We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous View!”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2008

The Inn Above Tide is tucked away from the busy touristy main street of Sausalito. It is really surprising that you could feel so secluded and yet be a stone's throw from the ferry landing and right next to the shops. All rooms have the most spectacular views of the Bay. When we arrived our room was ready (just a few minutes earlier than normal check in) . We went down for complimentary wine and cheese (very nice) and also had the complimentary breakfast delivered to our room so we could sit on our balcony. There is no doublt this is a special place to stay and the price will inhibit some from the experience. Our compromise was to spend the first three nights in San Francisco and then rent a car and drive out to Sausalito and stay at the Inn for our last night. By renting a car in the city and dropping off at the airport we saved parking in the city (which can be quite pricey and ground transportation back to the airport). Valet parking is a must - I think it was only $18/nt which is a deal. The drive back to the airport took 45 minutes; cost $6 for the Golden Gate toll on the way back (no toll going to Sausalito).
The night we stayed at the Inn unfortunately there was a terrible fire on Angel Island which is visible from the Inn. The sky was lit up throughout the night and in the morning we watched the helicopters and water bombers. It appeared that by mid morning the fire fighters had the major blazes controlled.

So splurge - do one night out here!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatronomicDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed at the Inn Above Tide....one of our favorite hotels during our 2 week coast vacation. We would come back to Sausalito just to stay here again. We were delighted to find out that they gave us a corner room as a "Congrats" for our 25th anniversary. This is the room to get....it had views of the entire San Fran Bay plus Sausalito! Check in was perfect....valet handed us 2 bottles of water....took our car...took our luggage and showed us to our room with a tour of the grounds. Our room was unbelieveable. The king size bed overlooks the water and the Bay area. The room was a little on the small size but it was setup where you had plenty of room for luggage and to walk around. There was also a little sitting area at the bottom of the bed with the view. There's a fireplace and an awesome television that can be viewed while in bed, sitting area or while out on the balcony....my husband was in heaven!!! We also had a bottle of champagne on ice with 2 glasses waiting for us. The bathroom was...wow! The shower was huge and the water came out of the side wall....so cool! They had a gardenia floating in water by the sink area. OK....I was impressed! The comfort of the bed was unimaginable....supposedly they are custom made in San Fran. The cleanliness was impeccable! Loved, Loved this room. The staff was very polite and courteous. Read some reviews that they were stand offish....not at all!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

we booked a room and when we arrived it was a completely a disappointment, it was the size of a half of a normal motel 6 room, very rude and arrogant employees, not nice at all

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank travelpolices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed what the hotel offered. Our room was excellent and with an amazing view of San Francisco Bay from the bed. Our room also had a fire making it very cosy. Each evening, complementary cheese and wine was served between 5-7pm. A complementary continental breakfast of a very high standard was served each morning. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

A truly wonderful experience and a place we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GuinnieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

A wonderful experience ! The "Inn Above Tide" was our last stop in a 3 week travel through California and Nevada.
We were lucky, we had little fog so could enjoy spectacular views of San Francisco and Alcatraz. The rooms are not very large but very confortable. The beds are amazing: we all slept very well.
The staff is very friendly and accomodating.
Room service is impeccable !
We took the ferry to San Francisco when we wanted to visit the city and returned to the quiet setting of the Inn in the late afternoon to enjoy our cheese and wine.
There where seals swimming under our balcony.

Next time we come back to San Francisco, this would definetely be our place to stay !

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ErkaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

I really liked this place! This boutique-style hotel sits right on the water in the middle of town. Some rooms are spacious, but the standard and deluxe rooms are small, yet pretty. We had a king deluxe fireplace room. Our small, but lovely room had a very comfortable king bed, one comfortable chair, a desk and chair, and a small closet. The flat-screened tv was attached to a shelving unit next to the fireplace. The bathroom was attractive with a large shower/tub combination. All the rooms face spectacular views. Most have a balcony. Sail boats, seals, Angel Island, and San Francisco are the sites you from the balcony. Because our room was on the third floor, our bacony was one of the most private. (When we were on our balcony, we could see other guests in their bathrobes and hear their conversations, but they could not see us.) Ask for room 308 if you are getting a king deluxe with fireplace. (small room with a nice balcony) The continental breakfast was very good. You have the choice of having breakfast in the drawing room or having it delivered. We had it delivered. It was wonderful. There is also an afternoon wine and cheese service.

The valet and housekeeping staff were very friendly. But, I found several of the front desk staff members to be efficient, yet impersonal. (Roland and another gentlemen were nice.)

I would definitely go back to this hotel. The views and location make up for the few shortcomings.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VacationingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Perfect Stay, beautiful rooms, beautiful views.
Great private breakfast on the balkony.

Sausalito is a great town so near to San Francisco.
We had a great dinner at the italian place near the hotel: Poggio's

The only donwside, in the 3 days we were in San Francisco we didn't see much of the town...

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SamBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,014 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
560 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £193 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing