We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience with breathtaking view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Lovely ambience with breathtaking view!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here as our Pre-Valentines day gift to ourselves and it was absolutely wonderful!!!

The room and view was gorgeous and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating!

We took advantage of the spa services and both received a 60 minute massage from amazing massage therapists! I got the hot stone massage from Lizzy which I highly recommend! Tyler got the signature massage by Gary and said it was phenomenal!

With such a cheerful staff and its amazing location, we can't wait to be back!!!
Our only regret is we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niinaalovee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    236
    92
    38
    18
See reviews for
189
640
54
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
386 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We live locally, but we do love the restaurant Poggio both for lunch and dinner. Now, I have a new love....Gary at the spa. My only wish is that I met him sooner! He has been using his healing hands here for 9 years. He is simply amazing. I feel renewed, relaxed, and calm! I have had many massages...none, none, none like this:).

Lovely steam room, shower, lockers and lounge too. Calm, soothing environment.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review in response to your most recent visit to Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa in scenic Sausalito. How thoughtful of you to take the time to share your experience in writing, recognizing the professional efforts of our team members, and specifically pointing out Gary's dedication. As you so graciously noted, he has got the "magic touch", and I have made a point of letting him know just how much we appreciate his talents. We are very fortunate to have such caring employees on our team!

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon. If there is any way that I can assist in making your next visit just as enjoyable, please feel free to let me know.

In the interim, have a wonderful Super Bowl weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The second stop on our Californian Honeymoon, we opted to leave SF and spend a few days in Sausalito before heading down the coast. Situated in the main building (not one of the hillside cottages) our room was fantastic - with a super comfy bed and wonderful bathroom. On checking in we had some issues with payment (our card was blocked thanks to an overzealous fraud department...) but made our way to the room with a promise to pay later (we did). Sausalito is a gorgeous little town that seems to have been beamed in from classic American movie and there is plenty to keep you occupied for a lazy weekend with easy access to Muir Woods and Angel Island. Sitting on the balcony and looking across the bay was a real treat and we would love to visit again someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ad-Hok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

First of all your in Sausalito so what's not to love! Second, I love how this hotel is set along the mountainside. I stayed here with my daughter in 2008 and had a great experience. The room was beautiful and well maintained. We used the spa facilities and had wonderful treatments there. I would return to this hotel in the future! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfuller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were very impressed with the hillside cottage room that we stayed in. Nice modern remodel, lots of windows and good views. The location of this hotel is part of what makes it so special - right in the middle of Sausalito and an easy walk to everything. Friendly and helpful staff too. Very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: hillside cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRA999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the loft room with fireplace. It was very cozy and quiet. So easy and convenient to everything too. Hotel could have better internet connections and the cell service is bad. You have to go outside to make calls.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our lofted Courtyard accommodations.

Sausalito is a wonderful getaway, away from the hustle & bustle of the big city. Cell phone coverage can definitely be somewhat spotty, especially when you are on the hillside of our little resort town, away from the main streets!

You will be happy to know that we recently upgraded our Internet to an MIS service with access, port, and VLAN speeds of 100MB. And, while we do manage bandwidth per occupied guest room, our 24/7 IT support center can modify capabilities based on individual needs - ensuring flawless connectivity in guest and meeting rooms as well as our spa, lobby, and courtyard.

Wishing you a safe & sounds New Year's celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have stayed at Casa Madrona twice, and can highly recommend the hillside suites. We had lived in the area for years before staying here, and somehow got the impression from the outside of the hotel that it might be slightly tacky and run down. I don't know about the other kinds of rooms, but that is definitely not the case where we stayed. This is a "hidden" gem tucked up the side of the hill in Sausalito, and these rooms, while right downtown and convenient to every Sausalito attraction, have a fantastic view of the water with floor to ceiling windows and a balcony. They somehow create a sense of privacy and coziness (romantic!). Though just one large room, they are tastefully appointed, with a large upholstered chaise at the foot of the king bed, another chair and ottoman, two desks, a large bar, and entryway. The room feels light and spacious. The bathroom is sensational, very large with huge tub, double sinks, separate huge glass shower, and a luxurious feel. This hotel doesn't have it's own restaurant but is atop an Italian restaurant Poggio, and they serve room service to the hotel from 7am-10pm which worked great for us! There are a ton of fantastic eateries within walking distance, as well as the bay, the ferry to San Francisco, etc.
I did not use the in-hotel spa this trip but did last time, and can highly recommend it.

This boutique hotel has a lovely small lobby with friendly, gracious staff, a separate lounge area with computer and sitting area, and valet parking. I would say the only downside to the hillside rooms is the traffic noise, but that calms completely down at night as Sausalito attracts its action mostly during the day. All in all, for the money and compared to other more pricey hotels in the immediate area, Casa Madrona is a great find, and we will come back every year to our hillside room on the 4th floor!

Room Tip: Hillside suites, 4th (top) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Epiphany1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
We are happy to report that - thanks to a multi-million dollar renovation - "slightly tacky" and "run down" are adjectives no longer associated with our new Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa!

Our intimate Sausalito luxury hotel perfectly blends the amenities of a full-service hotel with the charm of a historic inn and we thank you for your comments on how we provided the perfect environment to experience true relaxation in one of our beautiful contemporary accommodations.

And on your next visit, for ocean-inspired bliss and rejuvenation, don't miss out on the soothing treatments of our completely reconcepted 3,000-square-foot spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Property: Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing