We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent just one night at The Gables Inn on our way to Napa for the weekend. It is the perfect location for seeing Sausalito, just off the main street and within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. On arrival the welcome was warm and friendly and the room was spacious, clean and quiet, there was also a fantastic coffee machine. The breakfast is wonderful, fresh fruit, pastries and again great coffee. The staff were so helpful giving us directions and advice about the wine country and places to see. I'd lightly recommend The Gables Inn and only wished we'd stayed longer, but we will be back.

Room Tip: The Cedar room in downstairs, has a tiny outside patio and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    75
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
197
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Sausalito is a town that could pass for a Mediterranean enclave, and The Gables Inn as a pensione, hidden from the thoroughfare, but just a half a block away from the breath-taking waterfront views of the Golden Gate and San Francisco. As you enter, you are greeted by the rich wood interior of the charming lobby and by the friendly and extraordinarily helpful staff. The rooms are wonderfully appointed with luxurious bedding, comfortable chairs, flat screen TVs (which are easily accessed without all of the high tech fussy nonsense), and plush towels. There is a small brick patio between the two buildings, and a nice deck for sipping morning tea, or imbibing in afternoon wine. The hotel provides a relaxed setting in a town so desirable its visitors come year round from all over the world.

The rooms do vary; ask for one with a view if possible.

There is no one on site after 11 pm. So when I lost my room key, I had to call an emergency number, but this is what impressed me most about the hotel. The off-site but on-duty person cheerfully appeared within five minutes of my call and was one of the most courteous of hotel staffers I've ever encountered anywhere. While it was well past midnight, he showed me to my room, cut another key, and made sure everything was okay. That's service, above and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We stayed in Room 104. It faced Princess Street and was low enough tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DabblesInFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a fantastically situated hotel. One needs to be aware that not all rooms have a great view so when making a booking ask about the room you would want to have. Room I had (#302) had some view of the harbor but I think there are rooms with a better view. The stay was very pleasant. The person on reception desk was friendly and suggested this great Thai place away
from touristy areas to go to and pick up dinner. That was quite useful since I had arrived rather
late in the day. Keep in mind that after 10 pm there would be no one at the front desk.
Rooms were comfortable. The location is wonderful. I truly enjoyed being there. will be back
again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenziWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Could not have selected a better place to stay in Sausalito. Beautiful room, great breakfast, and amazing evening wine and cheese cocktail hour (and a half). This was out of the ordinary with unique artisan chesses and many many assorted unexpected selections. Without a doubt the best cocktail hour experienced at a hotel/Inn. Sissy was on duty the evenings we stayed and she couldn't have been nicer or more authentic. She went above and beyond in any request and made our stay truly pleasurable. The Gables Inn was the best stop on our journey up the PCH and a wonderful way to end our California Vacation. Thank You!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliot60805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
263 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Gorgeous comfortable room. Easy to find, close to everything, fantastic location! Quiet and clean. Sissy at the front desk was fantastic! Take advantage of wine and cheese happy hour! Great wines, cheese, strawberries, nuts, olives! Love Sausalito! Will definitely return! Thank you Gables Inn!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Raoul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
417 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

From the pleasant, personal greeting from Sissy at the front desk on arrival to the final breakfast, our two night stay (in two different rooms) was a wonderful experience. After driving all day, the complimentary wine and cheese offerings was a welcome treat. The public area area in which it was presented was comfortably furnished with a very warm feel. The guests we met over a glass of wine were friendly and interesting. Sissy joined in the conversation and seemed to show sincere interest in the people who staying there.

The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. Bathrooms were both generous in size with above average toiletries. Breakfast was extensive and well beyond a "continental" one.

The location is ideal: in the center of town and easy to walk to restaurants and shops. We spent two days in San Francisco and the drive through town to the Golden Gate Bridge is always a joy and never gets old. And that's from someone who used to live in Sausalito.

All in all the stay was enjoyable and memorable. On our next visit to SF, we will definitely return to The Gables Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValGary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Then there was the Gables Inn; that after nearly 200 nights in hotels in 2013. I stayed in 3 to 5 star hotels in over 70 cities in the US this year. These included landmark and historic hotels, high rise leading brands, and boiler plate hotels with artificial egg breakfasts.
The Gables Inn changes the hotel paradigm. Check-in starts with a warm and genuine hello. There is nothing rehearsed. The process is fast and easy but where it differs is that you really need directions to your room. What, you may say, directions? That’s because the second paradigm that is broken is there are no long bland hallways with room after room. Instead there are alcoves and nooks, nested around corners that open into fresh, clean, impeccably warm spaces. None are repeated in form or shape.

I noted how my weary feet sunk into and unusually posh, thick carpet- so soothing. My eyes were treated to the abundance of careful detail: finished woodwork embracing each angled feature, spotless hardware in the bathroom, a well-appointed service counter and bar. Perfectly placed appliances, proportionately sized to service the space: it all just flowed seamlessly. And the color...it was varied yet muted and fresh.
Upon placing my half-weeks’ worth of clothing into an abundantly spacious closet I decided to lay down for a few minutes. I was treated to the bed that was “just right”. It was firm but forgiving with no pressure points. It was an insomniac’s dream. And later that night, that’s what I did, just dream.
The morning greeted us with the ever soft sound of the activity on San Francisco Bay. The ship horns, beaconed images of a romantic yesteryear era. Then there was the shower. Generous cascades of hot water poured over me both massaging and rinsing. My feet were warmed by the heated floor and my wet body was shrouded with a sumptuous thick towel and lapped the liquid remnants from the shower.
Awe, then there was breakfast. The “continental breakfast” surprised and surpassed all expectations. Fresh fruits, granola, oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, exotic and delicate cheese, fresh juices, herbal teas and well balanced coffee were a delight.
I could wax on about all of the wondrous treats of this stay. The Gables Inn is special. It stands out as compared to the other 200 hotels room nights that are but a boredom-harboring blur.
Go there. Treat yourself and bring home a truly ingratiating memory.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
460 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Property: The Gables Inn Sausalito
Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing