We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable and well-located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Reliable and well-located”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

First, the complaints: the carpeting in the rooms really needs replacement; although very comfortable and easy on the eyes, it's getting old and tired. And the room cost is high, like so many properties in the San Fran area.

Otherwise the Gables Inn is a great choice, and one that we will return to (and in fact, this was a return trip)! We had a great view of San Fran from our room; the breakfast buns and coffee and the 5.30 pm (or so) wines and cheeses are very good; and the location can't be beat, just steps from the art galleries and the ferry docks in Sausalito. In winter the neighborhood is remarkably quiet at night. We stayed here to avoid the even higher costs of good accomodation in San Fran, and ferried over to our brief business in the city. It took just 1/2 an hour, and the self-serve ticket machines are easy to use (see our review elsewhere).

Buit an important note for drivers: the parking does cost extra (currently $20/night) and the small lot has tight slots. The main doors tro the Inn are off the parking area. Do not come here in your Chevy Suburban or your Hum-Vee unless you want to inconvenience yourself and everyone else. Also, the lot is at the bottom of a ramp of sorts, so that you have a moment of "visual cliff" (invisibility of what's in front of you) as you enter and leave the lot. The staff are aware of this, and will guide you in or out if you ask. The driveway is on a side-street, so traffic is not a big issue. But it's probably best to leave your low-slung Ferrari at home too, although you might find legal parking nearby on the town side-streets or in the ferry parking lot (not sure if that's open at night). For actual San Franciscans used to hills, parking at the Inn will probably not pose a problem.

Room Tip: We had an upper room facing across the Bay, in the main building. Upper rooms in the second building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    76
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
198
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

There is a lot to love about the Gables Inn in Sausalito. The location is fantastic for exploring downtown Sausalito on foot with easy access to the ferry, great dining, and a nice array of shops and galleries. The wine and cheese reception in the lobby was lovely and included a decent selection of olives, cheeses, and crackers. Likewise, the continental breakfast offered a nice variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, danish, bagels and toast, and hard boiled eggs.

We stayed in the Laurel Room (Room 103) which while small was comfortable and nicely appointed with a large flatscreen TV with Direct TV, a jetted tub with rain shower, Aveda bath products, and a Keurig coffee maker accompanied by a nice assortment of coffees and tea. While the room lacked a refrigerator, it came supplied with a variety of snacks and a couple of bottles of wine (at extra charge).

A few negatives should be mentioned - the window shades could not be raised, When I peeked behind them, I was shocked to see that the window sills were filthy. In fact, one of window sills was so damaged, the window did not close completely. The woman at the front desk explained that this room was in the "newer wing" so we were surprised at the condition of the windows/sills.

We had a bit of trouble getting the TV to work initially as there were two remotes (one for the TV and one for Direct TV) and no instructions in the room. I called the front desk for assistance and was told someone would be right down. The woman from the front desk arrived within a few seconds and proceeded to scold us for "touching" one of the remotes. (As it turned out, the prior guest had switched the input on the TV.) It really wasn't' a big deal, but I didn't appreciate being scolded for a situation we did not create.

All in all, we had a lovely stay in Sausalito. I would recommend the Gables with the caveat that the Laurel Room should be avoided until the broken window frame/sill is repaired and cleaned.

Room Tip: Avoid the Laurel Room unless the windows are cleaned and repaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We've visited the Bay area on long weekends a number of times and have found that we prefer staying in Sausalito to staying in "The City." When we were unable to book at our "regular" hotel we booked a room at The Gables for three nights. At just over $200/night + $20/parking we found this small inn to be an excellent value in a terrific location. Our comfortable room was located down a short flight of stairs from the reception area. It was nicely furnished with a large Jacuzzi tub/shower, a very comfortable bed and a large flat screen television. Bridge Street shops and restaurants were just a short walk away. We especially appreciated the breakfast with fresh pastries, breads, fruits, yogurt, juices, coffee, etc. The friendly and knowledgeable staff was very helpful with directions to area points of interest and restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 103, the Laurel Room. The windows were closed (its getting cool) and we had no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Triaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in the Lilac Room in October (What an amazing tub this one has) plus a lovely view of the city and it was a very quiet room, too! We loved the ambiance of this place, including the wine and cheese hours where we met other guests and the very substantial breakfast (lots of fruit, yogurts, baked goods...anything except fresh cooked things but really, there is plenty to choose from). The main room is darling and most of all, the people are warm and welcoming. Plus, of course, you just walk down the short hill and you are in the village of Sausalito. Try to walk so you can avoid the challenge of parking in Sausalito. We highly recommend the Gables Inn!

Room Tip: Lilac Room was nice and quiet because it is in the part of the building that does not directly overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newport-Ronni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Gables Inn is in a great location, convenient to the harbor, restaurants and shops in the downtown area. We chose to stay in the Bay Room, one of their top (most expensive) rooms. The room was large and the view was good (see photos) although marred by wires (phone/electric?) that crossed the view in the foreground. The website photo of the room is accurate, but we did find some things we were unhappy with.
When we arrived the waste basket had not been emptied and there were someone's leftover snacks in the refrigerator. The bathroom window was open and would not close - the frame was broken (you could see the rotted wood on the bottom). The management obviously knew about this, but in speaking with three different people, each brushed it off with "you know this is a very old building". On our second day there it was "repaired" - closed so that it could not be opened until they got around to replacing the window frame. (They told us they would be doing that and asked if it was OK that we would be unable to open the window.) There is a daily parking fee. I was aware of this from my conformation letter although upon arrival I was told that it was $20 per day. I said that my letter (and the info in the room) quoted $15 per day. They said that it had increased in March. After I protested I was given the $15 rate.

On the positive side, as I first mentioned, the location is terrific. The breakfast and afternoon wine & cheese were very good. (No hot items for breakfast, but a good selection of fruits, yogurts, delicious pastries, etc.) Our bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

All in all, I doubt that we would return. While this lovely old historic Sausalito building has a lot to offer, given the cost of the rooms, it needs some more TLC.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a great deal of stair climbing if you choose one of the more expensive "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B-RTravelers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is situated on a side street in "downtown" Sausalito. It couldn't be more convenient. Staff is courteous and very ready to help with advise for restaurants, sightseeing, etc. The hotel is set up more like a small condominium with two attached buildings and a courtyard in between. There is on site parking for $20 per day charge.
We had one of the smaller rooms with a king bed and large sofa bed in the adjoining living room. Two TV's, one a huge flat screen. Linens were good quality. Toiletries by Aveno. Rooms were tastefully done in light colored fabrics. Large jetted tub with nice shower. A shelf above the pedestal sink would have solved the awkwardness of where to put your things. They offer complementary wine (one red and one white) with a nice assortment of cheese and olives from 5:30 to 7:30 in the evening. There is continental breakfast in the morning with cereal, pastry and fruit. No hot dishes. The place is not cheap at $300 on up, but not at all out of line for the area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillyshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in the Gables Inn for the first night of our recent road trip around California. We were greated by the nicest of receptionists (a young lady, sorry i have forgotten her name) i have ever come accross. She made us feel so welcome and even kept the wine and cheese behind for us as we had arrived just as it was finishing.
We stayed in a wonderful room over looking the bay with a balcony which we took full advantage of whilst sipping our wine and enjoying our first night in America.
The facilities and service at the hotel are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble for anyone that we came accross.
We will certainly go back and would recommend anyone that is going through Sausalito stay at this lovely sleepy inn.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on the upper level and that have a view of the San Francisco skyline, the view at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallywD306AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,459 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
552 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Property: The Gables Inn Sausalito
Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing