We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to walk”
Review of Rodeo Beach

Rodeo Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Coastal Marin Headlands Hike from San Francisco
Ranked #9 of 53 things to do in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
iran
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect place to walk”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very beautiful view of San Francois.
Parking facilities was hard to find , but if you have a chance you can find a parking spot in public parking or valet parking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    33
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverton, Colorado
Level Contributor
198 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have been to many beaches on the east coast and in the gulf, I had never seen such a rocky shore with such dark colored sand. I really enjoyed this place. It's amazing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovesilverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach gem”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I have lived around here for years and didn't even know it existed.
It's certainly not Carmel, but when I moved to Sausalito, I went along one day and found that it is not only minutes from town, but there's a pretty, LONG stretch of beach where there dogs are allowed. It's very scenic, just behind the Marin Headlands.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 33037Kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, California, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

A beautiful beach, with easy access, and a restroom. The sand is more tiny pebbles, with jade bits. You can sit and watch the ships and barges as they come into the SF bay. It's cold and windy in February, but still a great way to spend the day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield
Level Contributor
402 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Family favorite”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This beach is one of our favorites! One of the main reasons is convenience. We live about an hour "inland" and love going to this beach because it's easy to reach from the 101 through a tunnel. We have a child that always feels car sick by the time we reach the beaches that require driving up and down a curvy road to reach. Rodeo beach also has plenty of free parking and convenient bathrooms, too. The walk from the parking area to the beach is short (which is great when you carry lots of stuff and we always do) It never seems to feel as crowded here as many of the other beaches in the area. Don't expect soft sand though, the shore is rocky here. We love the views, often you can see large and small ships come by as they head towards or out of San Francisco Bay. My kids do go in the water here to wade and play in the waves (but it feels too cold to me). Even though it's close to the city, this beach feels like a million miles away from anywhere, especially on a foggy day. We came here once at the end of August and it was barely 50 degrees (when it was 100 degrees only a short drive away) and absolutely deserted. We had a magical and refreshing afternoon. Mostly, this is one of our favorite beaches because you can easily combine a visit to this beach with a visit to the Marine Mammal Center "right across the street."

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank California_momofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rodeo Beach also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Rodeo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing