angelinos (across the street) or even in Tiburon, Mill V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south lake tahoe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I never wanted to leave the room. Sitting in bed, watching kayakers go by, listening to seagulls. Oh, but we did leave -- breakfast and wine -- not at the same time, of course!, are served downstairs. We rode bikes from the inn across the Golden Gate Bridge. They have bikes for free if you don't bring your own. What a way to recharge my batteries with the one I love.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tahoelocal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Property: The Inn Above Tide
Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing