We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We went to the Casa Madrona for a little mid-week getaway and it was even better than expected. Since the hotel was fully booked they upgraded us to a "cottage" room. We had a fireplace and a lovely view of the harbor. It's fun to be in Sausalito in the off season when things are quiet and not crowded. The hotel restaurant, Poggio, is excellent--a little piece of Italy. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

I came here with high expectations only to have them dashed almost immediately - my deluxe hillside cottage balcony suite had a balcony that was so small, that I was shocked. Also, upon calling the front desk, I was told that I could not be moved because the upper levels were under construction and it would be even noisier than it was on the 3rd floor. Further, the bathroom was smaller than one I recently had on a cruise ship. The shower was small compared to one you would expect at a luxury hotel. I chose this hotel over Inn Above Tide and Cavallo Point; I will not make that mistake again.

We had a bed and breakfast package, which was a bit misleading. The breakfast was basically a limited continental breakfast and although I was told at check-in that we could use the coupon for room service, we were told later that this was not the case.

If you have a chance, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScDGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

We truly appreciate your perspective on our property layout and the Hillside Cottages.

Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa is a wonderfully unique property in that no two cottages are alike on the many levels cascading down the seaside hill. We do encourage our guests, upon making their reservations, to advise us ahead of time of any special requests so that we may assign accommodations accordingly. On occasion, during periods of high occupancy, some options may be limited, because the property is currently undergoing a remarkable renovation effort on the upper hillside, and we have taken some rooms out of inventory to ensure our guests' comfort.

With that said, in a few short months we will be unveiling 17 incredible new accommodations, including several very spacious one bedroom cottages (some with fully equipped kitchens!), a restored historical Victorian mansion with 10 guest rooms as well as a stunning 3,500 square foot master suite with a 1,500 square foot deck.

As we are heading into spring, progressing through this incredible metamorphosis, we will continue to offer numerous seasonal promotions. This includes our best-selling bed & breakfast package allowing our guests to enjoy a night of unparalleled comfort in one of our luxurious guestrooms and wake up to breakfast and coffee with a choice of breakfast options served at the highly acclaimed Poggio Restaurant. Specifics for this package, an all other seasonal promotions, are available on the hotel's website.

Be sure to visit us on your next trip to the West Coast. Come summer, Casa Madrona will have some very exciting new additions - and we would love for you to see them!

Wishing you safe travels in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel has an old part and a newer part; we stayed in the newer part which consists of so-called "hillside cottages." They are really independent rooms with wonderful views of the bays and their bridges, but the design is lacking. The bathroom has almost no place to hang toiletries or washed-out lingerie; the shower "door" covers only half the shower and goes up to the ceiling, which makes showering more like a public event than a true shower. The room we stayed in had almost no shelf or drawer space and the tops of the dresser and the fridge were covered with stuff like ice buckets and glasses. The upshot was that you couldn't really feel "at home" in the place and almost had to put your clothing, etc. on the floor. There is no breakfast service and the restaurant attached to the hotel--Poggio's--is only so-so. Would not return if there were an alternative, although the personnel was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for discovering our select Hilside Cottage accommodations that, when combined with views of sailboats and sea breezes, truly create a romantic, wistful, and classic setting. To add a distinctive touch of nostalgia, each of these rooms has a distinct style and design. In essence, each cottage is truly unique.

Based on your comments, however, our more traditional Harbor View accommodations on the contemporary side of the property would appear to be more suitable for your needs as those rooms boast high ceilings, four-poster king sized beds, flat screen televisions, sleek furnishings with plenty shelf space and drawers, and very large bathrooms including oversized tubs and separate showers.

Please let us know when your travels bring you back to sunny Sausalito. Check out the many vacation packages and seasonal promotions we offer - including the very popular Bed & Breakfast package - and allow us an opportunity to introduce you to our Harbor View rooms on your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you back at Casa Madrona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here as our Pre-Valentines day gift to ourselves and it was absolutely wonderful!!!

The room and view was gorgeous and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating!

We took advantage of the spa services and both received a 60 minute massage from amazing massage therapists! I got the hot stone massage from Lizzy which I highly recommend! Tyler got the signature massage by Gary and said it was phenomenal!

With such a cheerful staff and its amazing location, we can't wait to be back!!!
Our only regret is we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niinaalovee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We live locally, but we do love the restaurant Poggio both for lunch and dinner. Now, I have a new love....Gary at the spa. My only wish is that I met him sooner! He has been using his healing hands here for 9 years. He is simply amazing. I feel renewed, relaxed, and calm! I have had many massages...none, none, none like this:).

Lovely steam room, shower, lockers and lounge too. Calm, soothing environment.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review in response to your most recent visit to Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa in scenic Sausalito. How thoughtful of you to take the time to share your experience in writing, recognizing the professional efforts of our team members, and specifically pointing out Gary's dedication. As you so graciously noted, he has got the "magic touch", and I have made a point of letting him know just how much we appreciate his talents. We are very fortunate to have such caring employees on our team!

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon. If there is any way that I can assist in making your next visit just as enjoyable, please feel free to let me know.

In the interim, have a wonderful Super Bowl weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The second stop on our Californian Honeymoon, we opted to leave SF and spend a few days in Sausalito before heading down the coast. Situated in the main building (not one of the hillside cottages) our room was fantastic - with a super comfy bed and wonderful bathroom. On checking in we had some issues with payment (our card was blocked thanks to an overzealous fraud department...) but made our way to the room with a promise to pay later (we did). Sausalito is a gorgeous little town that seems to have been beamed in from classic American movie and there is plenty to keep you occupied for a lazy weekend with easy access to Muir Woods and Angel Island. Sitting on the balcony and looking across the bay was a real treat and we would love to visit again someday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ad-Hok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

First of all your in Sausalito so what's not to love! Second, I love how this hotel is set along the mountainside. I stayed here with my daughter in 2008 and had a great experience. The room was beautiful and well maintained. We used the spa facilities and had wonderful treatments there. I would return to this hotel in the future! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfuller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,014 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
560 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
475 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £222 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing