We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Quiet”
Review of Hotel Sausalito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sausalito
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint and Quiet”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here to end our trip to Sonoma and Napa. Our room overlooked a park and ferry and the Bay. We enjoyed a glass of wine in our room while enjoyed the city scene. Walked to dinner in the evening and the night was surprisingly quiet. Our pastry and coffee from Tuti's was good as well. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: We loved looked over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebMRoswell_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    103
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
169
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Normally we stay in big chain hotels, but we wanted to be closer to San Francisco and not spend a lot more money. This was a great option. The hotel is very close to the water, we could see it from out room.

We arrived at 2:15 pm, knowing check-in was not until 3 pm. Our room was ready, so we were able to get settled. I was worried that with all of the activity outside of the hotel, that it would be noisy and we wouldn't be able to sleep. Once inside the room, it was quiet, you didn't hear street noise. We also never heard any of the other patrons, although we saw them. The room is small, but that is only in contrast to chain hotels, It was the size of a normal bedroom at home. The bathroom was NOT downsized. The shower was unique. There was a sky light in the bathroom that was brighter than any light.

The hotel gave us a voucher for food at the cafe next door. The food was good. Parking is $15 per day, but you can see it is at a premium in this area. If we were staying longer, then the come and go feature without added cost would have been even better. We were just glad to have a place to park.

A few questionable issues: I thought the room had a funky smell when we first entered, but it resolved. So it may have been because it was closed up. The other is the ice machine. It is not a push button. I was getting ice just to keep something cold, not for drinking. You actually have to grab the scoop and scoop out the ice. When I did this, I returned the scoop to it's space with the handle sticking up. When I went back later, someone had placed the handle in a downward position. This meant that they had grabbed the scoop portion with their hand and now I had to do the same in order to get the scoop out for use. This is not sanitary, and I would NOT have wanted to put that ice in a drink.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed in the Park Room which was located at the end of the hotel. It had great views of the main street... excellent for people watching! The room itself was very comfortable and decorated impeccably! The Father/Daughter that own the place are Scottish and very friendly. Had a fantastic trip and stay in Sausalito thanks to this Hotel. Also, make sure to try the cafe located downstairs.... the best corned beef hash breakfast I have EVER had in my life!!!!!

Room Tip: There are 2 larger rooms at the far end of the hotel (all the was left when you come up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineguy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here for a few days over New Year 2011/12 and had a fabulous time. Owned by a Scotsman who made us very welcome and everyone was very helpful. Surrounded by great restaurants and a lots to see, we loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arstambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My son and I were in Marin for one night so a friend booked me a room here last minute. The location is perfect for walking around Marin and right next to the ferry if you want access to San Francisco. There isn't valet but parking is right across the street in a public lot (hotel charges 15$ per day)and you can pull up to temporary parking to check in and drop off bags. The staff are friendly and the room was well appointed with windows overlooking the ferry and fountain outside the hotel. The bed was super comfy with nice linens and the streets were quiet at night so yu could leave the windows open to sleep. All in all a pretty good value and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwineSanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, U.K.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Title says it all: the Hotel has character, breakfast next door is good with a good looking pastry and a great cup of coffee to start the day. The staff go out of the way to be helpful. Room is very clean,it looks great and beds are comfortable..... the ferry to San Francisco is a great way to start the day, and Muir Woods is a short drive. Hotel is everything you could ask for. I review rarely - only when a place really impresses and this one did just that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve123Swindon_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilford, essex.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

we have just returned from our second visit to the hotel sausalito. the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean, room 207 gives brilliant views over the park, and you can see the ferries and taxis if you are in a rush to catch either.
we have also stayed at the nearby casa madrona, where the atmosphere is impersonal.

Room Tip: room 207 particularly good, overlooking, park and ferry terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rico419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
460 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Property: Hotel Sausalito
Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sausalito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $20.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing