We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming and relaxing”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Last minute reservation, as it was full everywhere else. And we're very happy we got it, not because it's all there was, but because of the Inn itself. It's not a B&B: it's not a "hotel." It is more of what it is called - an inn. There are only about a dozen or fewer rooms, each different. We had one that was likely on the smaller side of what they offer - the Laurel Room - but it was large enough for all our needs.

Comfortable queen bed, large pedestal sink (not my favorite fixture, but fine), huge bathroom with large jet tub. Could have used a set of drawers and a full length mirror, but that's small negatives, particularly for long stays, which ours wasn't. Since it's a downstairs room in a 150 year old wooden building, you do get noise from the upstairs.

But any of these negatives were outweighed by the positives. It's off the main loud tourist street, so you don't get the noise and hubbub, but it's a mere half block away. It's a quaint old historic structure with enough updating to make it fit for a modern traveler. The wine, cheese, fruit in the evening was wonderful. The more than continental breakfast pleased everyone.

The staff were all friendly and accommodating of everything. The lobby/wine/breakfast area is comfortable and charming. It gives one the feeling of a small European inn. We want to go back in the winter when they have a fire in the lobby fireplace, just to sit around on the couches reading and sipping wine....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Director4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    75
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
197
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We live local (San Francisco) but needed to stay overnight in Sausalito to go to an event, I left wishing we could have stayed longer. What a great location right on Princess Street and just one half block from the waterfront. Once we settled into our room I walked just around the corner to the italian deli for some meats and cheeses and a little wine. Enjoyed a snack on our own little porch with a great table for two. The room was very spacious as well as the bathroom. As you walk aound you will find a lot of great little touches throughtout the small, quaint and precious property. Not overly fou-fou like some of the other hotels in town, but just the perfect amount to make you feel special. I would highly reccomnd the Gable Inn to anyone looking for a great place to stay for a romantic getaway. Now that I am thinking about it this would be a great girls weekend getaway location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petalumachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was our second visit to the Gables Inn. Our first was three years ago on our honeymoon and we were headed back to celebrate our anniversary. Once the staff heard it was our anniversary we had champagne and a wonderful candle waiting for us in our room. The evening reception has wonderful cheese and wine and the continental breakfast has something for everyone. Great location, very helpful staff when we needed directions and dinner reservations! We stayed in the Lilac room which had a great jacuzzi tub and double french doors out on to the balcony. Lovely place!

Room Tip: We've stayed in both the Willow and Lilac rooms. Both are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A fabulous inn in Sausalito!! The owners did a wonderful job of renovating an old hotel, and were able to keep the old-world charm. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and extremely clean. Nice complimentary wine and cheese in the lobby in the evening, and a great continental breakfast with many options. The employees were warm, friendly, and helpful. The location is superb allowing for an easy walk to the many restaurants and shops. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed in The Gables Inn while hiking through Marin County. Our room was spacious and very pretty. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese in the lobby. We were within steps of the main street by the water in Sausalito, so we had many restaurant and shopping choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Replevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
275 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We've been to SF several times and took day trips to Sausalito. This trip was an anniversary occasion and we chose The Gables based on Trip Advisor. It was perfedt in every way.

Our flight from Boston was delayed several hours but upon arrival, Michael greated us with wine and cheese buffet. A perfect end to a long day - so appreciated. And it just got better - Charles was a great morning host - thank you! And Sissy - thank you!

We booked the Lilac Room,, 303 and it was perfect. A huge room with fireplace, large screen TV, king bed with lovely linens, large bath. Our private balcony was wonderful - views of the bay area.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We chose Room 303 - Lilac Room - private balcony and views of the bay - defiitelay worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaTravelerOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This bed and breakfast is great so ideally located for all shopping, restaurants and the ocean. It was built in 1800's it's rooms are all large have private patios my room the Cedar room had a fireplace, sitting area, very nice large plasma HD tv, lovely French doors. The breakfast is continental but it is full of fresh fruit and good healthy foods. They have wine and appetizers in the evening. The hosts are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
460 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Property: The Gables Inn Sausalito
Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing