We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View and location are the draw here”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“View and location are the draw here”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here recently celebrating our anniversary and it was a most enjoyable visit. The room was very nice but certainly not luxurious. The high end prices are clearly for location and view - and both are excellent. The balcony is wonderful - and we enjoyed it by drinking champagne - a gift from the hotel - before noon (they were also lovely about letting us in our room early). We enjoyed the balcony until the sun had moved on, at which point it became too cold (June) to sit outside. The town was not besieged with tourists yet, so we had a nice time meandering around. The wine and cheese hour was overrated in the reviews we read - it was nice, but very ordinary overall. Breakfast, however, was lovely - a very nice spread for guests. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a perfect location if you want to be on the water and right downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoomerBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    98
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
70
548
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. I love San Francisco, but unless I have to stay in the city for business reasons, will never stay at any other hotel when in the Bay-area PERIOD.

This is a beautiful, boutique hotel that sits on the edge, and in some cases juts out over the water, of the San Francisco Bay. Most relaxing stay I've ever had in any hotel -- ever.

Let's start with the location. Right next to the San Francisco Bay Ferry, in the heart of Sausalito. Shops and restaurants galore all around the hotel. The only negative, is that Sausalito gets crowded on the weekends, and the tourists tend to congregate around the ferry-area, so if you don't care for crowds, avoid weekends, if possible.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and spotlessly. You can lay in bed and look out at the Bay and watch the boats drift by.

In the afternoon, complementary wine and appetizers are served to hotel guests, and several great restaurants are within a short five-minute walk. (I suggest Scoma's for fine dining and great seafood.)

Coffee and complimentary newspapers/magazines are available any time in the guest lounge.

For breakfast, pay the $3 extra to have your complimentary breakfast brought to your room. The quiche was good, as were the croissants and other sweet rolls. Fresh fruit was also served along with coffee and real cream. Excellent. What could be better than to eat breakfast, sitting on the private deck of your room watching the seals swim in the water just below your balcony?

Extraordinary location, beautiful views (with the thoughtfully provided binoculars in your room), and great service!

The only negative (other than the weekend crowds -- which is no fault of the hotel) is the two-day stay requirement and the parking. This prime location has few parking spaces, and all parking is valet (at the cost of $18 for unlimited in/out privileges). If the hotel staff is busy helping other guests, you might have to wait a few minutes for your car. Gladly paid the price, and will return to this lovely hotel the next time I'm in the Bay-area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixRising88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Unfortunately we could only stay on night at the Inn above the tide. But we will return. From check in to check out it was perfect. We had a wonderful room with a view of San Francisco. The room was small but adequate. The staff was very nice and the location was wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Their website gives you the info you need to decide which room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this small, boutique hotel located right on the water in Sausalito. The hotel is an oasis of calm in busy Sausalito, steps from the ferry to San Francisco and a five minute drive from the Golden Gate Bridge. Its proximity to the Marin Headlands and Sonoma and Napa is a plus. We reserved two queen deluxe rooms for our family: both had a balcony overlooking the water with a view of Berkeley, San Francisco and the Bay Bridge. We saw sea lions off our balcony! The decor is understated and elegant; the baths are luxurious and spotless. The price of the room includes breakfast and wine and cheese in the late afternoon/ early evening. Both are generous, varied and delicious. Staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is quite expensive but good value given the location, beauty and inclusion of breakfast and pre-dinner wine with cheese and fruit. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Sausalito built directly over the waters of the bay. The service from the staff was very good and the rooms small but elegant and comfortable. It is quite expensive but has provided wonderful memories of our stay in the San Francisco area. The ferry to downtown San Francisco and the Port Building is right nearby. It was fun to take a walk along the marina to look at the beautiful yachts and find some lovely Restaurants to have lunch in. I would not recommend staying in Sausalito on the weekends in Summer though, as the crowds increase markedly and it becomes overrun with bike riders and tourists. Go in the off season and during the week for a more restful stay. Book a trip to the Napa Valley for an enjoyable day visiting the vineyards for winetastings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony overlooking the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highflyer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

After struggling finding a suitable hotel in SF we decided to look for hotels in Sausalito. We decided to go 'all in' and choose #1 hotel on TA, and what a good decision!

We booked four nights in their room with two queen beds (3rd floor). The room has no terrace but a magnificent view (like all other rooms in the hotel). The standard of the room was indeed 5 stars worthy with e.g. nice beds, large pillows, safe, fantastic bathroom, free news paper, daily 'tips from the hotel' and then it was clean.

There is valet parking and the daily rate is $18. Please note that your car will probably be parked in the public parking next to the hotel, but we had no problem with that. The staff was very nice and helpful.

In the morning there is a very nice complimentary breakfast buffet (see picture) and if you like you can bring your breakfast to your room on a tray. The breakfast area is a bit special i.e. with different ways of seating. Not optimal when you are a family, but okay if you are a couple.

In the evening there is complimentary wine and cheese. Very nice.

You can also borrow bikes from the hotel if you like to see the town on two wheels.

The hotel is located right next to the ferry. There are two options when going to SF i.e. to Fishermans Wharf or to SF Ferry Terminal (Blue Line). The latter is the cheapest and quickest line (30 min.).

Finally, there are several restaurants in the area. Please read some of the reviews on TA for inspiration.

If you find this review useful please let me know (below).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was wonderful. We arrived late in the afternoon a bit hungry & there was a nice wine & cheese spread available. We got our plate & went out to our wonderful balcony & enjoyed the refreshments. Our room was small but we didn't care it had everything we needed & was tastefully decorated in subtle colors (great large pillows - perfect for propping up and taking in the view!). The bathroom was very clean and modern. Best of all was the terrific balcony with a view of the city and Alcatraz. Our bellboy told us we would see seals if we kept looking. We didn't see any in the afternoon but as soon as I woke up and looked outside there they were. So much fun watching them with the binoculars provided. We were on the ferry side of the hotel which I thought would bother me but still being on eastern time the 7 am start time was after I was awake. They stop early at night 7 or 8 pm. The breakfast provided was very nice. The pastries were extremely good especially the cinnamon bun. I meant to ask where they purchased them! This hotel has a very special feel to it. It is one of my favorites and I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
955 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Property: The Inn Above Tide
Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing