We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Marin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This place is a must. I love the way you can see the bay in almost every room. From bed or bathtub. Each room is unique, everyroom updated, They had wine and cheese at night and fresh fruit and coffee for breakfast. Walk out the door and you are on main street by the water.
There staff are so nice and helpful to everyone. I loved staying here and would stay no other place! I can't wait to stay here again....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monamoonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    75
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
197
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, GB
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our previous stay was in September 2009, and we couldn’t wait to go back, having booked the same room – the Lilac room. We love this inn, but this time had a few small niggles; nit-picking you may say, but they need to be addressed by an establishment of this quality. The Lilac room is still, obviously, a lovely, spacious room, but this time it showed signs of wear and tear. The pretty white duvet cover was very crumbled and had a small rip in it, the once fluffy white towels were thin and one had a 3 inch tear (why bother putting it out ? or folding it to hide the rip?), the comfortable chair was faded and a bit grubby, and scuff marks on the bed base, and walls. Little things admittedly, but when you’ve previously experienced a perfect room, it’s noticeable.

It would be a good idea to put a brief fact sheet in the room – how to use to the TV, heating, and an emergency contact number etc (that number is posted outside the front door, but should be in the room too). Maybe there usually is a fact sheet, but ours was missing? We arrived jet lagged and had to drag the poor lady from reception to show us how to get more than one channel on the TV, eventually another guest was also drafted in and they found the correct remote control, hidden behind the phone (not with the other 2 handsets in the TV console).

Breakfast was great, lots of choice – selection of things to toast, pastries, cereals, yoghurts, energy bars, big platter of fresh fruit. All lovely.

In summary, we love the Gables Inn, we will return but the management just need to keep an eye on the fine details.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Excellent service, heavenly rooms, Beautiful views! I love the attention to detail at this adorable Inn. Fresh fruit & pastries welcome you in the morning and an elegant wine & cheese hour primes you for the great San Fran night life. A "must" for any traveler with high expectations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casbah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon and it was a great place to stay not far from San Francisco. We stayed at The Gables during the beginning and end of our trip. Our first night we stayed in a room off of the back porch. The room was small, but I enjoyed reading on the porch before breakfast and the privacy.

Our second night was in the Willow room, which is upstairs with an extra comfy king-sized bed, fireplace, and excellent skyline view. So romantic looking at the city lights at night, I recommend it for any couple!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRubyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Great accommodations in a fantastic location. This was quite a beautiful house and set up like a hotel but still a feel like home. Just a short walk to the Ferry ride. Sissy was our evening hostess and was extremely friendly and accommodating. The really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed.

Room Tip:  We stayed in Sycamore room. Clean, comfortable and offering a feel of home It was simply perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendedi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were so surprised to see the incredible view when we checked in to our room. We opened the curtains to see the moon's reflection in the bay with San Francisco skyline in the background. Gorgeous. The inn is so convenient to all the shops and restaurants. There are many stairs which is a little tricky with all the luggage. The staff was available to help at check in. No one was there for check out on a Friday morning at 7:30...& no breakfast that morning as promised. The room was nice and comfortable. It was extremely hot though. We had to open the windows and use a fan in order to sleep.

Room Tip: The Adler had a great views and is large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Seldom have we had such a wonderful experience that far exceeded our expectations. The charm of the Gables Inn was apparent the minute we stepped in the front door and saw the fireplace, comfy furniture, and overall ambience of the area where wine and cheese can be enjoyed each evening. The manager, Michael, could not have been more gracious. Our spacious room upstairs had a view of SF, Angel Island and Tiburon. The room had a warm and comfortable feeling. A variety of excellent cheeses, crackers and wine were presented in an attractive buffet later that day. Michael explained each cheese, which all turned out to be delicious. The fireplace and pleasant conversations with other guests rounded out the evening. The breakfast buffet in the morning was also attractively laid out with a wonderful variety of fruits, pastries, cereals, etc. that were far better than one usually expects. We will definitely stay here the next time we go to the Bay Area. The Gables Inn is a winner by any measure.

Room Tip: Room 301 was ours. The other two up there also looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,365 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
460 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Property: The Gables Inn Sausalito
Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing