We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic getaway on the bay”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway on the bay”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I first saw the Inn Above Tide last May when I visited Sausalito and thought to myself "wow, that looks like an beautiful place for a romantic getaway." Being single i wasn't sure when I'd get the chance to go. Wellll, I recently got to go with my girlfriend and it was even better than expected from start to finish. I surprised her with a Queen room with a fireplace and bay view balcony.
The experience was first-rate from reservation to check-out. All the staff were extremely professional and friendly. The room itself was immaculate and getting to see the bay at day's end before joining friends for dinner was very special.
She/we also loved the soaking tub. May have been the biggest tub ever - huge!
The continental breakfast the next morning was well beyond most at comparable inns in both breadth and quality; pastries, oatmeal, fruit, yogurts, and a number of drinks available.
It's a bit of a splurge and worth way more. We'll definitely return and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    97
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
544
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked this hotel for the last three nights of our special Canada / US trip for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was a bit pricy, but after 25 years, I felt I had earned it. It was absolutely fantastic and worth every penny / dollar! The staff were attentive and very helpful, valet parking worked well. Our room was overlooking the bay, a wonderful haven after a busy two weeks. The continental breakfast was delicious, the wine and cheese happy hour was fantastic, not least5 because it was free. Details like binoculars in the room and the Bulgaria toiletries were great. We hadn't realised when we booked that it was the start of the America's Cup, watching that from our balcony was a real bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A bit on the pricier side but it definitely exceeded our expectations.
Everything about the hotel is just perfect.
Probably the best hotel to stay while visiting San Francisco.
Excellent view of bay from the room.

Room Tip: Every room has a bay view, which is the best feature of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveenmvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We arrived mid afternoon and checked into room 205, after a warm welcome from the hotel staff. The weather was cool, but warm in the sunshine so we headed straight out onto the balcony to admire the most fantastic view of the bay. Binoculars are provided to give you a closer look at the sights, such as Alcatraz, the city skyline and the odd passing sea lion! The hotel is right next to the ferry terminal which gets you to the city in 30 minutes.

The rooms are immaculate and cosy, with a seating area opposite a fire which can be turned on by the flick of a switch on chilly evenings. The hotel does not have a restaurant but provides breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot drinks and wine and cheese reception in the evening. The breakfast buffet in particular was a fantastic offering with fresh fruits, cereals, scrumptious pastries and hot drinks provided. Like most guests, we would take this up to our room and enjoy whilst taking in the view.

Sausalito really is the most beautiful place and it is hard to imagine somewhere so peaceful and relaxing could be situated so close to the hustle and bustle of the city. It felt very safe and friendly and we enjoyed walking around. There is also a good mixture of shops, cafes and restaurants to enjoy. As well as visiting the city we would recommend visiting nearby Muir Woods and Beach if you have a hire car.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to The Inn Above Tide and would most definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseygirlEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
410 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We were delighted to find (though not expecting) our room was ready when we arrived a bit early. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and the higher the room the smaller the balcony - ours barely fit two chairs, but we sat for hours watching life on the bay. At night we loved the enchanted view of the two Bay Bridge spans lit like a long string of pearls. The instant switch on fireplace was certainly appreciated during the chilly night.

The standard king room was comfortable, but small. Same for the bathroom with a single sink and walk in shower, but it met all our needs. The wine/cheese in the evening and the breakfast in the morning were both of excellent quality, ample, and beautifully presented. There is only valet parking, but our car was quickly available when needed.

The entire staff took pride in the work and wanted to be sure we were happy with our stay. Since the inn is located in the middle of town you can walk to all the boutiques, galleries and restaurants. The Ferry Terminal to San Francisco is next door.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a beautiful hotel to stay in.
We arrived quite late, (10.30pm) after flying in from Vancouver, we were greeted politely and professionally. We have five children and all were starving! (naturally!!!)The hotel manager quickly called the only restaurant that was still open, ascertained that the kitchen would be closing shortly, so he asked them to wait for us to arrive. It was a very short walk and he showed us the way.
The hotel's out look is stunning, looking out over the water, our room was lovely, bathroom gorgeous, nice spa bath too.
We had breakfast in the little sitting room (it is little, but you can have your breakfast taken to your room). The hotel supplies a continental breakfast, which is more than enough. Beautiful pastry's croissant's, fresh fruit, yoghurt etc.
It is very easy to walk out the door and catch a ferry into the heart of the city, and as i said walk to restaurants. The only thing we did find is that all of the restaurants in the area seemed to close quite early. As our kids are older kids 16-22, we didn't particularly want to eat too early.
I am extremely fussy about beds and pillows. I actually always travel with my own pillow, (which has seen better days!). The beds were really comfortable and even though i had my old faithful pillow, OMG, fell in love with the hotel pillows! They are massive, but really flat. Just perfect in my opinion! So much so, that i enquired about purchasing a couple.
One of the wonderful staff, "Mark", organised the pillows for me to buy, as they are only sold to businesses. He also arranged shipping to Australia, (we had a ridiculous amount of luggage after skiing in Whistler, so couldn't fit the pillows in). Thank you Mark, much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

On previous day trips to Sausalito, I had noticed the beautiful location and ambiance of The Inn Above Tide and vowed that my hubby and I would stay there for our anniversary "someday". Year number 27 rolled around, and it became a reality. It exceeded our expectations! Anniversary champagne and a white rose upon arrival, really wonderful breakfasts and evening wine hours. An easy walk or bike ride (compliments of the Inn) to anywhere in town. A great recommendation by employee Kate for a private personalized tour with Joe Cohen of San Francisco Private Tours. Binoculars in the room. Seals, birds, boats, sunrises. The view. The view alone was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hapahaolegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Property: The Inn Above Tide
Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing