We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables Inn Sausalito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Quaint and quiet is the best way to describe Gables Inn. A wonderful, delicious continental breakfast starts each day, and a superb assortent of cheeses and wine closes out the day. The location was perfect, just far enough up Princess Street to escape the throngs of tourists, but close enough to walk to everything. The Aveda skin and hair products that are provided in the bathroom, and replenished each day by housekeeping, are a nice perk and the hot (and I mean HOT!) water from the rainwater shower head is great. To add to the Bay Area mystique, a fog horn can be heard moaning its haunting warning in the distance, not enough to be irriatating, but just enough to be seductive. The only words of warning I have is because it's a B&B, be prepared to hike a bit with suitcase in tow down some stairs and up some more, depending where your room is located. Also, for you TA male readers, be warned. A motion sensor light switch in the bathroom works so well that during a midnight pitstop the light turned off while I was in midstream, forcing me to multitask between finishing the task at hand (no pun intended) and doing a Michael Jackson break dance to create motion to get the light back on:-).
The Gables Inn comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 205. Bed sheets and linens were exceptional, and the framed photosmof "old" Sa...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Milestogetthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    74
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
55
189
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yankalilla, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at gables inn for four nights. Although we didn't opt for a room with a view the Inn is an excellent B&B. super breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon what more could you want. Great location, thankfully not too far up Princess St. Very comfortable bed and large bathroom. Very clean. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Because of being jerked around by the airlines, we did not get to check in until after 11pm. Which means we appreciated the chilled bottle of champagne and oversized jacuzzi even more. After a hot bath, we enjoyed champagne on the balcony and took in the lights from the San Francisco skyline and Bay Bridge. The next morning we walked around Sausalito a bit. The front desk staff was very helpful in helping us find a local market for essentials. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast and then had to be on our way. If we are fortunate enough to return to the area, we would definitely stay in the Lilac Room at the Gables Inn Sausalito again!

Room Tip: The Lilac Room has a two person jacuzzi, a large shower, and a balcony that extends the length of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights. Got a spacious room on the ground floor. It was fine until people started talking very loudly in the lobby. We could hear everything from the room (and it wasn't the cheapest one), so we had to say good bye to late mornings since the breakfast was served in the lobby. The staff was very friendly and nice, good service and good breakfast.

A bit of a downer was to have to actually pay 20 bucks a night for parking. Nowhere during our 2 week trip had we to pay for the parking.

All in all the place was good, but we might choose something different next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Not all rooms have a view so choose carefully. Descriptions and pics can be deceiving as well. You get the room you what you pay for here, but service is excellent no matter what price you pay. Parking lot has extra small spaces, so if you have a big SUV be warned. HOWEVER, great staff, comfy room, great breakfast and location. Go to Fish restaurant and The New Mexican, celebrity chef, for comfort food and fun scene.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnighti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Although business takes me to San Francisco each winter, I have found a marvelous refuge from the hubbub of the city in Sausalito. The Gables Inn, and its marvelous host, Michael, and hostess, Michelle, provides a classy, peaceful, and pleasant place to retreat from the rigors of the day. Unique in that each room is different, the Gables Inn is also close to marvelous attractions, including Muir Woods and Angel Island. Because we've discovered this delightful retreat, my wife and I actually look forward to my west coast obligations each year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

This Inn has the amenities of a high end hotel but the quaintness of a B & B. We stayed in room 206 which had a fireplace and a large bay window with a fantastic view of the bay and the city. The location was superb within walking distance of many shops and restaurants and a nice little park. The Inn provides wine, cheese and fruit in the evening and breakfast. The room had a refrigerator and snacks were in the room for a small fee. Aveda toiletries were provided and the towels were very thick, plush. The bathroom had a combo whirlpool tub/shower and good counter space. Women will appreciate the high quality hair dryer. The room had very comfortable bed, sofa, dining table, and large flat screen TV. Highly recommend .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Property: The Gables Inn Sausalito
Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing