We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A yearly habit...”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I've hesitated writing this review because I really want to be able to get a room here in the future. That said, basic rooms are small, balconies close together. This is the place you want to spend the extra money on. Get the bigger room, get the private balcony with hedges on both sides. If you won't be in your room much and a room doesn't matter much to you then by all means, go with the smaller room or just stay in the city. But...this a hotel you want to plan on enjoying. We spent the majority of our day lounging on the balcony, watching the ferry come and drinking rose. Skip the expensive dinner if you've blown your budget on the room and hit the deli across the street for a moveable feast and a million dollar view of the city. Service is across the board excellent.
If you must go out, ask the front desk where the very casual fish place is on the water about a mile away (331 fish) the best fish and chips we've had EVER plus great grilled fish/chowder salads. Outside picnic tables, order at the register kind of place. Good beer/wine selection. Walkable if athletic. Stop at the market by the fish place and get staples (impressive wine section) call a taxi for the ride back ($5 bucks). Think hedonistic...and enjoy. Lucky Europeans, enjoy that euro while it lasts!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank californialovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed at the Inn above Tide for four nights at Christmas as a getaway holiday from Arizona. Our room was perfect - large and a very nice deck directly over the water. Some rooms have fireplaces - ours did not. The room was quite large and the bed was superbly comfortable with several types of pillows to choose from. It's literally a one-minute walk to the ferry to San Francisco. The front desk personnel were very helpful and as friendly as could be imagined. The buffet breakfast is from 7 am to 10 am, served in the small sitting room. Plenty of fruit and excellent muesli and yogurt. The same room is used for complementary cheese and wine every evening from 5 pm to 7 pm. The cheeses were quite good and the wine was OK (one red and one white). You can take breakfast or wine and cheese back to your room. We did that one day when it was sunny and warm enough to sit on the deck. They will also bring your breakfast to the room although we chose to just go and get it. It's a short walk to several excellent restaurants and to all the interesting Sausalito shops.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank saratojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

my husband decided to have our honeymoon in my town before i moved to Peru with him. we could not have chosen a more wonderful, restful way to spend our honeymoon! our view was of the entire city, yet we were in a tiny town away from the hustle of the city. it was an oasis, with the waves lapping the side of the building, a fireplace in the room, an incredible view, great healthy breakfast, spacious bedroom and bathroom, gracious staff - and a great wine hour with yummy cheeses. i would highly recommend this place. it exceeds the price that you pay!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank myheartinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2008

From the moment we booked our stay at the Inn Above Tide in Sausalito, I had a great feeling with the friendly voice on the other side of the line.

I have to say, I noticed this hotel property 2 years ago and hadn't had the opportunity to stay until now.

We arrived and were delighted from the moment we approached.

What a charming, beautifully done boutique hotel.

I have to say... one of the best I've visited and with the best view in the Bay Area.

The valet is amazing, the staff incredible, and our room delightful.

We booked a King Deluxe Room which includes a balcony but no fireplace.

I actually took a bath this morning in the generous tub... It was fabulous!!

The bed and pillows were so phenomenal I slept like I was in heaven.

The only minor complaint I would have is that the host who checked us in could have been a bit friendlier.

There's really nothing more exciting than arriving to see a friendly face and she was not... and for a business in the business of hospitality, this young woman could use some lessons.

The others at the desk during our stay have been fabulous so this comment was purely aimed at this particular individual.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The purveyors have done a phenomenal job and this definitely gets my vote of approval.

Keep up the great service and ambience.

I can tell you.. we will be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jetset7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights work in September 2008. We were greeted by Joe who helped us with our bags, and then by Roland who checked us in at the front desk. Joe and Roland were simply outstanding, and went above and beyond in helping us. I wanted to know about a particular store in Sausalito, Roland looked it up and wrote out all the information with phone number and hours, called them herself to see if they were open, and sent all the information to our rooms. Joe was on for extra shifts while we were there, and he was energetic and seemed to really care about his work and the people staying there - in fact, all the staff were excellent (we just had more interactions with Joe and Roland).

As others are saying, the breakfasts were generous, and the wine and cheese events at night were wonderful. It was a nice atmosphere, and each night we shared a table with other guests. Joe was happy to bring a bottle of wine to your room if you preferred to relax there.

The rooms were impeccably clean, it was a great location near many nice restaurants and galleries. The ferry to San Francisco was amazingly convenient. This is by far our favorite boutique hotel and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Just spent a beautiful weekend in Sausalito. A few things that you should be aware of that were not mentioned in previous reviews regarding this hotel. Other than the breakfast that comes with your stay, there is no room service by the hotel. There is another company that will pick up and deliver from area restaurants. This is OK, but never seems to be the same as room service on-site. Plus, the additional fees that this company charges amounts to about $25 without gratuity for the driver. Also, there is $18 charged to park your car in a private gravel courtyard with trees that covered our car in sap. Other than that, our king deluxe room with fireplace was very nice. Room rate was over $600 per night with taxes. Our room was also a little too close to the front desk for my comfort. Our door was less than 10 feet from the actual front desk! But the staff were very courteous and friendly. Would I stay there again?? Probably not...at $600+ per night, there are a lot of other weekend getaways I would consider first.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Southpawfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

The Inn Above Tide is tucked away from the busy touristy main street of Sausalito. It is really surprising that you could feel so secluded and yet be a stone's throw from the ferry landing and right next to the shops. All rooms have the most spectacular views of the Bay. When we arrived our room was ready (just a few minutes earlier than normal check in) . We went down for complimentary wine and cheese (very nice) and also had the complimentary breakfast delivered to our room so we could sit on our balcony. There is no doublt this is a special place to stay and the price will inhibit some from the experience. Our compromise was to spend the first three nights in San Francisco and then rent a car and drive out to Sausalito and stay at the Inn for our last night. By renting a car in the city and dropping off at the airport we saved parking in the city (which can be quite pricey and ground transportation back to the airport). Valet parking is a must - I think it was only $18/nt which is a deal. The drive back to the airport took 45 minutes; cost $6 for the Golden Gate toll on the way back (no toll going to Sausalito).
The night we stayed at the Inn unfortunately there was a terrible fire on Angel Island which is visible from the Inn. The sky was lit up throughout the night and in the morning we watched the helicopters and water bombers. It appeared that by mid morning the fire fighters had the major blazes controlled.

So splurge - do one night out here!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatronomicDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,015 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,561 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
562 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: £191 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing