We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than advertised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Better than advertised!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Gorgeous comfortable room. Easy to find, close to everything, fantastic location! Quiet and clean. Sissy at the front desk was fantastic! Take advantage of wine and cheese happy hour! Great wines, cheese, strawberries, nuts, olives! Love Sausalito! Will definitely return! Thank you Gables Inn!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Raoul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    75
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
197
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
417 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

From the pleasant, personal greeting from Sissy at the front desk on arrival to the final breakfast, our two night stay (in two different rooms) was a wonderful experience. After driving all day, the complimentary wine and cheese offerings was a welcome treat. The public area area in which it was presented was comfortably furnished with a very warm feel. The guests we met over a glass of wine were friendly and interesting. Sissy joined in the conversation and seemed to show sincere interest in the people who staying there.

The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. Bathrooms were both generous in size with above average toiletries. Breakfast was extensive and well beyond a "continental" one.

The location is ideal: in the center of town and easy to walk to restaurants and shops. We spent two days in San Francisco and the drive through town to the Golden Gate Bridge is always a joy and never gets old. And that's from someone who used to live in Sausalito.

All in all the stay was enjoyable and memorable. On our next visit to SF, we will definitely return to The Gables Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValGary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Then there was the Gables Inn; that after nearly 200 nights in hotels in 2013. I stayed in 3 to 5 star hotels in over 70 cities in the US this year. These included landmark and historic hotels, high rise leading brands, and boiler plate hotels with artificial egg breakfasts.
The Gables Inn changes the hotel paradigm. Check-in starts with a warm and genuine hello. There is nothing rehearsed. The process is fast and easy but where it differs is that you really need directions to your room. What, you may say, directions? That’s because the second paradigm that is broken is there are no long bland hallways with room after room. Instead there are alcoves and nooks, nested around corners that open into fresh, clean, impeccably warm spaces. None are repeated in form or shape.

I noted how my weary feet sunk into and unusually posh, thick carpet- so soothing. My eyes were treated to the abundance of careful detail: finished woodwork embracing each angled feature, spotless hardware in the bathroom, a well-appointed service counter and bar. Perfectly placed appliances, proportionately sized to service the space: it all just flowed seamlessly. And the color...it was varied yet muted and fresh.
Upon placing my half-weeks’ worth of clothing into an abundantly spacious closet I decided to lay down for a few minutes. I was treated to the bed that was “just right”. It was firm but forgiving with no pressure points. It was an insomniac’s dream. And later that night, that’s what I did, just dream.
The morning greeted us with the ever soft sound of the activity on San Francisco Bay. The ship horns, beaconed images of a romantic yesteryear era. Then there was the shower. Generous cascades of hot water poured over me both massaging and rinsing. My feet were warmed by the heated floor and my wet body was shrouded with a sumptuous thick towel and lapped the liquid remnants from the shower.
Awe, then there was breakfast. The “continental breakfast” surprised and surpassed all expectations. Fresh fruits, granola, oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, exotic and delicate cheese, fresh juices, herbal teas and well balanced coffee were a delight.
I could wax on about all of the wondrous treats of this stay. The Gables Inn is special. It stands out as compared to the other 200 hotels room nights that are but a boredom-harboring blur.
Go there. Treat yourself and bring home a truly ingratiating memory.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

First, the complaints: the carpeting in the rooms really needs replacement; although very comfortable and easy on the eyes, it's getting old and tired. And the room cost is high, like so many properties in the San Fran area.

Otherwise the Gables Inn is a great choice, and one that we will return to (and in fact, this was a return trip)! We had a great view of San Fran from our room; the breakfast buns and coffee and the 5.30 pm (or so) wines and cheeses are very good; and the location can't be beat, just steps from the art galleries and the ferry docks in Sausalito. In winter the neighborhood is remarkably quiet at night. We stayed here to avoid the even higher costs of good accomodation in San Fran, and ferried over to our brief business in the city. It took just 1/2 an hour, and the self-serve ticket machines are easy to use (see our review elsewhere).

Buit an important note for drivers: the parking does cost extra (currently $20/night) and the small lot has tight slots. The main doors tro the Inn are off the parking area. Do not come here in your Chevy Suburban or your Hum-Vee unless you want to inconvenience yourself and everyone else. Also, the lot is at the bottom of a ramp of sorts, so that you have a moment of "visual cliff" (invisibility of what's in front of you) as you enter and leave the lot. The staff are aware of this, and will guide you in or out if you ask. The driveway is on a side-street, so traffic is not a big issue. But it's probably best to leave your low-slung Ferrari at home too, although you might find legal parking nearby on the town side-streets or in the ferry parking lot (not sure if that's open at night). For actual San Franciscans used to hills, parking at the Inn will probably not pose a problem.

Room Tip: We had an upper room facing across the Bay, in the main building. Upper rooms in the second building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

There is a lot to love about the Gables Inn in Sausalito. The location is fantastic for exploring downtown Sausalito on foot with easy access to the ferry, great dining, and a nice array of shops and galleries. The wine and cheese reception in the lobby was lovely and included a decent selection of olives, cheeses, and crackers. Likewise, the continental breakfast offered a nice variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, danish, bagels and toast, and hard boiled eggs.

We stayed in the Laurel Room (Room 103) which while small was comfortable and nicely appointed with a large flatscreen TV with Direct TV, a jetted tub with rain shower, Aveda bath products, and a Keurig coffee maker accompanied by a nice assortment of coffees and tea. While the room lacked a refrigerator, it came supplied with a variety of snacks and a couple of bottles of wine (at extra charge).

A few negatives should be mentioned - the window shades could not be raised, When I peeked behind them, I was shocked to see that the window sills were filthy. In fact, one of window sills was so damaged, the window did not close completely. The woman at the front desk explained that this room was in the "newer wing" so we were surprised at the condition of the windows/sills.

We had a bit of trouble getting the TV to work initially as there were two remotes (one for the TV and one for Direct TV) and no instructions in the room. I called the front desk for assistance and was told someone would be right down. The woman from the front desk arrived within a few seconds and proceeded to scold us for "touching" one of the remotes. (As it turned out, the prior guest had switched the input on the TV.) It really wasn't' a big deal, but I didn't appreciate being scolded for a situation we did not create.

All in all, we had a lovely stay in Sausalito. I would recommend the Gables with the caveat that the Laurel Room should be avoided until the broken window frame/sill is repaired and cleaned.

Room Tip: Avoid the Laurel Room unless the windows are cleaned and repaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We've visited the Bay area on long weekends a number of times and have found that we prefer staying in Sausalito to staying in "The City." When we were unable to book at our "regular" hotel we booked a room at The Gables for three nights. At just over $200/night + $20/parking we found this small inn to be an excellent value in a terrific location. Our comfortable room was located down a short flight of stairs from the reception area. It was nicely furnished with a large Jacuzzi tub/shower, a very comfortable bed and a large flat screen television. Bridge Street shops and restaurants were just a short walk away. We especially appreciated the breakfast with fresh pastries, breads, fruits, yogurt, juices, coffee, etc. The friendly and knowledgeable staff was very helpful with directions to area points of interest and restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 103, the Laurel Room. The windows were closed (its getting cool) and we had no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Triaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-Beach, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in the Lilac Room in October (What an amazing tub this one has) plus a lovely view of the city and it was a very quiet room, too! We loved the ambiance of this place, including the wine and cheese hours where we met other guests and the very substantial breakfast (lots of fruit, yogurts, baked goods...anything except fresh cooked things but really, there is plenty to choose from). The main room is darling and most of all, the people are warm and welcoming. Plus, of course, you just walk down the short hill and you are in the village of Sausalito. Try to walk so you can avoid the challenge of parking in Sausalito. We highly recommend the Gables Inn!

Room Tip: Lilac Room was nice and quiet because it is in the part of the building that does not directly overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newport-Ronni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
461 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Property: The Gables Inn Sausalito
Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing