We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and lovely hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sausalito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sausalito
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Quaint and lovely hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

About yearly we travel to San Francisco, staying at various hotels downtown. We always take a day and travel to Sausalito, and always wished we had stayed in this quaint town. So, this time we did! I checked various hotels on Tripadvisor, and finally picked Hotel Sausalito. It is located right off the ferry dock area, and next door to The Inn Above the Tides. Upon entering, we were met and greeted warmly. The hotel has a "boutique" feel, and that of an Italian villa. You may take the stairs to the second level or a small, but quick elevator. Walking to our room, we saw a small outdoor area balcony set up for late night wine consumption, or a nice cigar. The hallway also had a nook offering bottled water and an array of apples for the choosing. Once inthe room, I think we had the largest suite (#201)?, we werer amazed by the size. A huge and comfortable bed, nice bath, couch, tv, armoir, etc...the only thing I wished we had( or I missed it) was a room safe.The rooms are of a Tuscany feel. Yellow and brown hues, and very tastfully decorated After unpacking, we hit the streets and shopped, ate etc...The next day we had a wine tour i had set up with Frisco Limo. A stretch Limo and driver for 10 people for 6 hours( we had for 8 hours) but for around $600 including tip, tolls and gratuity. Met Billy the owner on the way back. A jovial and so nice gentleman. Fun to banter with, and hs take on life is wonderful. We ate at the small coffee shop next door(as you will get a coupon for a coffee and danish from the hotel upon arrival). Nice touch Billy...thanks. Had dinner at Horizons one night. Heard there was a nice sushi restaurant within walking distance, but never made it to that establishment. It is about a $0 taxi ride into Frisco. We took a Sedan from Frisco limo to and from the airport and the cost was about $110 each way with tip. Just a fyi. All in all, would stay here again in a heart beat. Thanks Billy....Brent.....

Room Tip: Grab a suite room on the srteet side or park side...awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brent a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    100
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
167
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I, and her mother, stayed here for three nights on a touring holiday on the west coast, as a base for visiting San Francisco. Previously, we'd always stayed in the city but for various reasons thought we'd prefer to be just across the bay.

We'd visited Sausalito briefly before but I don't think we'd realised what pleasant little town it is. Of course, it's right across the bay from San Francisco, so (fog-permitting) you have fine views across the water. The town has some interesting shops and good restaurants and of course you can visit the city easily from here - either by driving over the Golden Gate bridge (which I always enjoy) or by taking one of the regular boats across.

The Sausalito Hotel is quite small really. All the rooms are on the first floor (i.e. one floor up from street level), accessed via stairs or lift from the very small lobby. We found the hotel comfortable, well maintained and very clean, with a nicely old-fashioned look and feel. The family who run it are Scottish, and very welcoming and helpful.

The standard rooms are fairly small but more than adequate. The beds are surprisingly high but comfortable, bathrooms modern and spotlessly clean. The wall-mounted air-conditioning control didn't seem to work until I realised that it's actually a remote control - you have to remove it from its wall mount and point it at the a/c unit - then it works fine! The location is on a corner of two streets, via either of which you are very close to the water. However, the rooms don't face in the right direction to enjoy bay views, but the street outlook is OK and some of the rooms look over a small park that is a few yards from the front of the hotel.

It's not super luxurious and it has no facilities apart the rooms, but it's definitely a very nice small hotel that we will almost certainly visit again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

What a lovely hotel! The room was clean, albeit on the small side but it was everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and being provided with free bottles of water and apples was a nice touch. The staff are very friendly and recommended a lovely restaurant along the beach, whose name escapes me. I would recommend staying here, it is the perfect hotel for a visit to Sausalito and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Loved this little hotel. Was thrilled with the service and the location is awesome. Stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIUmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Really nice place for peace and quiet. Friendly staff. Crowd is generally older, retired so being a young couple in our 20s we were a little worried when we first arrived however we really enjoyed our chilled stay. Breakfast is a pastry and coffee voucher for the cafe next door who's staff are less friendly than the hotel that is for sure. Would recommend for a quiet getaway, relaxing short stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceAndFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

the bed was so comfy, the linen good quality, views across to thepark and theferry wharf made our window the perfect place for people watching. room and bathroom exceptionally clean. good cafes, restaurants and gift shops within metres of the front door. the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. quiet at night so a good night's sleep for sure. loved sausalito (our first time here), loved the hotel.

Room Tip: park view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I stayed here for a couple of days in preference to staying over the water in San Fransisco. The hotel is next to the ferry wharf and there is a regular service to San Fran. I had a fairly small room at the back with no views but I think other rooms have god views. It makes a good base for exploring Marin County and I have no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Property: Hotel Sausalito
Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sausalito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $20.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing