We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Convenient, Courteous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, Convenient, Courteous”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Large spacious rooms beautifully appointed, friendly atmosphere with gracious host Michael, and convenience to local attractions make this Inn a wonderful spot on a CA coast vacation. We traveled with our extended family of five fifty+ yr olds and two twenty years olds and it was LOVED by all. The continental breakfast was just right for morning and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was outtanding. Michael's cheese selection lived up to the rave reviews of other guests. It was a delightful 5 minute walk to the waterfront, ferries, shops and restaurants. It was also close to the Marin Headlands which was an unexpected highlight with the Marine Mammal Center (rescue hospital) and beautifl scenery of the Golden Gate Bridge. Thank you Michael for the recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLBPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    76
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
198
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The Gables Inn inSausalito was llike striking gold. We are from Naples, Florida and we were stopping at hotels along Ridgeway Street looking for accomodations. Many of them were old with a million steps and a lingering moldy odor, We took a right turn on Princess Street in search of our hotel and saw the sign for The Gables Inn,We were greeted by the most gracious Halie, who was a wealth of information about the hotel and the area. The spotless rooms were spacious and many had fireplaces.Breakfast and evening wine and cheese gave us an opportunity to meet fellow travellers. Our one night stay ended up becoming three nights. Give it a try you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naldiliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We just left yesterday and I already miss the Gables Inn. When we arrived I couldn't believe the location; we were 1/2 block from the water, shopping and restaurants. At first sight parking looked to be challenging as the small lot was full, but we were quickly directed to a garage (not a parking garage, but a real garage) right behind the Inn which proved to be very convenient to the side entrance we used throughout our stay.
The room...WOW! We stayed in The Sequoya Room. Nice, comfortable king bed with beautiful view of San Francisco. Living area with full size couch and porch with French doors. Nice bar area with small fridge. And, last but not least, the bathroom which I found to be one of the nicest I have seen. It had marble floors, large tub with jets and rain shower head.
The whole room was very clean! I loved the little touches like a box of Kleenex in evey room. Doesn't seem like a big deal, but just shows the thought that went into the room.
I will also say that I found it very easy to get over to the city by car. The ferry schedule didn't meet our needs this time of year, but I manage to drive over and mde it just fine.
Needless to say, this was a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Reservations were made thru Booking.com with no problems. We stayed there for just one night in three rooms. Very, very pleasant: Nice rooms, excellent location and very friendly staff. Possibility of having a charming breakfast in private terrace overlooking the Bay. Even free wi-fi . Cozy & Classy. You wound't regret my advise.
Jorge from Argentina. Stayed 2/18/11. with family.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The Gables Inn is a small, well run and very well located hotel in Sausalito. Its rooms are tastefully and uniquely furnished. The Gables is situated some 50 yards off the main street and is only a 5 minute walk from the ferry boat which takes you to the heart of San Francisco in less than 35 minutes. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful and if you require it they will assist you when you are planning your day. The room rates include a buffet breakfast and also, at 5.30pm each day, cocktails and savouries. This provides a relaxing event at which you can swap tourist stories over a glass of wine. The Gables provides a great base for exploring San Francisco, the wine country (Napa) or the National Park in Marin County.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiltoniaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

It was nice, but not what I expected for the price. The pictures on the website are spot on. What they don't show is that the outside terrace is worn and without furniture, the door threshold and window jambs are unfinished, the sink drain stopper is missing, the carpet just ends at the walls but not in a finished manner. The bed is comfortable, the room is clean, the whirlpool bath is a treat and the location is a short walk from the main tourist shops and eateries. My partner had called ahead to request roses and champagne be delivered to the room before we arrived. It was not there, and when the innkeeper brought it up 30minutes later she used her room key thinking we were out...but we were not! In the public areas downstairs, the hardwood floor looks lovely, but the sound of our footsteps seemed to intrude in the silence of the building. The parking area is tight; luckily the narrow road was not busy so we just backed into the street to drive away. When it was time to depart mid-morning, there was no one in attendance at the counter for a full 15 minutes. We were going on to meet the Napa wine train so we ended up just leaving and called on the drive to let them know we had left.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Life_at_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My wife and I recently celebrated our 30th Anniversary at The Gables Inn, and we wanted it to be a special time where we could enjoy the beauty of the Bay area (we live in NC) without being swallowed up by the noisiness of a big city. Sausalito ended up being just what the doctor ordered, and The Gables Inn was absolutely perfect in almost every way possible.
#1, the service was superb, from the caring and conscientious owners (who were involved on a daily basis), to each of the staff responsible for food service, room service, front desk, or the concierge function. We were made to feel like royalty with every interaction.
#2, the value of what we paid for and what we received in terms of comfort, ambiance, convenience and enjoyment was easily 5 star experience - far beyond our expectations. The breakfast each morning was delicious, healthy, and plentiful in variety and abundance. The wine and cheese hour each night was equally wonderful, something we looked forward to more and more during our one week stay - a chance to have casual yet meaningful conversation with staff and guests.
#3, the location of the Inn was ideal, literally a 45 second walk down to the quaint shops of Sausalito, which included numerous quality restaurants overlooking the Bay Bridge/SF skyline/Golden Gate Bridge, and a 3 minute walk to the dock to catch the ferry ride over to San Francisco (which we had seen on the internet as being voted the 2nd most beautiful ferry ride in the world, second only to one in Hong Kong). Plus it is such easy access to the wine country, as well as either San Francisco or Oakland (we went to a Warriors game one night).
#4, our room was spacious (the Redwood), the fireplace in the room (and in the lobby) was a welcome warmth in the mornings and evenings, and the balcony leading from the lobby to our room was lined with flowering bushes and potted plants in bloom (in January!). It was romantic and inspiring.
The only thing that we would have changed about our entire stay was the bed size. My wife and I sleep in a King Size bed at home, but the budget we had to work with did not allow us to stay in one of the rooms with a King - but we were still able to sleep soundly on the pillow-soft-yet-firm-enough queen size bed.
Overall, we would stay at The Gables Inn again, in a heartbeat - and would recommend it to any family, friend or loved one without hesitation!
So THANK YOU, DANIEL AND MICHELLE and STAFF, for helping make our 30th Anniversary getaway so unforgettably memorable!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjumpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,448 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Property: The Gables Inn Sausalito
Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing