We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!”
Review of Avatar's

Avatar's
Ranked #24 of 79 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Not much to look at from the outside, and if i hadn't heard about the place, i probably wouldn't have stopped in on my own...BUT it was some of the most unique food I have ever eaten! A friend brought me here for lunch after a day of hiking in the area, and promised me it would be fantastic, it was! The food is a great blend of Mexican and Indian, and the mix of spices was great...I had a pumpkin crab enchilada. The restaurant was small and atmosphere was crowded, but the food was worth it! There are some really interesting photographs on the walls...and the service was incredible, you can definitely tell its family run. If you are in the area...or anywhere remotely nearby, I definitely recommend stopping in for a bite, you will be glad you did!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    28
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were looking for a place to eat after driving over the Golden Gate bridge. We found this restaurant on Yelp which had good reviews. It was in a small plaza and there was a Chinese restaurant in the same plaza and we were trying to decide which one to go to. The manager(?) of Avatar came out and talked to us. He said that we would not be disappointed and pointed out the good reviews they've had which was displayed in the window. We decided to give it a try.

The food was good. We ordered 4 dishes between the 5 of us and shared. We tried their surprise dessert which was actually ice cream, not a cheesecake! It was delicious. The food was very good. The Indian dish was spicy, the rice was plentiful for our rice eater and the chicken was delicious.

However delicious it was, it was not inexpensive. The bill came to almost $90 w/ tip for the 5 of us! And this was lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank safety_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Fusion!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Went to Avatar's after reading some reviews on Yelp. Food was supposed to be Mexican/Indian fused together and was delicious.

If it is your first time the owner will make a dish for you combining what you like.

Ended up with a Pumpkin Enchilada which was fantastic and shrimp sauteed with spices. Absolutely phenomenal for a very decent price.

Restaurant is small and cozy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun with food”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Avatars has great food and good fun. The staff brings pa-zaaz to the table, the chef puts the same in the food. Have been eating here for years and finally decided to write a review. Go there for a fun celebration like a birthday. Not packed with romance, just fun place to go and great place to eat. Need I say more?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank klahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great and unique experience!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place was soooo good! We stopped as we were passing through from San Fran to Sonoma for a quick lunch and boy we were glad we did! The owner greeted us and confidently told us we'd never eat a meal like this anywhere else and he was right!

The Indian flavors paired with traditional Mexican dishes like enchiladas was truly unique! Everyone at the table finished their plates. The shrimp curry enchiladas were my favorite :) Would go back again for sure as there is no place else that serves this style of food anywhere around!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avatar's also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Avatar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing