We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cavallo Point(Sausalito)
US$581
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$553
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
US$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$511
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
HI Marin Headlands Hostel(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waters Edge Hotel(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lodge at Tiburon(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
211
79
23
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
79
23
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesemagnolia roomsan franciscoyogurtfew minutes walkon site parkingthere is no air conditioningother guestsspacious roomthe main dragbay bridgeper daytwo nightseach eveningmuir woodslate afternoonmichael
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We've visited the Bay area on long weekends a number of times and have found that we prefer staying in Sausalito to staying in "The City." When we were unable to book at our "regular" hotel we booked a room at The Gables for three nights. At just over $200/night + $20/parking we found this small inn to be an excellent value in a terrific location. Our comfortable room was located down a short flight of stairs from the reception area. It was nicely furnished with a large Jacuzzi tub/shower, a very comfortable bed and a large flat screen television. Bridge Street shops and restaurants were just a short walk away. We especially appreciated the breakfast with fresh pastries, breads, fruits, yogurt, juices, coffee, etc. The friendly and knowledgeable staff was very helpful with directions to area points of interest and restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 103, the Laurel Room. The windows were closed (its getting cool) and we had no problems with street noise that others have reported. We'd happily stay in this room again.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Triaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in the Lilac Room in October (What an amazing tub this one has) plus a lovely view of the city and it was a very quiet room, too! We loved the ambiance of this place, including the wine and cheese hours where we met other guests and the very substantial breakfast (lots of fruit, yogurts, baked goods...anything except fresh cooked things but really, there is plenty to choose from). The main room is darling and most of all, the people are warm and welcoming. Plus, of course, you just walk down the short hill and you are in the village of Sausalito. Try to walk so you can avoid the challenge of parking in Sausalito. We highly recommend the Gables Inn!

Room Tip: Lilac Room was nice and quiet because it is in the part of the building that does not directly overlook Bridgeway. Nice King bed, good quality. And oh, that tub! Heavenly.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newport-Ronni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Gables Inn is in a great location, convenient to the harbor, restaurants and shops in the downtown area. We chose to stay in the Bay Room, one of their top (most expensive) rooms. The room was large and the view was good (see photos) although marred by wires (phone/electric?) that crossed the view in the foreground. The website photo of the room is accurate, but we did find some things we were unhappy with.
When we arrived the waste basket had not been emptied and there were someone's leftover snacks in the refrigerator. The bathroom window was open and would not close - the frame was broken (you could see the rotted wood on the bottom). The management obviously knew about this, but in speaking with three different people, each brushed it off with "you know this is a very old building". On our second day there it was "repaired" - closed so that it could not be opened until they got around to replacing the window frame. (They told us they would be doing that and asked if it was OK that we would be unable to open the window.) There is a daily parking fee. I was aware of this from my conformation letter although upon arrival I was told that it was $20 per day. I said that my letter (and the info in the room) quoted $15 per day. They said that it had increased in March. After I protested I was given the $15 rate.

On the positive side, as I first mentioned, the location is terrific. The breakfast and afternoon wine & cheese were very good. (No hot items for breakfast, but a good selection of fruits, yogurts, delicious pastries, etc.) Our bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

All in all, I doubt that we would return. While this lovely old historic Sausalito building has a lot to offer, given the cost of the rooms, it needs some more TLC.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a great deal of stair climbing if you choose one of the more expensive "view" rooms since the Inn is actually two separate buildings connected by a courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B-RTravelers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is situated on a side street in "downtown" Sausalito. It couldn't be more convenient. Staff is courteous and very ready to help with advise for restaurants, sightseeing, etc. The hotel is set up more like a small condominium with two attached buildings and a courtyard in between. There is on site parking for $20 per day charge.
We had one of the smaller rooms with a king bed and large sofa bed in the adjoining living room. Two TV's, one a huge flat screen. Linens were good quality. Toiletries by Aveno. Rooms were tastefully done in light colored fabrics. Large jetted tub with nice shower. A shelf above the pedestal sink would have solved the awkwardness of where to put your things. They offer complementary wine (one red and one white) with a nice assortment of cheese and olives from 5:30 to 7:30 in the evening. There is continental breakfast in the morning with cereal, pastry and fruit. No hot dishes. The place is not cheap at $300 on up, but not at all out of line for the area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillyshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in the Gables Inn for the first night of our recent road trip around California. We were greated by the nicest of receptionists (a young lady, sorry i have forgotten her name) i have ever come accross. She made us feel so welcome and even kept the wine and cheese behind for us as we had arrived just as it was finishing.
We stayed in a wonderful room over looking the bay with a balcony which we took full advantage of whilst sipping our wine and enjoying our first night in America.
The facilities and service at the hotel are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble for anyone that we came accross.
We will certainly go back and would recommend anyone that is going through Sausalito stay at this lovely sleepy inn.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on the upper level and that have a view of the San Francisco skyline, the view at night has to be seen to be belived.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SallywD306AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews