We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect view of San Francisco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trident

The Trident
Ranked #14 of 77 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, International, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect view of San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here waiting for the red eye back East. Great view of the city (need to get to the outside area). We had 6 people and everyone had something different and all enjoyed their meals. I had the crab salad - highly recommend. Good service - everyone was happy to make sure we had a good experience. I'd go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KLCOBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    339
    116
    41
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“another old standby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

coming off the ferry, this is the last restaurant on the left before the road turns residential. right on the water, with a good number of tables offering direct water view. good service; food portions are generous if uninspired. expect classics like fish and chips. worth spending an hour watching the sailboats go by while having a cold one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An Off Day for a Local Institution?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Trident gets good reviews, and another traveler had given this Sausalito institution a excellent recommendation. However, perhaps a Tuesday evening was a bad day to have dinner earlier this month.

The views were beautiful, and the food OK, but not great. Think the worse thing I can say is that the service was just not very good. Had to ask twice for ice tea, and also had to ask for bread. The food (salad) took awhile, and then when it was served the order wasn't right. Was served someone else's meal, which actually looked better than what I had ordered. (I had ordered a crab salad, and received shrimp instead.)

Would give this institution another try, but think they need to bring their food and service up a notch if they want to complete with the restaurant next door . . .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixRising88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice bar and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

After disembarking off the ferry we stopped here for a cocktail and lunch but the wait was too long for lunch so we just had the cocktails. The views can't be beat and the food that was coming out looked good. Bartender was friendly and drinks refreshing. Good job.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PKexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

A friend suggested trying this restaurant because of the great food and even better views of San Francisco from he restaurant. It is about 2 blocks from the ferry stop, so if you do not have a car and are staying in San Francisco, it is still possible to eat here (just make sure that you have an early reservation because the last ferry goes back at 8pm).

We were seated quickly and the drink/appetizers orders were taken quickly. We did have a reservation, which is suggested and we had a party of 5.

They had a good selection of appetizers, primarily seafood, but some other items. I was trying to eat primarily Paleo because I had a marathon the next day. They did have a lot of Paleo friendly foods. I started with the blistered peppers (they looked like jalopenos, but were a moderately spicey pepper less so than jalopenos). The appetizer was very good.

For dinner, I had the Louis Dungeness Cab Salad. It was excellent and very Paleo friendly (avacado, olives, lettuce, hard boiled egg, bananna peppers, and dungeness crab. It was excellent. Others in my party had steamed clams and grilled chicken, which they both indicated were very good (chicken was a little pricey for grilled chicken).

For desert, one in our party had the creme brulee, which I shared with her, and it was excellent.

Our food was brought out to us quickly, although there was only one bartender, so drinks took a little longer than expected. The waiter did check on us periodically after each course and my only complaint was the he was a little slow in refilling the water (there was no busboy to do so).

Overall, the food was excellent, the service was very good, and the views of the bay and San Francisco were amazing (despite the clouds rolling in).

After dinner, our party went to pick up the car, which was listed as valet, but you actually had to park your own car and drive out your own car (so I was wondering how valet qualified). Parking is not included, although it is cheaper if you eat at the restaurant than if you pay to park without eating. The valet parking situation is really my only complaint about our dining experience at the\is establishment, and it is more an annoyance than a true complaint.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pwsusann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trident also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to The Trident? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing