We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay Area Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were looking for a nice hotel away from busy San Fran and Sausalito was the place. We just stumbled across this hotel, but it was a fantastic find. I walked in just to get information when the staff offered to show us some rooms. All of the rooms are excellent, you cannot go wrong with any of them. The whole staff was friendly and very helpful. They even sent me a gift basket when they found out my birthday was coming up soon. When you visit I would recommend asking for Wendy. She may reflect the service level of the entire staff, but she definitely made us feel like VIP's during our stay. I can truly say that this hotel embodies "Customer Service" and you should pick this location on your next trip to the bay area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our team's efforts and acknowledging Wendy's devotion to guest services. "Taking it to the next level" may be an overused term, but in our case here at Casa Madrona, it is in the truest sense - figuratively and literally speaking - words we live by...

We hope to see you back in sunny Sausalito soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

The room was great with a view of the marina. The staff was excellent and on top of everything. When we left the room in the morning for breakfast we notified the desk our room was ready to be cleaned and when we returned it was ready to go. We highly recommend Casa Madrona.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim and Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We booked a single night at our old favorite. This time, the front desk person suggested we stay in the new wing, which from the outside, looks a little cookie cutter. Boy, were we surprised. Room 454 (and she told us 354) were large, with perfect views of the Bay, and very luxurious. The entire short stay was perfect, and the service excellent. A great romantic getaway, in the center of Sausalito

Room Tip: The bay views are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in April for our 1 year anniversary. We stayed in a Hillside Balcony Cottage room. We loved this room because the balcony had beautiful views of the Richardson Bay and it had its own separate outdoor entrance. Hanging out on the balcony with coffee/espresso is a great way to start the morning. The restaurants on the bay and unique shops of Sausalito were great and were all within walking distance. The ferry was a short walk away and a great way to get to and from San Francisco. The staff were great and made setting up transportation easy when needed. The fireplace in the room was a nice touch. There are so many things to do in the area (we saw a show and visited the famous Dovre Club in San Fran, took tours to Muir Woods, Wine Country, and Alcatraz)...There is a farmer's market near the hotel at Dunphy Park every Sunday morning that I would recommend (we stocked up on some great fruit and other food for the week). Sorry VinceKay (see below); that was our almond milk haha. All in all, a great trip! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a single night on our way home from a two-week trip. The price was high compared to most of our stays along the coast between Southern California and Seattle, but we knew that when we decided to spend a night in Sausalito. The service was extremely friendly; the Front Desk and the valets/bellboys were wonderful.

The room was small but well-furnished. The patio and view made up for the small size. I agree with some previous reviewers that the vanity/sink area is a bit small and awkward, although aesthetically pleasing. The tub is great, and I appreciate the "green" containers for shampoo, etc.

We walked from the hotel down through Fort Baker and up to the Golden Gate. The location was convenient for walking. If we visit Sausalito again, we would stay in the Casa Madrona.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Casa Madrona is just a wonderfully quaint, clean, efficient, modern spot in beautiful and tranquil Sausalito. The hotel sits peacefully on the main waterfront street with beautiful harbor views.
The staff is friendly and willing to please. There is a nice restaurant attached Pagio, which has a nice menu and good selection of wines and very nice f you don't want to venture far. We had lunch here one day and a light breakfast the next. We did not have time for any spa treatments but our room was across the hall from the spa and it did look warm, peaceful and inviting.
Would recommend Case Madrona to anyone looking to stay in Saulsalito-(which, by the way, is almost like heaven on earth).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandbridgeltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a beautifully located hotel and spa. The rooms were small but offered a very nice balcony with comfortable chairs to enjoy the expansive view of the harbor, boats and even the impressive Golden Gate Bridge. Proximity to fun, funky and fabulous shops could not be better. Restaurant choices were numerous and varied for all price ranges and within walking distance. The weather also cooperated to make our stay absolutely perfect. Be sure to utilize the friendly, convenient spa! All our needs were met by the friendly and efficient staff. Susan, California

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suecityglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
996 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
468 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: £230 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing