We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Inn Above Tide(Sausalito)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cavallo Point(Sausalito)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
210
77
23
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
77
23
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwine and cheesemagnolia roomsan franciscoyogurtshops and restaurantsfew minutes walkcrackersthere is no air conditioningother guestsspacious roomnice breakfastthe main dragthe ground floorbay bridgeper dayeach evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful B&B tucked in the hills of Sausalito with wonderful views of San Francisco. A short trip to the city. Each room is beautifully decorated with its own unique charm. Fabulous choice of rooms from Victorian with a claw foot tub to the Suite on the top floor with a jacuzzi tub and phenomenal views of San Francisco. Service is impeccable the manager Michael will make sure your stay is perfect. Excellent breakfast and wine and appetizers in the evening. All rooms are stocked well with a mini bar of local treats and local wines from Napa. I felt like a new person after one night. Many repeat guests from around the world which makes for interesting conversation in the cozy living room in front of the fireplace.
A definite must stay when traveling to Sausalito San Francisco and Napa.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is our second stay here, and hopefully not our last. I can't say enough about the staff here at The Gables. From the email correspondence before we booked until checkout, the customer service was outstanding. We stayed in the Buckeye Room last time and the Cypress Room this time. The rooms are similar and share a patio with a view of the bay, which we love for quiet time.
Little touches are added to every aspect of your stay to make it memorable, from the fresh cut flowers, to the relaxing music, to the fresh fruit and nuts served at happy hour and breakfast. No pre-fab food here. I had mentioned to the staff that my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and within minutes of checking in, a special surprise was delivered to our room. You get a sense of genuine friendliness from the staff here, and that is rare in their industry.

Room Tip: Buckeye and Cypress are ground level for easy access from your car, only a few steps from the breakfast and lounge areas, and the shared patio offers a ground level view of the bay and Angel Island. Only difference is that Buckeye has a fireplace.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GuyFromAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked 4 rooms for our family to explore San Fran for a few days before our wedding. The inn is very cozy and super convenient to the downtown shops. The entire staff was so friendly and made our family feel at home. We were pleasantly surprised with the evening wine hour and generous spread of cheese, crackers and appetizers. The morning breakfast also had a great selection and we appreciated the fresh fruits and healthy choices. There was always lemon water and coffee in the common area. The rooms were very cozy and I think we'll stay here instead of the city for our future trips. The ferry to SF was a fun way to explore the city without having to drive.

Special thanks to the entire staff for your hospitality. My family will never forget this trip and you helped us get off to a great start.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband daughter her bf and I stayed here a few nights ago. Michael at the front was welcoming, informative about the sites and flavors of the area and just a great person. Our room was clean the bed super comfy and the continental breakfast and wine and cheese time just delicious. We hope to come back here again. Funny after we stayed here we went and stayed in the city and we now wish we had continued to stay here and just visited the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We use to live in Sausalito, what more can i say we LOVE LOVE San Francisco. We are fortunate enough to be able to come back to the city that owns my heart often and we ALWAYS stay at The Gables Inn. The staff is excellent and so warm and inviting. We always stay in the Cypress room and love it. The beds and pillows are so comfy. Breakfast is always fresh, perfect way to start our day. Wine and cheese after a long day, a great time to meet new friends :) It is beautiful little Inn, in a beautiful little city by the bay~

Room Tip: Cypress room has a sweet little patio!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KansasWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews