We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a gift!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plate Shop - CLOSED

Plate Shop
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Johnson
Transit: Golden Gate Transit, 10, 70 and 80
Description: We are a small restaurant focusing on head to tail cooking, fresh local ingredients (including our backyard farm), premium spirits, and small production wines.
San Rafael, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place is a gift!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I liked everything about it. Awesome menu. Wine list. Ambiance. Staff. Customers... Just having a drink at the bar is wonderful.
They make amazing fresh fruit drinks...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“wonderful, except desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

we had a large family party at the Plate Shop and the food was spectacular and the service was perfect, attentive but not fawning and well paced. We all shared a number of appetizers and then had entrees and dessert. The desserts were disappointing. The chocolate pot de creme was really just a pudding. Hunh. Plate Shop seemed very hip but was comfortable and welcoming for our family of un-stylish people.Those of us at our table who sat in the window all reported it was loud and hard to hear, but on the side of the table not in the window they had no problems hearing. Must be some sound bounce thing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoughtonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh food. A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Plate Shop is located off the main street in Sausalito, and we wouldn't have known about it if we hadn't asked at our hotel for a recommendation. Didn't know what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. Menu is not extensive, but everything is locally grown and sourced. The salad with heirloom tomatoes, crispy cucumber and feta cheese was superb. We had the wild salmon fishcakes, and our friend had an enormous rib-eye steak which he raved about. Staff were friendly and very knowledgeable. An excellent dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EvieCostaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall nice dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

Nice organic locally sourced food. Had the fried chicken and my wife had the salmon which was done nicely. Finished with organic raspberry sorbet for dessert. Would recommend if you are looking for good organic food with good overall presentation.

Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilford, essex.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

on caledonia street, off the main bridgeway, are several organic restaurants, the best of these is the plate shop, which has a few staples and a new item most days.
the food is excellent, and the waiting staff, very knowledgable.
this is california cuisine, with the food all locally sourced. we will come back next year.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rico419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plate Shop also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing