We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't get much better!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much better!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Casa Madrona for 6 nights with a friend and just had a great experience. From the Front Desk staff, to the valet parking guys, Housekeeping and the General Manager, everyone was just so helpful and accomodating no matter what we needed. Stayed in two different rooms, both large and comfortable with great beds, views, and everything needed to make for a perfect stay. Wish more hotels of this class met their high standards!

The Spa has a great selection of services and the exercise room is more than acceptable for this type of property. Easy walking distance to everything Sausalito offers for food and shopping, and the restaurant, Poggio, which is attached to the hotel, is excellent and fairly priced. The bartenders are gems of good service in particular. Felt like we were among friends each time we went in for a meal or a glass of wine.

Thanks to everyone there for a great experience, and am already planning a return trip with my parents over the summer. Wouldn't think of staying elsewhere!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have terrific bay/city views, and room 361 had a second tv in the lounge area so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sietse1472, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share such warm compliments. It was truly our pleasure to accommodate you during your recent stay.

We are very grateful to have such a wonderful staff so dedicated to providing excellent service, and we are thrilled when guests acknowledge that.

As you noted we are located in the heart of Downtown Sausalito. Guests can easily access the wide array of restaurants and shops that make Sausalito such a wonderful city, and with the ferry so close, San Francisco is just a boat ride away.

On your next visit we invite you to experience the newly renovated Mansion at Casa Madrona. With 7 unique cottages and 9 luxurious mansion rooms, our Upper Hillside is a gorgeous addition to our already beautiful property.

We look forward to having you with us again!

All the best,
Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    233
    90
    37
    18
See reviews for
184
628
54
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Pros:
hotel was good
Nice stay
Got champagne for our anniversary
Most of the staff is friendly
Nice location
Poggios at the ground floor was good.
Apples at the front desk.
Offered us bottled water.

Cons:
Watch out for subtle lies. We had booked harbour view room; they offered me hillside cottage room and said it is upgrade. Actually one of the rooms they showed was a downgrade from the room we had booked. It was $379/night (later on we found out online). Other room they showed us said it is twice the price than the room we had booked and it was a total lie. Actually it was just $10 extra. We had booked $409 room and the room they showed us was $419 and told us that that it is twice the price of room we booked. This is from Wendy and one Indonesian lady; both lied us about the room charges.

Valet parking told us it is complimentary; where as at the end was got a bill of $24/night for the parking.

Somebody told us that they got refund for amenities; we never did. We had no idea that the hotel had steam room, gym etc. they never told us and we got billed for that. Never got refund for that. She said somehow the page was missing from our room in the hotel info file.

So, just watch out and be careful.

Need to check for double charges from the company we booked with and hotel too.

Room Tip: Hillside cottages are good if you are ready to take a lot of stairs. Those rooms are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripsiloveTotake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
639 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for a couple nights for a set of business meetings. I had one of the cottages and overall, it was a great stay. The location is ideal, right down in Sausalito and the views are just outstanding. We used the huge suite in the main floor of the "mansion" and the deck from there is amazing.

Food prepared onsite for the lunch and outside dinner was excellent. Staff was wonderful and helpful, highly recommend a stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Thank you Wendy! The very friendly lady at the reception gave us Room 308. So cosy with a beautiful balcony looking at the harbour and bay. The street in front is a little bit noisy during the day but we enjoyed so much. And Wendy's recommandation for dinner last night was great!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Derhase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful, i.e. Wendy and Nick!!! The room was a little small, but we got used to it. The view was great. At times the internet was intermittent.
The room was quiet and clean.

Bob & Jennie R.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Casa Madrona is a beautiful water view property in Sausalito. I put my parents up there for a night and they had a most wonderful experience, not just because Casa Madrona is a beautiful spot but because, Wendy, the front desk concierge made it the most wonderful experience for them.

Wendy went above and beyond to make sure their stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Wendy truly cared about my parents and took the time to make sure all their special needs were met. It was Wendy that made our stay at Casa Madrona the best ever and we are so grateful to her.

My recommendation if you are planning a stay at CM is to ask for Wendy--this way you are sure to have the best stay ever.

Thank you, Wendy, you are the best!!!...We will be sure to recommend you to all our friends and networks and we will come back to stay with You again soon!

Room Tip: Ask Wendy for which room is best for you. My dad walks with a cane and Wendy suggested a Deluxe Harb...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone on the staff was great. And, Wendy shone above all!!!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I reserved a junior suite, which was explained to me, it would have a tub, a balcony and a fireplace, and a separate bedroom. NONE of these amenities were included in my room. The receptionist at the front desk gave my room to someone else and I paid in full a month prior to arrival. The receptionist, Wendy tried to talk over me constantly when I was trying to tell her what room I paid for and was promised. She was too busy complaining about other guests who were bothering her. The next day, the hotel staff attempted at finding us an adequate room, we still did not get our room we reserved. We only had ONE option for another room, so we took it. The fireplace did not work, and these rooms were supposedly recently remodeled and renovated. You would think the fireplace would operate. We did have a balcony and that was the best part of the room. For the price of this hotel, it is not worth staying again. I found many others in the area for similar pricing, but much nicer. We will NOT be staying here again. The restaurant downstairs is not very good. We ordered room service from them and it was just "ok", nothing to boast about. I was very disappointed in the entire stay and it was my 60th birthday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blondietwostep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.9 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Property: Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing