We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sausalito Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arcadia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Sausalito Gem”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We've had a few friends who live in the San Francisco area rave about Casa Madrona. Whenever we take a trip up to NorCal, we always make a stop in Sausalito. This time we decided to actually stay a night in Sausalito.
Our friends couldn't have raved enough about this hotel. First off, the location is ideal... we didn't have to use our car at all. We walked to Sushi Ran for dinner and enjoyed lunch at the nearby tequileria.
The rooms are not enormous, but it's the perfect size to relax. We loved the simple decor of the room, and in addition, it was clean. We had an awesome view from the balcony of our room, of the bay. I do have to say, that if you are looking for a very quiet place to stay, then this probably isn't the place. The hotel is on the main street, and the balconies face the bay and the main street. This wasn't an issue for us at all... we didn't mind it.
The staff was very helpful and friendly... but Dirk, the hotel valet, was the nicest... he was very hospitable and attentive.
When we're in Sausalito again, we'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLew72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    237
    94
    38
    18
See reviews for
190
642
54
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
303 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Casa Madrona is a lovely hotel, with an excellent location within extremely easy walking distance of anything in Sausalito. There are two sections - an older building that is four stories facing the street, and a newer set of buildings behind the streetfront perched on the hillside. The bed was very comfortable and the view was lovely - make sure to request a room on a higher floor in order to be above the street noise and to have a view. The room could use more lighting and more intuitive placement of furniture to be less crowded, and the overhang of the TV above the lower cabinets made for an awkward counter top in terms of being less than functional. The bathroom is lovely and large. Staff is extremely helpful and polite. Casa Madrona is adjacent to but not associated with Poggio, an amazing casual upscale Italian restaurant that is by far and away the very best place to eat and enjoy a glass of wine in the entire town. Highly recommend both.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvorac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Husband and I booked this spot for a quick getaway close to our home. The plan is always to spend the most time in the room as possible and the bay front rooms at Casa Madrona seemed to fit the bill.

I wish there was a way to rate the property 'Good' - because average it definitely isn't, but it doesn't quite reach the 'Very'.

We were greeted with friendly, easy going staff which instantly put us in the 'vacation' mindset. Upon check-in, we were told we had "one of the largest rooms on the floor'. Indeed, it was comfortable but after the talk-up, it didn't quite connect.

Furniture is clearly worn, with many areas covered in scratches and faded varnish. Four poster bed frame looked like it might come apart so we spent our slumber concerned we'd make some move to have it give. eThe soaking tub, not big enough for two and no jets.

The view was decent but not what I would call spectacular. Mostly blocked by trees facing forward. We had to look up or strain sideways for anything interesting. The curtains covered most of the stretch of glass but left just enough open that the brightness woke us both up earlier than we'd hoped. They also didn't open from the middle which I think would have made a difference.

Had dinner at Poggio downstairs. We've been fortunate to enjoy a significant amount of fine dining. Unfortunately this place didn't compare - food was average, service was friendly but sloooooooooooow. With few options left for the hour, we ordered pizza from Darios shortly after returning to our room. Together with a bottle of red from our recent trip to Sonoma it made up for our disappointing meal earlier and helped us relax and enjoy the rest of our stay.

Overall the experience was not quite what we had hoped for. But we had a nice time nonetheless. If we return, we'll likely request a bay front room in a higher floor further down the corridor for improved views. Or try for one of the updated hillside cottages.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your insights on your recent visit.

Some getaways stay with you for a lifetime…and while your impressions relate to accommodations in our contemporary building, we'd very much like for you to return for a stay at our completely re-imagined Mansion and the surrounding cottages. Unparalleled in grandeur and style, The Mansion offers our guests an unforgettable experience. Built in 1885, the timeless estate has been redesigned to bring a beautiful, modern sensibility to the historic Victorian property with stunning indoor and outdoor vistas, breathtaking panoramic views, and a private, ethereal environment that brings you the utmost in service and comfort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We(our family) were playing tourists in San Francisco for a couple of days and staying at the Casa Madrona was perfect. Great location overlooking the marina with a room easily big enough for three people. It is so quiet and nice in Sausalito, and catching the ferry over is so easy. Also, we are all runners so we parked at Fort Baker and ran up the hill and over the Golden Gate bridge. Our son(12) loved it.

Room Tip: We selected the least expensive room and it was excellent. We had a balcony overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

After a stressful departure flying from New York, it all turned around the minute we came through the front door of Casa Madrona. It was late, I was dying for a beer, almost everything around was closed and the magical Wendy at the desk somehow produced the beverage we were looking for. She also made a quick call to the airline which insisted I'd booked a return flight for the wrong day, only to discover I was right. Wendy phoned the good news to our room minutes after we got there. Phew! Not only that, I was celebrating a Big Birthday and an iced bucket and birthday card awaited as soon as we opened the door and turned on the lights. The room was wonderful, complete with balcony overlooking the Marina, huge bathroom with equally huge tub and big separate shower plus a gloriously comfortable bed. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful regardless of questions asked. The décor was clean and attractive everywhere one looked. Coffee every morning on the balcony, a glass of wine on the same balcony just before bed. Beautiful view any time of day or night. I
couldn't have made a better choice to celebrate this birthday. But there should be a special award to Wendy whose dedication to the comfort of hotel guests is more than most people could possibly expect. Bravo for the hotel, Brava for Wendy!

Room Tip: Definitely worth the price to choose a room facing the Marina complete with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chowchilla, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

what a great hotel, I stayed there in October of 2013.as we arrived we were greeted with smiling faces. As we entered the room our faces are faces began to smile. The decour was fabulous and so was the bed.as we went onto the balcony we had a great view of the whole Bay. What a great hotel way worth the money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brandon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We moved from a large convention hotel in SF to Casa Madrona to relax and wind down and it was perfect! The staff is incredibly helpful and service top notch. We stayed in a junior suite hillside cottage with a deck overlooking the bay. Gorgeous room and view! I understand they are still going through some renovations on the property which they should have disclosed to us at the time of booking. Since we are up early, the noise didn't bother us but perhaps it would have been nice to know what to expect. The only other "issue" I had was the descriptions on their website don't really match exactly to what you get upon arrival. I booked a 700 sf room with a 300sf balcony. My concern is that I was getting what I paid for and we certainly didn't have a 300sf balcony. It was more like a 100 sf balacony which was fine. When I called to discuss, they were more than accommodating to suggest a move to another room but I was perfectly happy where I was. Maybe a review of what is on their website is all that is needed. I booked a facial at their spa with Martha and I have to say, it was the best facial I ever had. While the spa is small, the services were incredible and very reasonable. My face is still glowing! Casa Madrona was the best decision we made for our week long trip in the SF area and don't hesitate too book as the staff was amazing, the views gorgeous and the rooms very comfortable!

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a balcony and view as it's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your accommodations and our "top notch service" thoughout the property, including our spa.

We truly wish we had been able to accommodate you in one of the new Junior Suites on the upper hillside. Those 700-foot accommodations indeed offer large open floor plans and 300-square-foot balconies. They will be ready for occupancy this spring, upon completion of our multi-million dollar renovation.

With that said, we wish to thank you for your kind words and do hope to welcome you back soon. It would be our pleasure to introduce you to one of our stunning new suites on the upper hillside or The Mansion at Casa Madrona on your your next visit.

Wishing you safe travels in the interim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Property: Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing