We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like eating at "the club" but with a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spinnaker

The Spinnaker
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spinnaker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 78 Restaurants in Sausalito
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anchor Street
Transit: Golden Gate Transit Bus: 50, 20; Golden Gate Ferry: Red & White Fleet, Blue & Gold
Description: The Spinnaker is located on the Sausalito waterfront offering panoramic views of San Francisco, Angel Island, the East Bay and Belvedere. They serve an impressive menu with fresh seafood and a fine wine selection.
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Like eating at "the club" but with a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Basically, you go to The Spinnaker for the view. Situated out on a point in Sausalito, overlooking the water with the tips of the Golden Gate Bridge poking over the hill nearby, The Spinnaker offers a gorgeous view. The food is typical club fare: clam chowder, spinach salad, club sandwich and is well prepared. The service is efficient. Try not to sit too near the entrance to the extremely noisy kitchen. We were looking for a restaurant with a view in Sausalito for lunch and this fit the bill just fine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heavenisasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Happy we were able to share our beautiful natural setting with you on your trip out! It's nice to see you were happy with all of the food and the service -- I'll pass the words along to the team. Hope to see you again on your next trip to the West Coast.

Cheers,
Jeff - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    389
    127
    68
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great view, otherwise, just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Really all about the view here. Halibut entree, Francais style, was serviceable, but thinner filets than we are used to. "Crab and shrimp quesadillas" were a train wreck - dry, with un-melted sprinkle of cheese and bland and crumbly seafood filling. Not sure what this item is doing on the menu. I expected lots of melted cheese over juicy, fresh seafood. Dishes at other tables looked good, and service was satisfactory. They could stand to spiff up the atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JorjeJaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
A meal with us should be much more than just the view. We're all about providing an amazing all around experience, and I'm sorry some of yours didn't fit that bill. The halibut (and rest the ingredients we use) is high quality and super fresh, and we portion our plates as fairly as possible. I'm sorry that they were a little thin for you! As for the quesadillas, they should come out just as you described: melted cheese over juicy, fresh seafood. Did you let your server know? We would have loved to fix this in the moment.

Overall, it sounds like we were just a little off on your visit with us. I hope you'll give us another shot to show you what else we can bring to our stunning location.

All the best,
Jeff - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holywood Ireland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Heard about Spinnaker so for our special stay decided to try it. Had booked a table at least a month prior.
On arrival we were met by a rather dour grey haired lady and when we said we had a table for 8pm, the response was, we are trying to get the 7 30s out and to take a seat at the bar!! No apology and no offer of even to look at a menu while we were waiting. We sat there ignored as she passed by and after 40 mins of being ignored I had had enough. So I approached her and mentioned, as she was now joined by the maître de, that we had a table booked for 8pm. The response, yes we have a note that you need a table. Appalling, we should have left but at this stage we needed food. Then the maître de said, he thought we were waiting for a window table?? At this stage any table would do! So we at last got a table and a reasonable meal. I then asked for consideration of the bill in light of the way we were treated with a special visit spoilt, the result one starter credited and still no apology. Overrated, rude and we would never go back, better restaurants with better food about.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We're all about professional, friendly service and tasty food around here, so it's a shame you didn't get that impression this time around, David. From the start, your experience seems like a frustrating one, and I hope you'll accept my apologies if our typically on-point front of house staff was a little off their game that night! We work hard to make sure all of our guests leave satisfied, and it's tough to see that your experience seems to have slipped through the cracks.

There's definitely a reason you heard about our restaurant, so I hope that on your next visit out you'll give us another shot to show you what we're all about. A nice glass in hand, a delicious meal, and a beautiful view of the SF bay? Now -- that's the perfect dining experience.

Jeff - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have visited The Spinnaker in years past and visited again to celebrate our anniversary. This restaurant continues to be outstanding and no doubt why it has been in existence for years. Absolutely perfect! We had a window table and the view, the food and the service could not have been better. We toasted with sparkling wine along with the baked brie appetizer. Both of us had the butter lettuce salad with apples, cranberries, walnuts and blue cheese dressing which was delicious. My husband had the cheese ravioli with pesto sauce and I had the Spinnaker paella. Of course, we each had a very nice glass of pinot noir to accompany our dinner. We were both too full to have dessert, all of which looked wonderful, and ended our meal with coffee. Our waitress was spot on with everything we needed without being intrusive. Although we had been in San Francisco for the day, which was very foggy, the weather in Sausalito was perfect! We will definitely return!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
First off, happy anniversary and thanks for spending it with us! We're more than flattered that after years of coming here you still choose us for a day as special as that one. I'm thrilled to see all the food came out perfectly, and nice choice on pairing it all with a couple glasses of Pinot Noir (pairs so well with so many things!). I'm looking forward to having you two in again soon no matter the occasion -- take care.

All the best,
Jeff - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a view !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Table by the window on a fine and clear evening overlooking San Francisco and Alcatraz with the Golden Gate peeping over the hills - absolutely fabulous !! Food and wine excellent. Service mercifully slow by American standards so we were able to really enjoy the evening. Have been to many restaurants in the Bay Area - this was by far the best.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
With all the amazing cuisine in the area, I'm thrilled that we're your top spot! We'll definitely share our view with you whenever you want. :) We'll see you in soon for a night on the water.

Cheers,
Jeff - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spinnaker also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing