We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sausalito Botique Property”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife and ended our trip up the Northern California coast on Hwy 1 with a one night stay in this fairly small botique hotel. We completely enjoyed it. Please note, this is a small botique and you will not have the facilities of a large metropolitan hotel.

What you will have is very good friendly service, decor that truely fits its seaside enviornment, a wonderful complimentary wine and cheeze buffet in the early evening, and THE BEST views of San Francisco Bay and the San Francisco skyline that you can possibly imagine. We really, really found it romantic to sit outside on the lanai of our room and enjoy the lapping of the water only a few feet below and gaze at the awe inspiring views of the Bay Bridge and that great city.

If you want to do Sausalito on foot, you could not ask for a better location. Though RIGHT in the middle of town, all the rooms face the ocean and so it is very quiet ('cept when the Ferry from SFO arrives, but that is no big deal and is actually interesting).

The interior decor of the rooms is very California trendy. Not all rooms have fireplaces but ours did and we used is all during the late evening.

Only quibble is the rooms are a tad small for the price but all the rooms have a lanai which really is part of the room and provides much of the value.

We would return on future trips to No. Cal. Incidently, if you've never taken the trip up Hwy 1 it is among the most beautiful coast line drives you can possibly imagine. We go to Hawaii a lot and the No. CA coast is as beautiful and in many ways even more dramatic. Plan on spending a whole day to get from San Francisco to say Mendocino (a great place to do a couple of days in a B and B) with lots of view point stops along the way and perhaps a stroll through a redwood forest. A fantastic trip but be prepared for windy, and we do mean windy, roads. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Unless its summer, get one with a fireplace if you can afford it. It's just lovely to sit in be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Inn Above Tide offers a wonderful side trip from your busy San Francisco itinerary. All rooms face the water. The rooms are beautiful. Service outstanding. The buffet breakfast can be brought to your room for $3...well worth the extra charge as you can eat looking out over the water. Great for one or two nights. You can walk to most restaurants for evening dining. Bike rentals provided complimentary from hotel. Most rooms have gas fireplace, top of the line in all accessories. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aloha000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Relaxing and restful boutique hotel conviently located to downtown Sausalito. Stayed 3 nights in a queen bed with gas fireplace and a patio overlooking the San Fran skyline! Watched harbor seals, birds, and sailboats from the patio. Continental breakfast was above average with lots of fresh fruit and fresh OJ. Really enjoyed the free bike rentals, wine n cheese and in/out valet. No problem with noise from the ferry, but could hear neighbors above us, however overall quiet clientele. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank jopheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Two nights in Sausalito, we six friends occupied four rooms. We were welcomed with a complimentary split of champagne. All our rooms had terraces that looked out to the San Francisco skyline. One room with a queen sized bed and fireplace (priced higher) and the others with king sized beds (no fireplace.) All were exquisitely furnished, offering pay minibar and snacks, free wifi, a generous complimentary breakfast bar and at cocktail hour, wine with cheese, fruit and snacks. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Located steps from the ferry, we hopped the first crossing to San Francisco at 8:10am. Arriving at the ferry building, we took cabs to Union Square to shop. On the return, we hopped a city bus for $2.00 which took us right back to the ferry building where we had dinner. We stayed in the city all day and returned on the last ferry at 7:55pm. Just a quick thirty minutes. Coming back to the Inn Above Tide was like returning to an oasis of calm after a full day in San Francisco. The Inn Above Tide may now become my new San Francisco hideaway!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron56Tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed here two nights while visiting Sonoma & Napa Valley. My family had two rooms - one king and one queen. When I made the reservation, I was told we would get the (ONE) room with two queen beds, but when we got there it was not available. When I asked about it and said I was told we could have it, I was told they never guarantee it (even though I was told we could have it). So, three of us slept in the king size bed. To be fair, they did offer a rollaway bed. But, there was no room to set it up in the room, so we declined it. Other than that, I felt the rooms were average, but they were clean and the view of the bay from the deck was awesome. Even though it was a little windy, we sat out there a lot. Spencer was very friendly and gave us good suggestions for dinner. They have complimentary wine and cheese reception every evening from 5-7. Continental breakfast, which was average. Room for reception and breakfast was very small. Overall, great view, but room was average.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Small with a bed and breakfast feel to it. Rooms are airy and very clean - MUST HAVE balcony when booking - the best view of bay and San Francisco. Would definately stay there again!
They have complimentary wine and cheese service from 5-7pm everyday. Breakfast is amazing - continental but the breads come fresh from bakery, amazing fruits, and organic yogurts. For $3 they will deliver breakfast to your room so you can enjoy it while wearing comfy robes and enjoying the view on your balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texas2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have stayed at The Inn Above Tide several times. It is always our "go to" place when staying in the San Fransisco area and never disappoints. I was pleasantly surprised to see that our room was an updated version of the one our last visit here. Very nicely decorated and up to date. The linens are scrumptious and the bed faces the water. The rooms here have such a quirky, fun configuration, in my opinion. Not your usual hotel room, by any means. The entire focus is on the view .... as it should be! There are very few places where one feels like one is sitting right on top of the water, and to see the skyline of San Fransisco across the bay, is an added plus! We were able to nab a room, even though occupancy was high for the nights we wanted to stay .... and got one of the smaller, queen rooms. It was still adequate and suited our purpose beautifully without feeling cluttered, which is important to me. There were plenty of places to 'stash' our belongings so that they were not in the way.

There are many 'touches' in the room that are helpful in making one feel at home .... a fresh gardenia in the bathroom, light switches where they are needed, a desk, a mini fridge and honors bar with snacks available for purchase, yummy robes, complimentary slippers, binoculars for seal, bird, or people watching, magazines and books, thick and plentiful towels, turndown service with chocolates, complimentary bottled water, wi-fi. And ... the deck .... even though small, there was plenty of room for two chairs and a table from which to enjoy the gorgeous view. I love the way that, even though I knew we were NOT there alone, we had a feeling of privacy on our deck.

The breakfast is way better than most at hotels that offer "Continental breakfast". Plenty of fresh fruits, cheeses, pastries, quiche, fresh juice, hard boiled eggs, cereals .... just about anything one would want. There is the offer of room service and that is made very easy, if that is what one desires. The coffee is excellent, too, and quite easy to obtain should one want it in the room. We enjoyed the evening wine and cheese, as well, opting to take it to our room to enjoy on the deck since the weather was so spectacular while we were there.

Probably my only complaint, and this is pretty consistent with our other visits, is that the people manning the front desk could be friendlier and more welcoming. Smiles go a long way as do the words, "How can I help you?" More than a few times when I walked up to the desk I was greeted with a blank look and no words. This is not to be taken as including the bellmen, though. We found them delightful, friendly, very eager to please and help, and very appreciative that we were staying at their hotel. Also, the young man who worked at night, the same thing. It was always nice to see him smile from behind the desk and to chat with him, and he was very helpful.

There were two things that we did on this stay that we had not done before. One was to take the bikes, which are complimentary and first come first serve, and ride to the Golden Gate Bridge .... and across and back. It was a beautiful day and quite an experience! The bellman was wonderful to get the bikes set up for us, give us some water for the road, advise us on how to navigate the area, and then to take care of the bikes when we returned. The other thing we enjoyed so much was experiencing a ferry ride across the bay .... getting off at Fisherman's Wharf. We were able to experience some of San Fransisco by foot before heading back on the ferry when we were finished. Again, the beautiful weather made this a real treat and loads of fun. The folks at Inn Above Tide were real helpful in making sure we knew where to go, how to purchase our tickets, etc.

As far as restaurants, we really enjoyed lunch outside at The Trident and dinner at Poggio and Angelino. All three of the restaurants are excellent. Totally different experiences, but quite fun with delicious food, not to mention the advantage of being able to get there by foot.

I highly recommend The Inn Above Tide for a unique and fun way to visit the San Fransisco area. Sausalito is such a great location with interesting shops, people, and restaurants. And the hotel has so many amenities and advantages that it is definitely worth the price of a room.

Room Tip: Book a room early! It fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skmadkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
1,007 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,322 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,382 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £193 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing