We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location and Friendliness”
Review of Hotel Sausalito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sausalito
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location Location Location and Friendliness”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This boutique hotel is located just across from the San Francisco ferry landing with shops and restaurants surrounding it. The decor is very tasteful and cheery. The staff is funny and helpful. I am looking forward to making another trip to Sausalito and plan on staying at Hotel Sausalito.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    104
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
173
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Small hotel run by Billy, a wonderful inn-keeper who hasn't lost his brogue, good rooms and beds, a little tired but pleasant furnishings. No bar or breakfast room, but OK coffee and a pastry included at shop next door. If you're visiting San Francisco, want to skip a rental car, and escape to restaurant and gallery laden Sausalito, it's an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Call and let Billy help you. His descriptions are spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

First off, I LOVE Sausalito, I will eventually live here someday. This was not my first time in this city but was my first time staying in the city. It was a bit pricey compared to staying on the outside of the city but hey you want the beauty and charm of a city stay there and experience it all. Anyhow, the parking is shared with a big public parking lot in which they give you a dashboard pass to put on your car so no issues with law enforcement. Its pretty close so I'd say a 1-2 minute walk to the lobby. It is a tiny gem of a hotel, so the lobby was small. The staff was very customer service oriented which made me feel better about the price of the room. The room itself was tiny, HOWEVER nicely kept and intimate. It had a very cozy feeling similar to a snuggling up, movie night, in a bedroom with the one you love feeling. Our view was a roof which didn't matter to me and the window was broke, again it didn't matter to me. AC/Heater worked fine TV was small and in a cabinet but it did its job. The bathroom was roomy and had a classy type of feel. The bed was so comfortable which made for a great nights sleep. Checkout was simple and you get to choose a couple breakfast options from the restaurant right next to the lobby, which was very good by the way. It was a intimate and romantic type of hotel. Décor outdated but who's sitting in a hallway anyway when this gem of a city is right outside. The city does shut down early, so just be aware of that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaoski808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Well what can we say! On arrival we were met by the management team otherwise known as Billy and Gail ( father and daughter ) who are both Scottish! A great duo who really look after you and make you feel welcome. The hotel has a space in front for drop off and pickup use, you park your car opposite in a public car park for which you are charged $15 per 24hrs by the hotel. The hotel is of boutique style with comfortable, pleasantly decorated rooms of which some over look the town square also included in your stay are vouchers for a beverage and pastry to use in the cafe below. The hotel is within 2 min walk for the ferry to San Francisco and the main street where you can find restaurants, shops & art galleries. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and conversations with B&G and would have no hesitation on returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Check in was friendly and easy. Was able to unload car in front of hotel and bring items to room before parking across street for $15.00. Gave parking spot number to hotel and they took care of the rest. Found room of queen size bed overlooking park better than I anticipated. Room was quaint, shower was large, carpet a bit on the tired side. Loved staying here versus last visit staying in San Francisco. The ferry is easy and close. You can't go wrong if you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of big city, charming town,reasonable price, but close enough to visit San Francisco by ferry.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fsuhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is very well located And from the Window of my room it is possível tão see the SF bay. The breakfast we mau have it in a restaurante outside of the hotel, but even when we have to paid for some extra food it worth. Also, from a few Stephen of the hotel you can have a great view from SF bay and Alcatraz.

The hotel employees always helped my wife and I promptly, providing accurated information and maps.

Certainly I would stay here again with pleasure















Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this small boutique hotel. B&B considered, but it was a voucher to have coffee and a danish next door in a little breakfast place. Would have liked some more healthy choices. Apples were available for us in the hotel, though, so this was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nativetex56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
984 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
467 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sausalito

Property: Hotel Sausalito
Address: 16 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sausalito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sausalito is a historic building in the middle of downtown Sausalito. Built in 1915, the mission style building stands in the heart of Sausalito over looking Vina Del Mar Park. After a complete renovation in 1996, Hotel Sausalito is decorated with custom made wrought iron bed frames, faux finsh walls in 3 warm colors and art work that helps compliment the feel of having a little of the French Riviera in Sausalito. With 14 bedrooms and 2 suites, this romantic Hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. Guests park in the City parking lot adjacent to the Hotel, for a fee of $20.00 per day. Family owned and run, gives Hotel Sausalito a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing